Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Generic name

Osimertinib: adverse event reports filed with FDA

7,639 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2015–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor. Also reported as Osimertinib 80mg.

7,639
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 717 a year
3,093
reports, 12 months to June 2026
2,281 in the 12 months before
98.8%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
33.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,570 reports · not verified by FDA

7,639 adverse event reports received by FDA list osimertinib, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from November 2015 to June 2026. A further 706 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 3,093 reports listed it, up 36% from 2,281 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 717 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.9% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are death (23.8%), malignant neoplasm progression (17%) and drug resistance (10.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 846 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 23.8% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (7.6%).

98.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 33.6% record death among the outcomes and 18.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 46.9% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (17%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0201402Jul 2021: 26Aug 2021: 62Sep 2021: 25Oct 2021: 33Nov 2021: 33Dec 2021: 192022Jan 2022: 20Feb 2022: 25Mar 2022: 30Apr 2022: 29May 2022: 41Jun 2022: 24Jul 2022: 27Aug 2022: 27Sep 2022: 36Oct 2022: 29Nov 2022: 47Dec 2022: 252023Jan 2023: 22Feb 2023: 40Mar 2023: 37Apr 2023: 32May 2023: 28Jun 2023: 37Jul 2023: 39Aug 2023: 42Sep 2023: 30Oct 2023: 30Nov 2023: 39Dec 2023: 402024Jan 2024: 35Feb 2024: 52Mar 2024: 52Apr 2024: 38May 2024: 42Jun 2024: 41Jul 2024: 50Aug 2024: 41Sep 2024: 36Oct 2024: 177Nov 2024: 281Dec 2024: 2812025Jan 2025: 283Feb 2025: 193Mar 2025: 229Apr 2025: 283May 2025: 251Jun 2025: 176Jul 2025: 192Aug 2025: 195Sep 2025: 198Oct 2025: 186Nov 2025: 173Dec 2025: 3042026Jan 2026: 297Feb 2026: 268Mar 2026: 334Apr 2026: 308May 2026: 236Jun 2026: 402

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,3322,6632015: 420152016: 212017: 7920172018: 1632019: 29320192020: 2992021: 37020212022: 3602023: 41620232024: 1,1262025: 2,66320252026: 1,845

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Osimertinib reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term23.8%1,817
  2. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools5.3%405
  3. Acquired gene mutation5.2%401
  4. Fatiguetiredness4%302
  5. Disease progressionthe disease advanced3.6%272
  6. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3%230
  7. Rashskin rash3%226
  8. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.9%220
  9. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.7%207
  10. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.5%194
  11. Nauseafeeling sick2.5%188
  12. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2.2%171
  13. Metastases to meninges2.1%159
  14. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung1.7%128
  15. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet1.5%118
  16. Thrombosis1.5%115
  17. Coughcough1.4%109
  18. EGFR gene mutation1.4%108
  19. Vomitingbeing sick1.4%108
  20. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed1.4%107
  21. Weight decreasedweight loss1.4%107
  22. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health1.4%106
  23. Pneumonialung infection1.4%105
  24. Painpain, site not specified1.4%104
  25. Malignant transformation1.3%96

Top 30 of 846 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death33.6%2,570
Life-threatening2.2%165
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)18.8%1,438
Disability0.5%39
Congenital anomaly0.1%6
Other serious68.1%5,200
Not serious1.2%95

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110%3
12 to 170%1
18 to 442.5%189
45 to 6417%1,302
65 to 7414.3%1,089
75 and over11.6%889
Age not given54.5%4,165

Patient sex

Female57.2%4,367
Male30.1%2,297
Not given12.8%975

Who reported

Physician27.3%2,089
Pharmacist2.2%168
Other health professional21.8%1,665
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional46.9%3,583
Not given1.8%134

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 39.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Non-small cell lung cancer1,39118.2%
Lung neoplasm malignant1,29617%
Lung adenocarcinoma4876.4%
Non-small cell lung cancer metastatic4545.9%
Lung carcinoma cell type unspecified stage 02313%
Lung adenocarcinoma stage iv1732.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 7,639 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Osimertinib reports
Pemetrexed4315.6%
Carboplatin4045.3%
Gefitinib3374.4%
Bevacizumab2933.8%
Erlotinib2733.6%
Paclitaxel1361.8%
Cisplatin1221.6%
Crizotinib1161.5%
Docetaxel831.1%
Dexamethasone751%

Other products listed in reports where Osimertinib is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureOsimertinibKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product7,639849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—0.9%0%
Reports, latest 12 months3,093—1,332,454
Marked serious98.8%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports33619091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports188264213
Consumer-filed share46.9%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 23.8%median 7.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Osimertinib reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Osimertinib?

7,639 reports list Osimertinib as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 3,093 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 706 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Osimertinib reports?

death (23.8%), malignant neoplasm progression (17%), drug resistance (10.1%), diarrhoea (5.3%) and acquired gene mutation (5.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Osimertinib was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 33.6% of reports include death and 18.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (46.9%), physician (27.3%) and other health professional (21.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Osimertinib rising?

3,093 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 36% from 2,281 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Osimertinib was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Osimertinib?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Osimertinib as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (706) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.