Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Everolimus

Afinitor: adverse event reports filed with FDA

30,706 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2008–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor. Also reported as Afinitor Tablet 10mg.

30,706
reports as suspect product
0.2% of all reports · about 1,723 a year
161
reports, 12 months to June 2026
229 in the 12 months before
71.3%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
25.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
7,836 reports · not verified by FDA

Between September 2008 and June 2026, 30,706 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Afinitor (everolimus) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,900) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 161 reports listed it, down 30% from 229 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,723 reports a year and 0.2% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 3.6% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded death (17.2%), malignant neoplasm progression (9.9%) and fatigue (8.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,117 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 17.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (7.6%).

71.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 25.5% record death among the outcomes and 25.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 43% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (20.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

086172Jul 2021: 146Aug 2021: 172Sep 2021: 142Oct 2021: 96Nov 2021: 128Dec 2021: 1532022Jan 2022: 92Feb 2022: 85Mar 2022: 118Apr 2022: 66May 2022: 81Jun 2022: 80Jul 2022: 51Aug 2022: 62Sep 2022: 59Oct 2022: 71Nov 2022: 83Dec 2022: 632023Jan 2023: 59Feb 2023: 53Mar 2023: 85Apr 2023: 54May 2023: 39Jun 2023: 60Jul 2023: 51Aug 2023: 57Sep 2023: 55Oct 2023: 46Nov 2023: 64Dec 2023: 422024Jan 2024: 26Feb 2024: 29Mar 2024: 25Apr 2024: 27May 2024: 35Jun 2024: 16Jul 2024: 24Aug 2024: 22Sep 2024: 21Oct 2024: 24Nov 2024: 22Dec 2024: 122025Jan 2025: 26Feb 2025: 22Mar 2025: 12Apr 2025: 16May 2025: 12Jun 2025: 16Jul 2025: 9Aug 2025: 11Sep 2025: 12Oct 2025: 16Nov 2025: 13Dec 2025: 122026Jan 2026: 5Feb 2026: 15Mar 2026: 10Apr 2026: 8May 2026: 32Jun 2026: 18

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,0014,0022008: 120082009: 1062010: 80620102011: 1,1032012: 1,88520122013: 1,8292014: 1,75920142015: 3,2482016: 4,00220162017: 3,0582018: 3,41520182019: 3,2622020: 2,28820202021: 1,8202022: 91120222023: 6652024: 28320242025: 1772026: 882026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Afinitor reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term17.2%5,284
  2. Fatiguetiredness8.8%2,712
  3. Stomatitissore mouth8.6%2,640
  4. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools8.2%2,524
  5. Dyspnoeashortness of breath6.1%1,880
  6. Nauseafeeling sick6%1,855
  7. Rashskin rash5%1,541
  8. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5%1,538
  9. Decreased appetitereduced appetite4.9%1,506
  10. Coughcough4.7%1,441
  11. Pyrexiafever4.6%1,426
  12. Weight decreasedweight loss4.5%1,368
  13. Vomitingbeing sick4.4%1,351
  14. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy4.3%1,334
  15. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.2%1,293
  16. Painpain, site not specified3.9%1,185
  17. Pneumonialung infection3.3%1,011
  18. Headachehead pain3.3%1,010
  19. Anaemialow red blood cells2.8%845
  20. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.5%764
  21. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health2.4%747
  22. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands2.4%729
  23. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.3%715
  24. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.3%709
  25. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading2.3%697
  26. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs2.3%692

Top 30 of 2,117 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death25.5%7,836
Life-threatening2.6%788
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)25.2%7,730
Disability1.3%409
Congenital anomaly0%5
Other serious37.1%11,379
Not serious28.7%8,816

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%44
2 to 111.4%444
12 to 171%302
18 to 445.6%1,718
45 to 6420.1%6,158
65 to 7413.1%4,017
75 and over7%2,145
Age not given51.7%15,878

Patient sex

Female61.3%18,834
Male32%9,840
Not given6.6%2,032

Who reported

Physician29.3%8,985
Pharmacist7.9%2,411
Other health professional15.9%4,881
Lawyer0%2
Consumer or non-health professional43%13,203
Not given4%1,224

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 63.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Breast cancer3,97512.9%
Breast cancer metastatic2,0646.7%
Renal cell carcinoma1,7595.7%
Renal cancer1,7245.6%
Neuroendocrine tumour1,0013.3%
Metastatic renal cell carcinoma8242.7%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 30,706 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Afinitor reports
Exemestane2,6058.5%
Aromasin1,1883.9%
Lenvima8772.9%
Sandostatin LAR Depot8292.7%
Lenvatinib7902.6%
Letrozole6092%
Zometa5381.8%
Sandostatin5251.7%
Xgeva5131.7%
Aspirin4641.5%

Other products listed in reports where Afinitor is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureAfinitorKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product30,706849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—3.6%0.2%
Reports, latest 12 months161—1,332,454
Marked serious71.3%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports25519091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports252264213
Consumer-filed share43%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 17.2%median 7.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%
Nexavarbrand15,4496787.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Afinitor reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Afinitor?

30,706 reports list Afinitor as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 161 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,900 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Afinitor reports?

death (17.2%), malignant neoplasm progression (9.9%), fatigue (8.8%), stomatitis (8.6%) and diarrhoea (8.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Afinitor was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

71.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 25.5% of reports include death and 25.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (43%), physician (29.3%) and other health professional (15.9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Afinitor rising?

161 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 30% from 229 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Afinitor was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Afinitor?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Afinitor as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,900) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.