Reported Reactions

Drugs › Topoisomerase inhibitor

Generic name

Mitoxantrone hydrochloride: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,213 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Topoisomerase inhibitor. Also reported as Mitoxantrone Hcl.

1,213
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 56 a year
39
reports, 12 months to June 2026
57 in the 12 months before
97.1%
marked serious by the reporter
96.8% across the class
25.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
308 reports · not verified by FDA

1,213 adverse event reports received by FDA list mitoxantrone hydrochloride, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from December 2004 to June 2026. A further 158 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 39 reports listed it, down 32% from 57 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 56 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 1.4% of the reports for the topoisomerase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are febrile neutropenia (23.1%), pyrexia (6.9%) and neutropenia (5.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 362 different terms appear across these reports. Febrile neutropenia is recorded in 23.1% of these reports, a larger share than in the median topoisomerase inhibitor drug (7.1%).

97.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (96.8% across the class); 25.4% record death among the outcomes and 49.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 50.6% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (14.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01325Jul 2021: 8Aug 2021: 14Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 9Nov 2021: 10Dec 2021: 52022Jan 2022: 8Feb 2022: 15Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 25Jul 2022: 12Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 7Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 22Jul 2023: 8Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 5Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 8Jul 2024: 4Aug 2024: 5Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 8Dec 2024: 52025Jan 2025: 5Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 7Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 7Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 42026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 6May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0771542004: 220042005: 62006: 42007: 2820072008: 222009: 352010: 2620102011: 272012: 502013: 4920132014: 262015: 272016: 6420162017: 732018: 842019: 10620192020: 1372021: 1542022: 10820222023: 632024: 522025: 5320252026: 17

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Mitoxantrone hydrochloride reports recording the termmedian drug in topoisomerase inhibitor

  1. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells23.1%280
  2. Pyrexiafever6.9%84
  3. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell5.7%69
  4. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection5%61
  5. Hypotensionlow blood pressure4.9%60
  6. Septic shockshock arising from infection3.3%40
  7. Infectionan infection, type not specified3.1%38
  8. Pneumonialung infection2.8%34
  9. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.6%32
  10. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count2.6%32
  11. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.6%32
  12. Colitisinflamed bowel2.5%30
  13. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2.4%29
  14. Anaemialow red blood cells2.3%28
  15. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.3%28
  16. Tachycardiafast heart rate2.3%28
  17. Multiple organ dysfunction syndromeseveral organs failing2.2%27
  18. Hypoxialow oxygen2.1%25
  19. Thrombocytopenialow platelets2.1%25
  20. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count2%24
  21. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.9%23
  22. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain1.6%20
  23. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label1.6%20
  24. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.5%18

Top 30 of 362 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 12 drugs in the topoisomerase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death25.4%308
Life-threatening11.5%139
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)49.7%603
Disability1.9%23
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious42.4%514
Not serious2.9%35

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 86,440 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.8%22
2 to 1110.1%123
12 to 178.7%105
18 to 4413.1%159
45 to 6414.3%173
65 to 746.3%76
75 and over2%24
Age not given43.8%531

Patient sex

Female30.8%374
Male35%424
Not given34.2%415

Who reported

Physician50.6%614
Pharmacist1.8%22
Other health professional34.9%423
Lawyer0.1%1
Consumer or non-health professional4.3%52
Not given8.3%101

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 35.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Acute myeloid leukaemia40733.6%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia604.9%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia recurrent231.9%
B-cell type acute leukaemia231.9%
Diffuse large b-cell lymphoma181.5%
Leukaemia181.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,213 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Mitoxantrone hydrochloride reports
Cytarabine17614.5%
Gemtuzumab ozogamicin1209.9%
Etoposide796.5%
Vincristine sulfate725.9%
Dexamethasone675.5%
Ondansetron564.6%
Methotrexate sodium524.3%
Paracetamol473.9%
Cyclophosphamide352.9%
Cotrimoxazole332.7%

Other products listed in reports where Mitoxantrone hydrochloride is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureMitoxantrone hydrochlorideTopoisomerase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,21386,44020,646,523
Share of that pool—1.4%0%
Reports, latest 12 months39—1,332,454
Marked serious97.1%96.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports25423191
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports497362213
Consumer-filed share4.3%6.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFebrile neutropenia 23.1%median 7.1%0.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the topoisomerase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Etoposidegeneric62,2914,74997.9%
Irinotecan hydrochloridegeneric6,09580096.6%
Mitoxantronegeneric4,06513298.8%
Topotecangeneric3,66818796.6%
Camptosarbrand2,53511085.4%
Onivydebrand1,91161492%
Hycamtinbrand1,5261479.2%
VePesidbrand9002096.7%
Topotecan hydrochloridegeneric8673696.8%
Etoposide phosphategeneric7476396.5%
Etopophosbrand622884.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Mitoxantrone hydrochloride reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Mitoxantrone hydrochloride?

1,213 reports list Mitoxantrone hydrochloride as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 39 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 158 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Mitoxantrone hydrochloride reports?

febrile neutropenia (23.1%), pyrexia (6.9%), neutropenia (5.7%), sepsis (5%) and hypotension (4.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Mitoxantrone hydrochloride was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

97.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 25.4% of reports include death and 49.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (50.6%), other health professional (34.9%) and not given (8.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Mitoxantrone hydrochloride rising?

39 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 32% from 57 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Mitoxantrone hydrochloride was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Mitoxantrone hydrochloride?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Mitoxantrone hydrochloride as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (158) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.