Reported Reactions

Drugs › CD33-directed immunoconjugate

Generic name

Gemtuzumab ozogamicin: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,560 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: CD33-directed immunoconjugate. Also reported as Gemtuzumab Ozogamicin Injection.

1,560
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 69 a year
43
reports, 12 months to June 2026
59 in the 12 months before
99.7%
marked serious by the reporter
97.3% across the class
32.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
505 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 1,560 adverse event reports received by FDA list gemtuzumab ozogamicin, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (271) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 43 reports listed it, down 27% from 59 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 69 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 46.2% of the reports for the CD33-directed immunoconjugate class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are febrile neutropenia (20.7%), sepsis (8.3%) and venoocclusive liver disease (7.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 333 different terms appear across these reports. Febrile neutropenia is recorded in 20.7% of these reports, about the same share as in the median CD33-directed immunoconjugate drug (19.5%).

99.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (97.3% across the class); 32.4% record death among the outcomes and 46.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 54% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (23.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01121Jul 2021: 13Aug 2021: 18Sep 2021: 10Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 112022Jan 2022: 11Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 9May 2022: 8Jun 2022: 12Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 13Sep 2022: 11Oct 2022: 21Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 52023Jan 2023: 5Feb 2023: 10Mar 2023: 14Apr 2023: 15May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 19Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 8Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 9Nov 2023: 10Dec 2023: 72024Jan 2024: 15Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 5Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 3Jun 2024: 6Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 6Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 13Dec 2024: 82025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 6Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 7Jul 2025: 13Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 8Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 3May 2026: 3Jun 2026: 6

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0721442004: 4520042005: 652006: 512007: 4720072008: 522009: 672010: 8120102011: 1262012: 542013: 3220132014: 232015: 382016: 3220162017: 582018: 892019: 6420192020: 1242021: 1442022: 11920222023: 1102024: 782025: 4620252026: 15

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Gemtuzumab ozogamicin reports recording the termmedian drug in cd33-directed immunoconjugate

  1. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells20.7%323
  2. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection8.3%129
  3. Venoocclusive liver disease7.9%123
  4. Thrombocytopenialow platelets6.2%96
  5. Pyrexiafever6.1%95
  6. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell5.4%85
  7. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.3%83
  8. Pneumonialung infection4.6%72
  9. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.8%59
  10. Hypotensionlow blood pressure3.3%51
  11. Septic shockshock arising from infection3.1%49
  12. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count2.7%42
  13. Alanine aminotransferase increasedraised liver enzyme (ALT)2.6%40
  14. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.5%39
  15. Renal failurekidney failure2.2%34
  16. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.1%33
  17. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.1%32
  18. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.8%28
  19. Chillschills or shivering1.7%27
  20. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells1.6%25
  21. Aspartate aminotransferase increasedraised liver enzyme (AST)1.5%24
  22. Infectionan infection, type not specified1.5%24
  23. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count1.5%24
  24. Anaemialow red blood cells1.5%23

Top 30 of 333 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 2 drugs in the cd33-directed immunoconjugate class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death32.4%505
Life-threatening21%327
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)46.1%719
Disability0.9%14
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious46.5%726
Not serious0.3%4

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 3,378 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.3%21
2 to 114.3%67
12 to 174.1%64
18 to 4412.2%191
45 to 6423.3%363
65 to 7410.6%166
75 and over2.7%42
Age not given41.4%646

Patient sex

Female34.8%543
Male35.8%558
Not given29.4%459

Who reported

Physician54%842
Pharmacist1.3%20
Other health professional32.3%504
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional2.6%41
Not given9.8%153

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 20.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Acute myeloid leukaemia1,01865.3%
Acute myeloid leukaemia refractory332.1%
Myelodysplastic syndrome322.1%
Acute promyelocytic leukaemia291.9%
Acute myeloid leukaemia recurrent251.6%
Acute leukaemia231.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,560 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Gemtuzumab ozogamicin reports
Cytarabine85855%
Etoposide23715.2%
Daunorubicin20513.1%
Daunorubicin hydrochloride1539.8%
Mitoxantrone1519.7%
Ondansetron1398.9%
Fludarabine1328.5%
Mitoxantrone hydrochloride1197.6%
Vancomycin1046.7%
Cyclophosphamide956.1%

Other products listed in reports where Gemtuzumab ozogamicin is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureGemtuzumab ozogamicinCD33-directed immunoconjugateAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,5603,37820,646,523
Share of that pool—46.2%0%
Reports, latest 12 months43—1,332,454
Marked serious99.7%97.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports32431991
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports461483213
Consumer-filed share2.6%3.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFebrile neutropenia 20.7%median 19.5%0.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the cd33-directed immunoconjugate class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Mylotargbrand1,8183395.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Gemtuzumab ozogamicin reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Gemtuzumab ozogamicin?

1,560 reports list Gemtuzumab ozogamicin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 43 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 271 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Gemtuzumab ozogamicin reports?

febrile neutropenia (20.7%), sepsis (8.3%), venoocclusive liver disease (7.9%), thrombocytopenia (6.2%) and pyrexia (6.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Gemtuzumab ozogamicin was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

99.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 32.4% of reports include death and 46.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (54%), other health professional (32.3%) and not given (9.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Gemtuzumab ozogamicin rising?

43 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 27% from 59 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Gemtuzumab ozogamicin was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Gemtuzumab ozogamicin?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Gemtuzumab ozogamicin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (271) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.