Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Marijuana: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,647 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2021.

2,647
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 118 a year
0
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
95%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
47.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,259 reports · not verified by FDA

Between February 2004 and September 2021, 2,647 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Marijuana" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (2,354) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 0 reports listed it, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 118 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug abuse (20.1%), substance abuse (18.6%) and completed suicide (14.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 499 different terms appear across these reports. Drug abuse is recorded in 20.1% of these reports, against 0.4% of all reports in the database.

95% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 47.6% record death among the outcomes and 24.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 34.5% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (45.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0918Jul 2021: 18Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 7Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01733452004: 10020042005: 872006: 3520062007: 532008: 6920082009: 712010: 10020102011: 1092012: 9520122013: 1372014: 12920142015: 1892016: 13720162017: 2772018: 23120182019: 3452020: 34520202021: 138

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Marijuana reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine20.1%531
  2. Completed suicidedeath by suicide14.2%377
  3. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances13.1%348
  4. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine9.9%262
  5. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped8.2%218
  6. Respiratory arrestbreathing stopped8.1%215
  7. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped8%212
  8. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount7.3%192
  9. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6%160
  10. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine4.9%131
  11. Painpain, site not specified4.3%113
  12. Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right3.6%95
  13. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.5%92
  14. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines3.4%89
  15. Anxietyanxiety3%80
  16. Nauseafeeling sick3%80
  17. Loss of consciousnesspassing out2.8%73
  18. Road traffic accidenta road accident2.8%73
  19. Insomniadifficulty sleeping2.7%71
  20. Depressionlow mood2.5%67
  21. Substance dependence2.5%66
  22. Aggressionaggressive behaviour2.3%61
  23. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine2.3%61
  24. Polysubstance abuse2.3%61
  25. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin2.2%57
  26. Somnolencedrowsiness2.1%56

Top 30 of 499 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death47.6%1,259
Life-threatening3.5%92
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)24.7%655
Disability1.7%45
Congenital anomaly1.1%29
Other serious55.7%1,474
Not serious5%132

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.5%14
2 to 110.2%4
12 to 176.4%170
18 to 4445.8%1,213
45 to 6416.7%441
65 to 742.3%61
75 and over0.5%12
Age not given27.7%732

Patient sex

Female34.8%921
Male56%1,483
Not given9.2%243

Who reported

Physician31.6%836
Pharmacist7.6%201
Other health professional18.2%481
Lawyer3.4%90
Consumer or non-health professional34.5%914
Not given4.7%125

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 80.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Drug abuse1234.6%
Pain833.1%
Substance abuse311.2%
Drug abuser240.9%
Suicide attempt210.8%
Substance use170.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,647 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Marijuana reports
Cocaine61923.4%
OxyContin41515.7%
Alcohol32412.2%
Oxycodone hydrochloride27510.4%
Alprazolam27110.2%
Heroin2499.4%
Clonazepam2017.6%
Morphine sulfate1977.4%
Oxycodone1746.6%
Fentanyl1405.3%

Other products listed in reports where Marijuana is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureMarijuanaAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,64720,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months01,332,454
Marked serious95%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports47691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports247213
Consumer-filed share34.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug abuse 20.1%0.4%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Marijuana reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Marijuana?

2,647 reports list Marijuana as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 0 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,354 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Marijuana reports?

drug abuse (20.1%), substance abuse (18.6%), completed suicide (14.2%), toxicity to various agents (13.1%) and drug dependence (9.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Marijuana was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

95% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 47.6% of reports include death and 24.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (34.5%), physician (31.6%) and other health professional (18.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Marijuana rising?

0 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Marijuana was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Marijuana?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Marijuana as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,354) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.