Reported Reactions

Drugs › Janus kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Abrocitinib

Cibinqo: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,149 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2022–2026. Class: Janus kinase inhibitor.

3,149
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 701 a year
503
reports, 12 months to June 2026
939 in the 12 months before
31.5%
marked serious by the reporter
53.1% across the class
1.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
47 reports · not verified by FDA

3,149 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Cibinqo (abrocitinib) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2022 to June 2026. A further 271 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 503 reports listed it, down 46% from 939 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 701 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 1% of the reports for the janus kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug ineffective (13.2%), condition aggravated (10.8%) and off label use (8.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 417 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 13.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median janus kinase inhibitor drug (9.3%).

31.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (53.1% across the class); 1.5% record death among the outcomes and 7.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 36.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (29.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

060119Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 16Jun 2022: 23Jul 2022: 21Aug 2022: 34Sep 2022: 34Oct 2022: 35Nov 2022: 34Dec 2022: 472023Jan 2023: 69Feb 2023: 74Mar 2023: 62Apr 2023: 63May 2023: 119Jun 2023: 78Jul 2023: 77Aug 2023: 71Sep 2023: 88Oct 2023: 99Nov 2023: 78Dec 2023: 632024Jan 2024: 82Feb 2024: 88Mar 2024: 79Apr 2024: 87May 2024: 101Jun 2024: 72Jul 2024: 82Aug 2024: 102Sep 2024: 94Oct 2024: 79Nov 2024: 75Dec 2024: 572025Jan 2025: 80Feb 2025: 70Mar 2025: 83Apr 2025: 81May 2025: 75Jun 2025: 61Jul 2025: 74Aug 2025: 63Sep 2025: 64Oct 2025: 74Nov 2025: 69Dec 2025: 532026Jan 2026: 22Feb 2026: 15Mar 2026: 19Apr 2026: 19May 2026: 13Jun 2026: 18

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04999982022: 25720222023: 94120232024: 99820242025: 84720252026: 1062026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Cibinqo reports recording the termmedian drug in janus kinase inhibitor

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected13.2%417
  2. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse10.8%341
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label8.7%275
  4. Pruritusitching5.8%182
  5. Rashskin rash4.3%136
  6. Nauseafeeling sick4.2%132
  7. Headachehead pain2.9%90
  8. Acneacne2.4%75
  9. Fatiguetiredness2.3%73
  10. Eczemaeczema2.1%67
  11. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.9%61
  12. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort1.7%54
  13. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed1.6%50
  14. Painpain, site not specified1.6%49
  15. Sleep disordera sleep problem1.6%49
  16. Illness1.5%48
  17. Erythemaskin redness1.4%45
  18. Blood cholesterol increasedraised cholesterol1.4%44
  19. Herpes zostershingles1.3%42
  20. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines1.3%41
  21. Intentional product misusedeliberate use not as intended1.3%40
  22. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1.2%39
  23. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.2%39
  24. Nasopharyngitisa cold1.2%38
  25. Covid-19COVID-19 infection1.2%37
  26. Dry skindry skin1.2%37
  27. Pneumonialung infection1.2%37

Top 30 of 417 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 11 drugs in the janus kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death1.5%47
Life-threatening1%31
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)7.6%238
Disability0.5%17
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious26.4%831
Not serious68.5%2,156

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 323,323 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110.1%2
12 to 174.9%154
18 to 4429.1%917
45 to 6426.1%822
65 to 7410.7%338
75 and over7.7%241
Age not given21.4%674

Patient sex

Female49.9%1,572
Male39.7%1,249
Not given10.4%328

Who reported

Physician33.5%1,056
Pharmacist2%63
Other health professional27.7%872
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional36.3%1,144
Not given0.4%14

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 81.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Dermatitis atopic1,46946.6%
Eczema1665.3%
Dermatitis290.9%
Pruritus240.8%
Neurodermatitis220.7%
Psoriasis200.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,149 reports.

In context

MeasureCibinqoJanus kinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,149323,32320,646,523
Share of that pool—1%0%
Reports, latest 12 months503—1,332,454
Marked serious31.5%53.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports157591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports76190213
Consumer-filed share36.3%52.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 13.2%median 9.3%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the janus kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Xeljanzbrand156,0823,57144.2%
Rinvoqbrand73,18714,08569%
Jakafibrand55,3914,58442.3%
Ruxolitinibgeneric8,8151,36198%
Olumiantbrand6,20539657.9%
Tofacitinib citrategeneric5,77562896.6%
Tofacitinibgeneric4,87486094.6%
Upadacitinibgeneric4,1951,27668.9%
Opzelurabrand3,2856608%
Baricitinibgeneric2,36521892.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Cibinqo reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Cibinqo?

3,149 reports list Cibinqo as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 503 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 271 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Cibinqo reports?

drug ineffective (13.2%), condition aggravated (10.8%), off label use (8.7%), therapeutic product effect incomplete (6.2%) and pruritus (5.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Cibinqo was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

31.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 1.5% of reports include death and 7.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (36.3%), physician (33.5%) and other health professional (27.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Cibinqo rising?

503 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 46% from 939 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Cibinqo was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Cibinqo?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Cibinqo as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (271) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.