Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Gefitinib

Iressa: adverse event reports filed with FDA

6,466 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor.

6,466
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 287 a year
77
reports, 12 months to June 2026
47 in the 12 months before
94.1%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
23%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,487 reports · not verified by FDA

6,466 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Iressa (gefitinib) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 258 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 77 reports listed it, up 64% from 47 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 287 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.8% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are malignant neoplasm progression (18.5%), drug resistance (11.8%) and diarrhoea (10.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 862 different terms appear across these reports. Malignant neoplasm progression is recorded in 18.5% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (2.5%).

94.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 23% record death among the outcomes and 32.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 37.7% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (26%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01326Jul 2021: 24Aug 2021: 9Sep 2021: 16Oct 2021: 16Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 102022Jan 2022: 3Feb 2022: 10Mar 2022: 13Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 9Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 7Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 9Dec 2022: 122023Jan 2023: 6Feb 2023: 9Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 8May 2023: 10Jun 2023: 8Jul 2023: 17Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 11Nov 2023: 7Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 8Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 6Apr 2024: 17May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 5Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 7Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 62025Jan 2025: 3Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 26Sep 2025: 18Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 82026Jan 2026: 3Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 3May 2026: 5Jun 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04599172004: 72920042005: 4642006: 9172007: 21720072008: 1942009: 1752010: 21820102011: 2752012: 382013: 720132014: 102015: 1642016: 40020162017: 4292018: 4072019: 77820192020: 4982021: 1772022: 9920222023: 1052024: 762025: 7120252026: 18

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Iressa reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools10.4%672
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9.2%595
  3. Rashskin rash7%455
  4. Interstitial lung diseasescarring or inflammation of lung tissue5.4%347
  5. Disease progressionthe disease advanced4.4%283
  6. Nauseafeeling sick4.1%262
  7. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4%256
  8. Vomitingbeing sick3.6%233
  9. Pneumonialung infection3.4%222
  10. Pyrexiafever3.4%222
  11. Lung disordera lung problem, type not specified3.1%203
  12. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.1%200
  13. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung2.9%185
  14. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2.6%168
  15. Dry skindry skin2.4%155
  16. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.3%150
  17. Coughcough2.3%146
  18. Dehydrationdehydration2.1%138
  19. Fatiguetiredness2.1%138
  20. Pruritusitching2.1%137
  21. Weight decreasedweight loss1.8%114
  22. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen1.7%111
  23. Alanine aminotransferase increasedraised liver enzyme (ALT)1.5%98
  24. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label1.5%98

Top 30 of 862 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death23%1,487
Life-threatening6%385
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)32.4%2,095
Disability3.6%236
Congenital anomaly0.1%4
Other serious50.1%3,240
Not serious5.9%384

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110.1%8
12 to 170.2%10
18 to 442.8%178
45 to 6426%1,679
65 to 7423.5%1,521
75 and over21%1,356
Age not given26.5%1,713

Patient sex

Female55.6%3,596
Male38.2%2,468
Not given6.2%402

Who reported

Physician37.7%2,438
Pharmacist5.5%357
Other health professional11.2%722
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional17.8%1,153
Not given27.8%1,796

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 20.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Non-small cell lung cancer2,26535%
Lung neoplasm malignant1,21418.8%
Lung adenocarcinoma67810.5%
Lung carcinoma cell type unspecified stage 0671%
Adenocarcinoma550.9%
Neoplasm malignant390.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 6,466 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Iressa reports
Tagrisso4507%
Carboplatin2383.7%
Cisplatin1983.1%
Paclitaxel1442.2%
Aspirin1402.2%
Docetaxel1221.9%
Gemcitabine1141.8%
OxyContin1101.7%
Magnesium oxide1051.6%
Lasix1021.6%

Other products listed in reports where Iressa is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureIressaKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product6,466849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—0.8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months77—1,332,454
Marked serious94.1%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports23019091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports324264213
Consumer-filed share17.8%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsMalignant neoplasm progression 18.5%median 2.5%0.5%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Iressa reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Iressa?

6,466 reports list Iressa as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 77 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 258 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Iressa reports?

malignant neoplasm progression (18.5%), drug resistance (11.8%), diarrhoea (10.4%), death (9.2%) and rash (7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Iressa was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 23% of reports include death and 32.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (37.7%), not given (27.8%) and consumer or non-health professional (17.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Iressa rising?

77 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 64% from 47 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Iressa was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Iressa?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Iressa as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (258) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.