Reported Reactions

Drugs › Calculi dissolution agent

Generic name

Magnesium oxide: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,926 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Calculi dissolution agent. Also reported as Mg Oxide, Magnesium Oxide Tablet.

1,926
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 86 a year
197
reports, 12 months to June 2026
328 in the 12 months before
92%
marked serious by the reporter
91.9% across the class
21.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
415 reports · not verified by FDA

Between March 2004 and June 2026, 1,926 adverse event reports received by FDA list magnesium oxide, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (40,766) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 197 reports listed it, down 40% from 328 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 86 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 23.2% of the reports for the calculi dissolution agent class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded condition aggravated (23.5%), drug ineffective (21.4%) and therapeutic product effect incomplete (20.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 660 different terms appear across these reports. Condition aggravated is recorded in 23.5% of these reports, a larger share than in the median calculi dissolution agent drug (12.3%).

92% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (91.9% across the class); 21.5% record death among the outcomes and 61.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 43.5% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 65 to 74 (35.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02448Jul 2021: 22Aug 2021: 13Sep 2021: 17Oct 2021: 11Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 152022Jan 2022: 13Feb 2022: 33Mar 2022: 31Apr 2022: 42May 2022: 23Jun 2022: 21Jul 2022: 15Aug 2022: 26Sep 2022: 14Oct 2022: 8Nov 2022: 22Dec 2022: 162023Jan 2023: 25Feb 2023: 35Mar 2023: 16Apr 2023: 16May 2023: 16Jun 2023: 30Jul 2023: 18Aug 2023: 26Sep 2023: 20Oct 2023: 24Nov 2023: 25Dec 2023: 312024Jan 2024: 18Feb 2024: 28Mar 2024: 21Apr 2024: 36May 2024: 25Jun 2024: 16Jul 2024: 32Aug 2024: 36Sep 2024: 34Oct 2024: 24Nov 2024: 16Dec 2024: 252025Jan 2025: 18Feb 2025: 39Mar 2025: 21Apr 2025: 48May 2025: 9Jun 2025: 26Jul 2025: 25Aug 2025: 19Sep 2025: 12Oct 2025: 13Nov 2025: 20Dec 2025: 82026Jan 2026: 23Feb 2026: 22Mar 2026: 17Apr 2026: 12May 2026: 8Jun 2026: 18

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01563112004: 720042005: 122006: 102007: 1220072008: 102009: 192010: 2220102011: 192012: 152013: 2120132014: 282015: 282016: 3520162017: 692018: 762019: 8920192020: 822021: 1572022: 26420222023: 2822024: 3112025: 25820252026: 100

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Magnesium oxide reports recording the termmedian drug in calculi dissolution agent

  1. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse23.5%452
  2. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected21.4%413
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label20.1%388
  4. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain18.5%357
  5. Nauseafeeling sick18.3%353
  6. Dyspnoeashortness of breath16.1%310
  7. Headachehead pain15.4%297
  8. Painpain, site not specified14.7%284
  9. Constipationconstipation13.9%268
  10. Asthmaasthma13.3%257
  11. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion12.8%246
  12. Anaemialow red blood cells12.7%244
  13. Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung12.2%235
  14. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine12%232
  15. Lung disordera lung problem, type not specified12%232
  16. Respiratory symptom11.6%223
  17. Wheezingwheezing11.6%223
  18. Haemoptysiscoughing up blood11.1%213
  19. Erythemaskin redness10.9%209
  20. Pyrexiafever10.7%206
  21. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure10.5%202
  22. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg10.4%201
  23. Neuritis10.3%199

Top 30 of 660 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 4 drugs in the calculi dissolution agent class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death21.5%415
Life-threatening23.7%457
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)61.4%1,183
Disability13.9%268
Congenital anomaly7.2%138
Other serious70.5%1,358
Not serious8%155

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 8,293 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%4
2 to 110.2%3
12 to 170.6%12
18 to 446.6%128
45 to 6412.3%237
65 to 7435.6%685
75 and over23.8%459
Age not given20.7%398

Patient sex

Female47.5%914
Male39.1%754
Not given13.4%258

Who reported

Physician35.3%679
Pharmacist6.9%133
Other health professional43.5%838
Lawyer0.1%1
Consumer or non-health professional12.6%243
Not given1.7%32

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 21.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Constipation34117.7%
Hypomagnesaemia150.8%
Constipation prophylaxis100.5%
Pain80.4%
Psoriasis70.4%
Supplementation therapy50.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,926 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Magnesium oxide reports
Ergocalciferol61231.8%
Prednisone59831%
Budesonide53227.6%
Acetaminophen47724.8%
Pantoprazole43822.7%
Calcium carbonate42422%
Hydrochlorothiazide40821.2%
Potassium chloride38520%
Bisacodyl37119.3%
Clotrimazole36719.1%

Other products listed in reports where Magnesium oxide is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureMagnesium oxideCalculi dissolution agentAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,9268,29320,646,523
Share of that pool—23.2%0%
Reports, latest 12 months197—1,332,454
Marked serious92%91.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports21519091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports614522213
Consumer-filed share12.6%13.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsCondition aggravated 23.5%median 12.3%1.4%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the calculi dissolution agent class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Magnesium sulfategeneric4,01628889.7%
Magnesium citrategeneric1,24228794.1%
Magnesium hydroxidegeneric1,1097497.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Magnesium oxide reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Magnesium oxide?

1,926 reports list Magnesium oxide as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 197 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 40,766 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Magnesium oxide reports?

condition aggravated (23.5%), drug ineffective (21.4%), therapeutic product effect incomplete (20.5%), off label use (20.1%) and abdominal pain (18.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Magnesium oxide was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

92% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21.5% of reports include death and 61.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (43.5%), physician (35.3%) and consumer or non-health professional (12.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Magnesium oxide rising?

197 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 40% from 328 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Magnesium oxide was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Magnesium oxide?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Magnesium oxide as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (40,766) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.