Reported Reactions

Drugs › Hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme

Brand name · Laronidase

Aldurazyme: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,228 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme.

3,228
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 144 a year
128
reports, 12 months to June 2026
81 in the 12 months before
70.6%
marked serious by the reporter
63.8% across the class
18.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
601 reports · not verified by FDA

Between February 2004 and June 2026, 3,228 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Aldurazyme (laronidase) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (13) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 128 reports listed it, up 58% from 81 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 144 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 18.8% of the reports for the hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are pyrexia (11.8%), pneumonia (6%) and vomiting (5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 655 different terms appear across these reports. Pyrexia is recorded in 11.8% of these reports, about the same share as in the median hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme drug (12.7%).

70.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (63.8% across the class); 18.6% record death among the outcomes and 34.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 61.2% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 2 to 11 (30%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01530Jul 2021: 19Aug 2021: 30Sep 2021: 19Oct 2021: 20Nov 2021: 22Dec 2021: 272022Jan 2022: 11Feb 2022: 18Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 15Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 11Nov 2022: 23Dec 2022: 182023Jan 2023: 25Feb 2023: 26Mar 2023: 15Apr 2023: 10May 2023: 15Jun 2023: 17Jul 2023: 9Aug 2023: 19Sep 2023: 18Oct 2023: 10Nov 2023: 12Dec 2023: 92024Jan 2024: 10Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 9Apr 2024: 10May 2024: 6Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 7Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 10Nov 2024: 7Dec 2024: 112025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 6Jun 2025: 7Jul 2025: 9Aug 2025: 6Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 72026Jan 2026: 9Feb 2026: 6Mar 2026: 15Apr 2026: 28May 2026: 25Jun 2026: 10

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01573132004: 7420042005: 602006: 282007: 10820072008: 582009: 582010: 5120102011: 732012: 892013: 13220132014: 1322015: 2062016: 24320162017: 2622018: 3132019: 23920192020: 2352021: 2762022: 15520222023: 1852024: 852025: 7320252026: 93

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Aldurazyme reports recording the termmedian drug in hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme

  1. Pyrexiafever11.8%382
  2. Pneumonialung infection6%193
  3. Vomitingbeing sick5%160
  4. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.8%155
  5. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell4.3%139
  6. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4%128
  7. Coughcough3.9%127
  8. Fatiguetiredness2.9%95
  9. Urticariahives2.9%94
  10. Headachehead pain2.9%93
  11. Influenzaflu2.8%91
  12. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.7%87
  13. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.6%85
  14. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.6%84
  15. Weight increasedweight gain2.4%77
  16. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.3%74
  17. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.1%68
  18. Painpain, site not specified2.1%68
  19. Nasopharyngitisa cold2%66
  20. Respiratory distressdifficulty breathing2%64
  21. Nauseafeeling sick2%63
  22. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion1.9%61
  23. Falla fall1.9%60
  24. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed1.8%58
  25. Tachycardiafast heart rate1.8%58
  26. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.8%57

Top 30 of 655 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death18.6%601
Life-threatening2.3%75
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)34.3%1,108
Disability2.3%74
Congenital anomaly0.2%7
Other serious39.9%1,288
Not serious29.4%949

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 17,202 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 27.7%248
2 to 1130%967
12 to 1711.6%375
18 to 4418.9%611
45 to 642.5%80
65 to 740%1
75 and over0.1%2
Age not given29.2%944

Patient sex

Female41.2%1,329
Male42.2%1,363
Not given16.6%536

Who reported

Physician23.6%763
Pharmacist1.7%55
Other health professional12.6%406
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional61.2%1,977
Not given0.8%27

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 73.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Mucopolysaccharidosis i2,19568%
Mucopolysaccharidosis36111.2%
Mucopolysaccharidosis ih290.9%
Gaucher's disease100.3%
Mucopolysaccharidosis ii70.2%
Mucopolysaccharidosis ih/s60.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,228 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Aldurazyme reports
Heparin2578%
Acetaminophen2527.8%
Diphenhydramine2337.2%
Epinephrine2297.1%
Sodium chloride2277%
Lidocaine1304%
Benadryl1143.5%
Furosemide762.4%
Diphenhydramine hydrochloride652%
Oxygen621.9%

Other products listed in reports where Aldurazyme is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureAldurazymeHydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzymeAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,22817,20220,646,523
Share of that pool—18.8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months128—1,332,454
Marked serious70.6%63.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports18610691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports343355213
Consumer-filed share61.2%64.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPyrexia 11.8%median 12.7%1.6%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Vimizimbrand5,36943040.4%
Naglazymebrand3,82720165.9%
Idursulfasegeneric2,17013396.2%
Elaprasebrand1,7855178.8%
Laronidasegeneric82311162.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Aldurazyme reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Aldurazyme?

3,228 reports list Aldurazyme as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 128 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 13 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Aldurazyme reports?

pyrexia (11.8%), pneumonia (6%), vomiting (5%), dyspnoea (4.8%) and malaise (4.3%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Aldurazyme was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

70.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 18.6% of reports include death and 34.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (61.2%), physician (23.6%) and other health professional (12.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Aldurazyme rising?

128 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 58% from 81 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Aldurazyme was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Aldurazyme?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Aldurazyme as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (13) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.