Reported Reactions

Drug classes

Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 6 drug pages

Hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme: adverse event reports filed with FDA

17,202 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

17,202
reports across the class
0.1% of all reports
1,054
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,100 in the 12 months before
63.8%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
6
drugs with a page
brand and generic names counted separately

Hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 6 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 17,202 adverse event reports received by FDA, 0.1% of the database, from February 2004 to June 2026.

1,054 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 1,100 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 63.8% of the class's reports are marked serious, 10.6% record death among the outcomes and 35.5% record hospitalisation, as reported.

Across the class the reactions recorded most often are pyrexia (13.1%), cough (6.1%) and pneumonia (5.9%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.

The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Drugs in the class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked seriousTop term recorded
VimizimElosulfase alfabrand5,36943040.4%Pyrexia
NaglazymeGalsulfasebrand3,82720165.9%Pyrexia
AldurazymeLaronidasebrand3,22812870.6%Pyrexia
Idursulfasegeneric2,17013396.2%Product dose omission issue
ElapraseIdursulfasebrand1,7855178.8%Infusion related reaction
Laronidasegeneric82311162.5%Pyrexia

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Reports by month, five years

081162Jul 2021: 157Aug 2021: 162Sep 2021: 116Oct 2021: 108Nov 2021: 146Dec 2021: 1502022Jan 2022: 118Feb 2022: 132Mar 2022: 144Apr 2022: 100May 2022: 108Jun 2022: 125Jul 2022: 114Aug 2022: 128Sep 2022: 108Oct 2022: 117Nov 2022: 124Dec 2022: 1202023Jan 2023: 134Feb 2023: 132Mar 2023: 101Apr 2023: 106May 2023: 117Jun 2023: 139Jul 2023: 97Aug 2023: 117Sep 2023: 105Oct 2023: 98Nov 2023: 93Dec 2023: 862024Jan 2024: 99Feb 2024: 78Mar 2024: 91Apr 2024: 85May 2024: 90Jun 2024: 65Jul 2024: 86Aug 2024: 87Sep 2024: 102Oct 2024: 104Nov 2024: 95Dec 2024: 842025Jan 2025: 96Feb 2025: 87Mar 2025: 97Apr 2025: 94May 2025: 77Jun 2025: 91Jul 2025: 95Aug 2025: 64Sep 2025: 87Oct 2025: 89Nov 2025: 54Dec 2025: 1062026Jan 2026: 101Feb 2026: 81Mar 2026: 101Apr 2026: 108May 2026: 94Jun 2026: 74

FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

Reactions recorded across the class

share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class

  1. Pyrexiafever13.1%2,250
  2. Coughcough6.1%1,053
  3. Pneumonialung infection5.9%1,008
  4. Dyspnoeashortness of breath5.1%873
  5. Vomitingbeing sick4.8%823
  6. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell4.2%721
  7. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed3.4%584
  8. Headachehead pain3.4%578
  9. Influenzaflu3.3%563
  10. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion3.3%561
  11. Fatiguetiredness3.3%560
  12. Nasopharyngitisa cold3.2%556
  13. Painpain, site not specified3.2%551
  14. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times3.1%533
  15. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.1%529
  16. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.5%435
  17. Urticariahives2.4%411
  18. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.4%410
  19. Nauseafeeling sick2.4%405
  20. Seizurea fit or convulsion2.2%386
  21. Falla fall2%343
  22. Rashskin rash1.9%334
  23. Weight increasedweight gain1.9%329

Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 6 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.

Outcomes, patients and reporters

Outcomes recorded

Death10.6%1,820
Life-threatening2.4%411
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)35.5%6,113
Disability2%345
Congenital anomaly0.2%36
Other serious36.3%6,241
Not serious36.2%6,225

Patient age

Under 22.3%404
2 to 1122.8%3,920
12 to 1712.2%2,098
18 to 4415.1%2,589
45 to 641.7%289
65 to 740.1%20
75 and over0%4
Age not given45.8%7,878

Who reported

Physician17.6%3,033
Pharmacist1.3%228
Other health professional15.3%2,638
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional64.7%11,133
Not given1%170

Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.

Questions about Hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme reports

Which drugs are in the Hydrolytic lysosomal glycosaminoglycan-specific enzyme class on this site?

Vimizim, Naglazyme, Aldurazyme, Idursulfase, Elaprase and Laronidase. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.

How many reports does the class have?

17,202 reports through June 2026, 1,054 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.

What reactions are recorded most often?

pyrexia (13.1%), cough (6.1%), pneumonia (5.9%), dyspnoea (5.1%) and vomiting (4.8%).

Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?

No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.

How do I report an adverse event?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.