Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Prosthesis knee

Unknown Tibial Tray: medical device reports filed with FDA

405 reports name it, 2005–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Zimmer Biomet. Product code JWH.

405
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 19 a year
25
reports, 12 months to August 2026
44 in the 12 months before
3%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0.2%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

405 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Unknown Tibial Tray" (prosthesis knee); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Zimmer Biomet; received from March 2005 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

25 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 43% from 44 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (96.8%), malfunction (3%) and death (0.2%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (29.4%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (9.9%) and migration or expulsion of device (6.7%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, swelling and failure of implant. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0510Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 9Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 8Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 6Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 102025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 6Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 4May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 3Aug 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

041812005: 1120052006: 42011: 320112014: 32016: 420162017: 812018: 4120182019: 502020: 3220202021: 212022: 3620222023: 242024: 5320242025: 232026: 192026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.2%1
Injury96.8%392
Malfunction3%12
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%405
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information11929.4%18.1%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth409.9%4%
Migration or expulsion of device276.7%1.5%
Loss of or failure to bond123%6.3%
Fracturea broken bone102.5%7.3%
Noise, audible102.5%1%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off82%1.2%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert82%0.8%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed82%0.8%
Osseointegration problem71.7%0.3%
Loss of osseointegration51.2%0.9%
Patient device interaction problem41%0.5%
Unstable41%4.3%
Device dislodged or dislocated30.7%1.7%
Positioning failure30.7%0.2%
Failure to adhere or bond20.5%0.7%
Material erosion20.5%0.2%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem20.5%0.5%
Naturally worn20.5%6.8%
Biocompatibility10.2%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified12931.9%
Swellingswelling286.9%
Failure of implant266.4%
Ambulation or postural difficulties153.7%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint102.5%
Loss of range of motion102.5%
Osteolysis102.5%
Inadequate osseointegration92.2%
Swelling/ edema92.2%
Bone fracture(s)71.7%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction71.7%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection61.5%
Cyst(s)61.5%
Fluid discharge51.2%
Inflammationinflammation51.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUnknown Tibial TrayProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports405158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports229
Classified as injury96.8%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction3%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Unknown Tibial Tray reports

How many FDA reports name Unknown Tibial Tray?

405 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 25 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (96.8%), malfunction (3%) and death (0.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (29.4%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (9.9%), migration or expulsion of device (6.7%), loss of or failure to bond (3%) and fracture (2.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Unknown Tibial Tray was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.