Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Attune implant knee tibial tray

Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem: medical device reports filed with FDA

797 reports name it, 2014–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Depuy Ireland - 9616671. Product code JWH.

797
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 66 a year
14
reports, 12 months to August 2026
22 in the 12 months before
1.5%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

797 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem" (attune implant knee tibial tray); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Depuy Ireland - 9616671; received from May 2014 to April 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

14 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 36% from 22 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (98.5%) and malfunction (1.5%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are loss of or failure to bond (71%), migration (9.2%) and loose or intermittent connection (3.9%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, not applicable and adhesion(s). FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

047Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 6Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 6Jul 2022: 4Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 32024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 42026Jan 2026: 3Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0881752014: 620142015: 252016: 4020162017: 752018: 13220182019: 1752020: 12620202021: 782022: 5620222023: 252024: 3220242025: 202026: 72026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury98.5%785
Malfunction1.5%12
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%797
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Loss of or failure to bond56671%6.3%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed739.2%0.8%
Loose or intermittent connection313.9%2.1%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth273.4%4%
Insufficient device problem information212.6%18.1%
Migration or expulsion of device212.6%1.5%
Unintended movement172.1%0.3%
Malposition of device141.8%0.9%
Loss of osseointegration111.4%0.9%
Failure to adhere or bond81%0.7%
Device contaminated during manufacture or shipping40.5%0.2%
Disassembly40.5%0.4%
Device dislodged or dislocated20.3%1.7%
Difficult to open or remove packaging material20.3%0.1%
Fitting problem20.3%0.4%
Naturally worn20.3%6.8%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging20.3%0.3%
Breakthe device broke10.1%3.9%
Device slipped10.1%1.5%
Fracturea broken bone10.1%7.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified37446.9%
Not applicable587.3%
Adhesion(s)536.6%
Joint laxity384.8%
Synovitis344.3%
Edemaswelling from fluid283.5%
Muscular rigidity253.1%
Loss of range of motion232.9%
Swelling/ edema212.6%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available162%
Discomfortdiscomfort162%
Injurya physical injury162%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint151.9%
Bone fracture(s)101.3%
Falla fall101.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureAttune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 CemProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports797158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury98.5%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction1.5%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%
GMK Sphere Total Knee System6733560%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem reports

How many FDA reports name Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem?

797 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 14 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (98.5%) and malfunction (1.5%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

loss of or failure to bond (71%), migration (9.2%), loose or intermittent connection (3.9%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (3.4%) and insufficient device problem information (2.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.