Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Prosthesis knee patellofemorotibial semi-constrained cemented polymer/metal

Specific Device Not Reported: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,462 reports name it, 2018–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Exactech. Product code JWH.

1,462
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 189 a year
20
reports, 12 months to August 2026
778 in the 12 months before
0.1%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0.2%
classified as death, as reported
3 reports · not verified by FDA

1,462 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Specific Device Not Reported" (prosthesis knee patellofemorotibial semi-constrained cemented polymer/metal); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Exactech; received from October 2018 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

20 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 97% from 778 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (99.7%), death (0.2%) and malfunction (0.1%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are naturally worn (41.7%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (32.2%) and insufficient device problem information (20.1%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, osteolysis and joint laxity. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

058116Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 7Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 6Mar 2023: 11Apr 2023: 15May 2023: 28Jun 2023: 43Jul 2023: 35Aug 2023: 44Sep 2023: 50Oct 2023: 44Nov 2023: 32Dec 2023: 212024Jan 2024: 22Feb 2024: 22Mar 2024: 20Apr 2024: 22May 2024: 42Jun 2024: 44Jul 2024: 62Aug 2024: 66Sep 2024: 104Oct 2024: 108Nov 2024: 43Dec 2024: 1092025Jan 2025: 116Feb 2025: 107Mar 2025: 58Apr 2025: 37May 2025: 42Jun 2025: 25Jul 2025: 25Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 14Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

03326642018: 520182019: 520192021: 320212022: 2220222023: 32920232024: 66420242025: 43120252026: 32026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.2%3
Injury99.7%1,458
Malfunction0.1%1
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%1,462
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Naturally worn60941.7%6.8%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth47132.2%4%
Insufficient device problem information29420.1%18.1%
Unstable28619.6%4.3%
Device dislodged or dislocated765.2%1.7%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem432.9%0.5%
Fracturea broken bone352.4%7.3%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off141%1.2%
Lack of effect120.8%0.1%
Breakthe device broke40.3%3.9%
Corrodedthe device corroded30.2%0.1%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size30.2%0.5%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed20.1%0.8%
Patient device interaction problem20.1%0.5%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient20.1%0.4%
Structural problem20.1%0%
Crackthe device cracked10.1%0.5%
Implant subsidence10.1%0%
Material deformation10.1%0.2%
Mechanical jam10.1%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified63643.5%
Osteolysis48032.8%
Joint laxity37725.8%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available33923.2%
Discomfortdiscomfort33522.9%
Ambulation or postural difficulties32322.1%
Swelling/ edema31921.8%
Synovitis31121.3%
Failure of implant29119.9%
Implant pain23115.8%
Balance problems15310.5%
Joint effusion1308.9%
Loss of range of motion1016.9%
Scar tissue876%
Emotional changes835.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureSpecific Device Not ReportedProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,462158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports229
Classified as injury99.7%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.1%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%
GMK Sphere Total Knee System6733560%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Specific Device Not Reported reports

How many FDA reports name Specific Device Not Reported?

1,462 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 20 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (99.7%), death (0.2%) and malfunction (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

naturally worn (41.7%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (32.2%), insufficient device problem information (20.1%), unstable (19.6%) and device dislodged or dislocated (5.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Specific Device Not Reported was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.