Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Knee patella

Unknown Knee Patella: medical device reports filed with FDA

791 reports name it, 2017–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Depuy Orthopaedics US. Product code JWH.

791
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 89 a year
26
reports, 12 months to August 2026
51 in the 12 months before
2.4%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0.4%
classified as death, as reported
3 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 791 reports that name the brand "Unknown Knee Patella" (knee patella), received between August 2017 and March 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Depuy Orthopaedics US. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

26 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 49% from 51 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (97.2%), malfunction (2.4%) and death (0.4%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are naturally worn (9.4%), loss of or failure to bond (9.1%) and insufficient device problem information (7.2%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, osteolysis and joint laxity. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01019Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 19Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 62023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 7Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 8May 2024: 3Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 7Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 8Mar 2026: 5Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01382752017: 2120172018: 13120182019: 27520192020: 10820202021: 5120212022: 6020222023: 3820232024: 4520242025: 4520252026: 172026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.4%3
Injury97.2%769
Malfunction2.4%19
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%791
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Naturally worn749.4%6.8%
Loss of or failure to bond729.1%6.3%
Insufficient device problem information577.2%18.1%
Patient device interaction problem354.4%0.5%
Device dislodged or dislocated283.5%1.7%
Fracturea broken bone273.4%7.3%
Noise, audible263.3%1%
Malposition of device81%0.9%
Loose or intermittent connection70.9%2.1%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth60.8%4%
Loss of osseointegration40.5%0.9%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size30.4%0.5%
Disassembly20.3%0.4%
Positioning problem20.3%0.2%
Ambient noise problem10.1%0%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off10.1%1.2%
Difficult to open or remove packaging material10.1%0.1%
Disconnection10.1%0%
Failure to adhere or bond10.1%0.7%
Fitting problem10.1%0.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified27835.1%
Osteolysis658.2%
Joint laxity546.8%
Not applicable546.8%
Adhesion(s)415.2%
Loss of range of motion374.7%
Bone fracture(s)344.3%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint222.8%
Muscular rigidity202.5%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available172.1%
Falla fall172.1%
Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung162%
Swelling/ edema162%
Injurya physical injury151.9%
Joint dislocationa dislocated joint131.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUnknown Knee PatellaProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports791158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports429
Classified as injury97.2%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction2.4%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%
GMK Sphere Total Knee System6733560%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Unknown Knee Patella reports

How many FDA reports name Unknown Knee Patella?

791 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 26 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (97.2%), malfunction (2.4%) and death (0.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

naturally worn (9.4%), loss of or failure to bond (9.1%), insufficient device problem information (7.2%), patient device interaction problem (4.4%) and device dislodged or dislocated (3.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Unknown Knee Patella was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.