Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Prosthesis knee patellofemorotibia

Apex Knee System: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,001 reports name it, 2011–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Omnilife Science. Product code JWH.

1,001
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 66 a year
49
reports, 12 months to August 2026
45 in the 12 months before
1.5%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 1,001 reports that name the brand "Apex Knee System" (prosthesis knee patellofemorotibia), received between April 2011 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Omnilife Science. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

49 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 45 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (98.1%), malfunction (1.5%) and other (0.2%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (30.8%), unstable (8.3%) and loose or intermittent connection (3.3%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, fall and joint laxity. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0612Sep 2021: 11Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 52022Jan 2022: 6Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 7Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 12Aug 2022: 12Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 7Dec 2024: 32025Jan 2025: 4Feb 2025: 10Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 5Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 4Oct 2025: 7Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 7Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 2Apr 2026: 4May 2026: 3Jun 2026: 3Jul 2026: 4Aug 2026: 6

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0801592011: 820112012: 92013: 7520132014: 102015: 720152016: 852017: 9520172018: 1112019: 15920192020: 1162021: 12120212022: 702023: 2920232024: 262025: 4920252026: 31

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury98.1%982
Malfunction1.5%15
Other0.2%2
Not given0.2%2

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%1,001
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information30830.8%18.1%
Unstable838.3%4.3%
Loose or intermittent connection333.3%2.1%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth323.2%4%
Device slipped181.8%1.5%
Patient device interaction problem131.3%0.5%
Contamination90.9%0.1%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size90.9%0.5%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient90.9%0.4%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly80.8%0.8%
Fracturea broken bone80.8%7.3%
Naturally worn60.6%6.8%
Breakthe device broke50.5%3.9%
Collapse50.5%0.1%
Microbial contamination of device50.5%0%
Implant subsidence40.4%0%
Device dislodged or dislocated30.3%1.7%
Unintended movement20.2%0.3%
Compatibility problem10.1%0%
Device expiration issue10.1%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified919.1%
Falla fall666.6%
Joint laxity404%
Failure of implant313.1%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available191.9%
Loss of range of motion191.9%
Aseptic loosening171.7%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection141.4%
Bone fracture(s)121.2%
Implant pain111.1%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction50.5%
Scar tissue50.5%
Autoimmune reaction40.4%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue40.4%
Joint contracture40.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureApex Knee SystemProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,001158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury98.1%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction1.5%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%
GMK Sphere Total Knee System6733560%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Apex Knee System reports

How many FDA reports name Apex Knee System?

1,001 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 49 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (98.1%), malfunction (1.5%) and other (0.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (30.8%), unstable (8.3%), loose or intermittent connection (3.3%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (3.2%) and device slipped (1.8%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Apex Knee System was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.