Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Knee tibial insert

UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert: medical device reports filed with FDA

895 reports name it, 2019–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Depuy Ireland - 9616671. Product code JWH.

895
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 131 a year
102
reports, 12 months to August 2026
142 in the 12 months before
0.2%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0.1%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 895 reports that name the brand "UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert" (knee tibial insert), received between September 2019 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Depuy Ireland - 9616671. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

102 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 28% from 142 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (99.7%), malfunction (0.2%) and death (0.1%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are naturally worn (2.9%), unintended movement (2.6%) and device dislodged or dislocated (2.5%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, joint laxity and loss of range of motion. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

03569Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 15Nov 2021: 8Dec 2021: 142022Jan 2022: 11Feb 2022: 13Mar 2022: 7Apr 2022: 9May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 8Jul 2022: 9Aug 2022: 10Sep 2022: 14Oct 2022: 15Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 82023Jan 2023: 14Feb 2023: 69Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 11May 2023: 10Jun 2023: 5Jul 2023: 9Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 8Oct 2023: 14Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 122024Jan 2024: 11Feb 2024: 5Mar 2024: 14Apr 2024: 14May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 15Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 5Sep 2024: 9Oct 2024: 13Nov 2024: 8Dec 2024: 142025Jan 2025: 13Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 16May 2025: 16Jun 2025: 17Jul 2025: 18Aug 2025: 11Sep 2025: 7Oct 2025: 11Nov 2025: 15Dec 2025: 142026Jan 2026: 6Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 5Apr 2026: 19May 2026: 6Jun 2026: 5Jul 2026: 4Aug 2026: 5

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0881752019: 2820192020: 10320202021: 15120212022: 11520222023: 17520232024: 12320242025: 14520252026: 552026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.1%1
Injury99.7%892
Malfunction0.2%2
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%895
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Naturally worn262.9%6.8%
Unintended movement232.6%0.3%
Device dislodged or dislocated222.5%1.7%
Noise, audible80.9%1%
Fracturea broken bone40.4%7.3%
Loss of or failure to bond30.3%6.3%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert10.1%0.8%
Expiration date error10.1%0%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method10.1%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified31735.4%
Joint laxity20923.4%
Loss of range of motion616.8%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available535.9%
Muscular rigidity505.6%
Adhesion(s)384.2%
Swelling/ edema333.7%
Falla fall222.5%
Ambulation or postural difficulties202.2%
Discomfortdiscomfort171.9%
Joint dislocationa dislocated joint141.6%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint131.5%
Thrombosis/thrombus101.1%
Wound dehiscencea wound reopened101.1%
Edemaswelling from fluid91%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUNK Attune Knee Tibial InsertProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports895158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports129
Classified as injury99.7%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.2%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
GMK Sphere Total Knee System6733560%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert reports

How many FDA reports name UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert?

895 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 102 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (99.7%), malfunction (0.2%) and death (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

naturally worn (2.9%), unintended movement (2.6%), device dislodged or dislocated (2.5%), noise, audible (0.9%) and fracture (0.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.