Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Prosthesis knee patellofemorotibial semi-constrained cemented polymer/metal

Unknown Knee Components: medical device reports filed with FDA

312 reports name it, 2023–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Exactech. Product code JWH.

312
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 94 a year
42
reports, 12 months to August 2026
258 in the 12 months before
6.1%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0.3%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

312 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Unknown Knee Components" (prosthesis knee patellofemorotibial semi-constrained cemented polymer/metal); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Exactech; received from March 2023 to July 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

42 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 84% from 258 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (93.6%), malfunction (6.1%) and death (0.3%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (49%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (5.1%) and naturally worn (3.8%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, ambulation or postural difficulties and swelling/ edema. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

073146Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 122025Jan 2025: 49Feb 2025: 146Mar 2025: 17Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 82026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 3May 2026: 5Jun 2026: 1Jul 2026: 5Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01262522023: 820232024: 3320242025: 25220252026: 192026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.3%1
Injury93.6%292
Malfunction6.1%19
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%312
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information15349%18.1%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth165.1%4%
Naturally worn123.8%6.8%
Unstable123.8%4.3%
Lack of effect113.5%0.1%
Fracturea broken bone41.3%7.3%
Noise, audible41.3%1%
Crackthe device cracked20.6%0.5%
Device dislodged or dislocated20.6%1.7%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem20.6%0.5%
Contamination /decontamination problem10.3%0%
Labelling, instructions for use or training problem10.3%0%
Loss of osseointegration10.3%0.9%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed10.3%0.8%
Structural problem10.3%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified12339.4%
Ambulation or postural difficulties3210.3%
Swelling/ edema258%
Joint laxity165.1%
Loss of range of motion165.1%
Discomfortdiscomfort103.2%
Osteolysis103.2%
Joint effusion61.9%
Falla fall51.6%
Implant pain51.6%
Muscle weakness/atrophy51.6%
Failure of implant41.3%
Synovitis41.3%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available31%
Bone fracture(s)31%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUnknown Knee ComponentsProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports312158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports329
Classified as injury93.6%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction6.1%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Unknown Knee Components reports

How many FDA reports name Unknown Knee Components?

312 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 42 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (93.6%), malfunction (6.1%) and death (0.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (49%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (5.1%), naturally worn (3.8%), unstable (3.8%) and lack of effect (3.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Unknown Knee Components was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.