Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Sigma revision implant knee femoral accessory

Sig Fem Adap +2/-2 Offset Bolt: medical device reports filed with FDA

252 reports name it, 2010–2025. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Depuy Orthopaedics US. Product code JWH.

252
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 16 a year
7
reports, 12 months to August 2026
7 in the 12 months before
1.6%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

252 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Sig Fem Adap +2/-2 Offset Bolt" (sigma revision implant knee femoral accessory); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Depuy Orthopaedics US; received from May 2010 to December 2025. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

7 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 7 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (98.4%) and malfunction (1.6%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are fracture (23%), insufficient device problem information (13.5%) and break (9.1%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, joint laxity and appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

036Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 32023Jan 2023: 2Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 4Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 22026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

018362010: 620102012: 82013: 1020132014: 122015: 1820152016: 172017: 2220172018: 142019: 2920192020: 252021: 3620212022: 162023: 1720232024: 102025: 122025

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury98.4%248
Malfunction1.6%4
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%252
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Fracturea broken bone5823%7.3%
Insufficient device problem information3413.5%18.1%
Breakthe device broke239.1%3.9%
Device dislodged or dislocated114.4%1.7%
Noise, audible52%1%
Loss of or failure to bond31.2%6.3%
Loss of osseointegration20.8%0.9%
Malposition of device20.8%0.9%
Defective devicethe device was defective10.4%0.1%
Degraded10.4%0.2%
Device-device incompatibility10.4%0.1%
Loose or intermittent connection10.4%2.1%
Material separation10.4%0.1%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed10.4%0.8%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified9537.7%
Joint laxity176.7%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available156%
Adhesion(s)93.6%
Edemaswelling from fluid83.2%
Swelling/ edema83.2%
Foreign body reaction72.8%
Loss of range of motion62.4%
Falla fall52%
Discomfortdiscomfort41.6%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction41.6%
Muscular rigidity41.6%
Synovitis41.6%
Ambulation or postural difficulties31.2%
Fatiguetiredness31.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureSig Fem Adap +2/-2 Offset BoltProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports252158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury98.4%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction1.6%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Sig Fem Adap +2/-2 Offset Bolt reports

How many FDA reports name Sig Fem Adap +2/-2 Offset Bolt?

252 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 7 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (98.4%) and malfunction (1.6%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

fracture (23%), insufficient device problem information (13.5%), break (9.1%), device dislodged or dislocated (4.4%) and noise, audible (2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Sig Fem Adap +2/-2 Offset Bolt was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.