Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Prosthesis knee patellofemorotibial semi-constrained cemented polymer/metal

Optetrak Logic: medical device reports filed with FDA

437 reports name it, 2012–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Exactech. Product code JWH.

437
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 30 a year
25
reports, 12 months to August 2026
43 in the 12 months before
1.8%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0.5%
classified as death, as reported
2 reports · not verified by FDA

437 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Optetrak Logic" (prosthesis knee patellofemorotibial semi-constrained cemented polymer/metal); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Exactech; received from January 2012 to July 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

25 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 42% from 43 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (94.1%), other (3.7%) and malfunction (1.8%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are naturally worn (49.4%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (18.1%) and unstable (12.1%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, failure of implant and osteolysis. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

02142Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 8Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 26Apr 2023: 8May 2023: 9Jun 2023: 7Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 23Mar 2024: 42Apr 2024: 13May 2024: 13Jun 2024: 6Jul 2024: 9Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 9Jul 2025: 9Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 5May 2026: 6Jun 2026: 1Jul 2026: 3Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0591182012: 720122013: 1320132018: 2120182019: 8720192020: 4020202022: 1220222023: 8020232024: 11820242025: 4220252026: 172026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.5%2
Injury94.1%411
Malfunction1.8%8
Other3.7%16
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%437
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Naturally worn21649.4%6.8%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth7918.1%4%
Unstable5312.1%4.3%
Insufficient device problem information306.9%18.1%
Loose or intermittent connection306.9%2.1%
Device slipped102.3%1.5%
Fracturea broken bone61.4%7.3%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient61.4%0.4%
Defective devicethe device was defective30.7%0.1%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem30.7%0.5%
Component incompatible20.5%0.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly20.5%0.8%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method20.5%0.2%
Lack of effect20.5%0.1%
Loss of osseointegration20.5%0.9%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed20.5%0.8%
Breakthe device broke10.2%3.9%
Deformation due to compressive stress10.2%0%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off10.2%1.2%
Device difficult to setup or prepare10.2%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified17740.5%
Failure of implant14934.1%
Osteolysis7316.7%
Discomfortdiscomfort6114%
Ambulation or postural difficulties5612.8%
Swelling/ edema5612.8%
Joint laxity5111.7%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available5011.4%
Synovitis398.9%
Implant pain276.2%
Joint effusion245.5%
Aseptic loosening143.2%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection133%
Bone fracture(s)112.5%
Inflammationinflammation102.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureOptetrak LogicProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports437158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports529
Classified as injury94.1%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction1.8%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Optetrak Logic reports

How many FDA reports name Optetrak Logic?

437 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 25 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (94.1%), other (3.7%) and malfunction (1.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

naturally worn (49.4%), loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (18.1%), unstable (12.1%), insufficient device problem information (6.9%) and loose or intermittent connection (6.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Optetrak Logic was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.