Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Attune implant knee patella

Attune Medial Dome Pat 41mm: medical device reports filed with FDA

343 reports name it, 2014–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Depuy Ireland - 9616671. Product code JWH.

343
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 28 a year
14
reports, 12 months to August 2026
23 in the 12 months before
2.9%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 343 reports that name the brand "Attune Medial Dome Pat 41mm" (attune implant knee patella), received between March 2014 and February 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Depuy Ireland - 9616671. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

14 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 39% from 23 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (97.1%) and malfunction (2.9%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are loss of or failure to bond (6.1%), patient device interaction problem (3.8%) and insufficient device problem information (3.2%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, adhesion(s) and osteolysis. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

048Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 6Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 8Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 7Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 5Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 5Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

029582014: 720142015: 82016: 1020162017: 102018: 2220182019: 562020: 5820202021: 442022: 3520222023: 392024: 2720242025: 242026: 32026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury97.1%333
Malfunction2.9%10
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%343
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Loss of or failure to bond216.1%6.3%
Patient device interaction problem133.8%0.5%
Insufficient device problem information113.2%18.1%
Noise, audible113.2%1%
Malposition of device92.6%0.9%
Fracturea broken bone51.5%7.3%
Difficult to open or remove packaging material30.9%0.1%
Naturally worn30.9%6.8%
Device contaminated during manufacture or shipping20.6%0.2%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size20.6%0.5%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth20.6%4%
Manufacturing, packaging or shipping problem20.6%0.1%
Fitting problem10.3%0.4%
Illegible information10.3%0%
Loose or intermittent connection10.3%2.1%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient10.3%0.4%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging10.3%0.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified12436.2%
Adhesion(s)3911.4%
Osteolysis3510.2%
Joint laxity298.5%
Edemaswelling from fluid205.8%
Swelling/ edema164.7%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available133.8%
Synovitis133.8%
Muscular rigidity123.5%
Not applicable102.9%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint92.6%
Loss of range of motion82.3%
Swellingswelling82.3%
Discomfortdiscomfort61.7%
Scar tissue61.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureAttune Medial Dome Pat 41mmProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports343158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury97.1%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction2.9%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Attune Medial Dome Pat 41mm reports

How many FDA reports name Attune Medial Dome Pat 41mm?

343 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 14 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (97.1%) and malfunction (2.9%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

loss of or failure to bond (6.1%), patient device interaction problem (3.8%), insufficient device problem information (3.2%), noise, audible (3.2%) and malposition of device (2.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Attune Medial Dome Pat 41mm was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.