Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Attune implant knee patella

Attune Medial Dome Pat 38mm: medical device reports filed with FDA

430 reports name it, 2014–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Depuy Ireland - 9616671. Product code JWH.

430
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 35 a year
15
reports, 12 months to August 2026
25 in the 12 months before
4.9%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0.7%
classified as death, as reported
3 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 430 reports that name the brand "Attune Medial Dome Pat 38mm" (attune implant knee patella), received between April 2014 and April 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Depuy Ireland - 9616671. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

15 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 40% from 25 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (94.4%), malfunction (4.9%) and death (0.7%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are loss of or failure to bond (6.7%), insufficient device problem information (4.4%) and malposition of device (2.3%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, adhesion(s) and osteolysis. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

048Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 8Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 6Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 4Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 2Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 6Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 8Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0511012014: 420142015: 102016: 1320162017: 112018: 2420182019: 1012020: 6620202021: 502022: 5020222023: 332024: 4020242025: 202026: 82026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.7%3
Injury94.4%406
Malfunction4.9%21
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%430
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Loss of or failure to bond296.7%6.3%
Insufficient device problem information194.4%18.1%
Malposition of device102.3%0.9%
Noise, audible102.3%1%
Patient device interaction problem102.3%0.5%
Naturally worn81.9%6.8%
Device contaminated during manufacture or shipping71.6%0.2%
Difficult to open or remove packaging material71.6%0.1%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth51.2%4%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size30.7%0.5%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging30.7%0.3%
Fracturea broken bone20.5%7.3%
Manufacturing, packaging or shipping problem20.5%0.1%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed20.5%0.8%
Off-label use20.5%0.1%
Component incompatible10.2%0.1%
Device damaged prior to usethe device was damaged before use10.2%0.1%
Device dislodged or dislocated10.2%1.7%
Loss of osseointegration10.2%0.9%
Product quality problem10.2%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified16738.8%
Adhesion(s)419.5%
Osteolysis378.6%
Joint laxity337.7%
Edemaswelling from fluid286.5%
Muscular rigidity235.3%
Loss of range of motion214.9%
Swelling/ edema204.7%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available163.7%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint163.7%
Ambulation or postural difficulties153.5%
Synovitis122.8%
Discomfortdiscomfort112.6%
Falla fall112.6%
Bone fracture(s)92.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureAttune Medial Dome Pat 38mmProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports430158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports729
Classified as injury94.4%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction4.9%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Attune Medial Dome Pat 38mm reports

How many FDA reports name Attune Medial Dome Pat 38mm?

430 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 15 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (94.4%), malfunction (4.9%) and death (0.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

loss of or failure to bond (6.7%), insufficient device problem information (4.4%), malposition of device (2.3%), noise, audible (2.3%) and patient device interaction problem (2.3%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Attune Medial Dome Pat 38mm was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.