Reports received by FDA, by month
February 2012: adverse event reports received by FDA
51,655 drug reports (FAERS) and 37,664 device reports (MAUDE).
- 51,655
- drug reports received
- 38,469 a year earlier
- 48,312
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- 6.9% against the average
- 37,664
- device reports received
- 29,578 a year earlier
FDA received 51,655 drug adverse event reports in February 2012, against 38,469 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 48,312 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 37,664 reports that month (29,578 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were BOTOX Cosmetic (2,404), Tysabri (1,804) and Enbrel (1,796), and the reactions recorded most often were drug ineffective (3,382), death (2,353) and nausea (2,263).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Orencia (22.6× its average), BOTOX Cosmetic (22.6× its average) and Flector (20.1× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to February 2012
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| BOTOX Cosmetic | 2,404 | 4.7% |
| Tysabri | 1,804 | 3.5% |
| Enbrel | 1,796 | 3.5% |
| Simcor | 1,129 | 2.2% |
| Victoza | 1,068 | 2.1% |
| Remicade | 964 | 1.9% |
| Pradaxa | 923 | 1.8% |
| Chantix | 918 | 1.8% |
| Humira | 818 | 1.6% |
| Mirena | 793 | 1.5% |
| Amnesteem | 763 | 1.5% |
| Dianeal | 728 | 1.4% |
| Lyrica | 726 | 1.4% |
| Orencia | 696 | 1.3% |
| Avonex | 672 | 1.3% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| Orencia | 696 | 22.6× |
| BOTOX Cosmetic | 2,404 | 22.6× |
| Flector | 238 | 20.1× |
| Simcor | 1,129 | 20× |
| Viibryd | 312 | 7.7× |
| Amnesteem | 763 | 7.3× |
| Paroxetine | 55 | 4.7× |
| Samsca | 50 | 4.6× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 3,382 | 6.5% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 2,353 | 4.6% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 2,263 | 4.4% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 2,022 | 3.9% |
| Headachehead pain | 1,702 | 3.3% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 1,657 | 3.2% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 1,548 | 3% |
| Vomitingbeing sick | 1,464 | 2.8% |
| Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness | 1,452 | 2.8% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 1,360 | 2.6% |
| Anxietyanxiety | 1,333 | 2.6% |
| Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell | 1,280 | 2.5% |
| Falla fall | 1,144 | 2.2% |
| Depressionlow mood | 1,129 | 2.2% |
| Astheniaweakness or lack of energy | 1,021 | 2% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Carelink | 907 | 2.4% |
| HomeChoice Automated PD Set with Cassette | 799 | 2.1% |
| Homechoice | 723 | 1.9% |
| Capsurefix Novus | 639 | 1.7% |
| Paradigm Real-Time Insulin Infusion Pump | 548 | 1.5% |
| Bravo | 543 | 1.4% |
| Onetouchping Glucosemgmtsystem | 538 | 1.4% |
| Homechoice Pro | 507 | 1.3% |
| Flogard | 471 | 1.3% |
| Sprint Quattro Secure | 406 | 1.1% |
Questions about February 2012
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in February 2012?
51,655 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 37,664 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 38,469 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
BOTOX Cosmetic (2,404), Tysabri (1,804), Enbrel (1,796), Simcor (1,129) and Victoza (1,068).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
drug ineffective (3,382), death (2,353), nausea (2,263), pain (2,022) and headache (1,702).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.