Reported Reactions

Devices › Programmer, pacemaker

Device brand name · Programmer pacemaker

Carelink: medical device reports filed with FDA

15,005 reports name it, 2009–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic. Product code KRG.

15,005
device reports naming the brand
0.1% of all MAUDE reports · about 866 a year
18
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
97.9%
classified as malfunction
96.7% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
6 reports · not verified by FDA

15,005 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Carelink" (programmer pacemaker); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic; received from March 2009 to April 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

18 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, with none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (97.9%) and injury (2%); across all programmer, pacemaker reports (product code KRG) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 96.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are communication or transmission problem (14.7%), electrical /electronic property problem (12%) and device difficult to program or calibrate (9.4%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, cardiac arrest and electric shock. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0611Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 11Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 7May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01,4962,9922009: 420092010: 222011: 1,61620112012: 2,3382013: 1,95420132014: 2,3602015: 2,99220152016: 1,4632017: 96520172018: 9312019: 33620192022: 62026: 182026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%6
Injury2%302
Malfunction97.9%14,697
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.9%14,986
Voluntary report0%1
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.1%18

Grey bar: all 24,211 reports carrying product code KRG. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Communication or transmission problemthe device could not communicate or transmit2,20914.7%9.1%
Electrical /electronic property probleman electrical or electronic problem1,79712%8.4%
Device difficult to program or calibrate1,4079.4%14%
Failure to power up1,3829.2%3.6%
No display/image1,1988%12.9%
Computer operating system problem1,0597.1%8.3%
Computer software problema software problem1,0457%7.2%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem7114.7%4%
Device displays incorrect message6164.1%2.3%
Failure to interrogate5663.8%3.1%
Failure to calibrate5193.5%4.6%
Inadequate user interface5143.4%2.5%
Connection problema connection problem4973.3%2.9%
Power problem4853.2%2.9%
Output problem4252.8%6.6%
Loose or intermittent connection3832.6%1.7%
Breakthe device broke3442.3%1.9%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly3142.1%3.4%
Signal artifact/noise3072%1.2%
Overheating of device3022%2.6%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement6,29441.9%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped160.1%
Electric shockan electric shock160.1%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness80.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term70%
Failure of implant60%
Shockshock, a collapse of the circulation60%
Ventricular tachycardiaa fast rhythm from the lower heart chambers50%
Painpain, site not specified40%
Syncopefainting40%
Arrhythmia30%
Complaint, ill-defined30%
Numbnessnumbness30%
Ventricular fibrillationa chaotic rhythm from the lower heart chambers30%
Anxietyanxiety20%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureCarelinkProduct code KRGAll MAUDE reports
Reports15,00524,21126,136,888
Share of that pool—62%0.1%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports019
Classified as injury2%3.2%36.2%
Classified as malfunction97.9%96.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.9%99.9%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KRG

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Carelink Programmer6,2645460%
CareLink Encore Programmer1,3431030%
Pacing System Analyzer607920%
SmartTouch6681320%
Orchestra71300.1%
Merlin Programmer1,425260.1%
Vitality 24,77901%
Carelink Encore36800%
Medtronic Carelink Programmer With Analyzer173310%
Vitality2,09500.9%
Zoom44130%
N'vision26900.7%
Vitality Avt1,23502.3%
Carelink System34300.3%
Carelink Program W/Telemetry C1,68100%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Carelink reports

How many FDA reports name Carelink?

15,005 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 18 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (97.9%) and injury (2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

communication or transmission problem (14.7%), electrical /electronic property problem (12%), device difficult to program or calibrate (9.4%), failure to power up (9.2%) and no display/image (8%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.9%) and voluntary reports (0%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Carelink was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.