Reported Reactions

Months

Reports received by FDA, by month

April 2010: adverse event reports received by FDA

30,845 drug reports (FAERS) and 20,867 device reports (MAUDE).

30,845
drug reports received
25,716 a year earlier
29,757
monthly average, preceding 12 months
3.7% against the average
20,867
device reports received
17,946 a year earlier

FDA received 30,845 drug adverse event reports in April 2010, against 25,716 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 29,757 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 20,867 reports that month (17,946 a year earlier).

The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Tysabri (2,245), Avonex (864) and Avandia (526), and the reactions recorded most often were nausea (1,228), death (1,184) and fatigue (1,150).

Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Toprol-Xl (12.1× its average), Latisse (8.1× its average) and Solostar (6.7× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.

Drug reports by month, three years to April 2010

020,40140,802May 2007: 21,169Jun 2007: 17,019Jul 2007: 26,259Aug 2007: 26,626Sep 2007: 18,423Oct 2007: 22,963Nov 2007: 23,864Dec 2007: 35,3422008Jan 2008: 24,579Feb 2008: 22,882Mar 2008: 26,011Apr 2008: 25,432May 2008: 20,254Jun 2008: 28,281Jul 2008: 26,560Aug 2008: 24,040Sep 2008: 25,008Oct 2008: 24,629Nov 2008: 21,099Dec 2008: 40,8022009Jan 2009: 25,832Feb 2009: 24,373Mar 2009: 24,913Apr 2009: 25,716May 2009: 22,035Jun 2009: 27,447Jul 2009: 28,323Aug 2009: 31,311Sep 2009: 31,075Oct 2009: 28,431Nov 2009: 29,373Dec 2009: 38,9012010Jan 2010: 28,744Feb 2010: 31,674Mar 2010: 34,048Apr 2010: 30,845

Drugs listed most often as suspect products

DrugReportsShare of the month
Tysabri2,2457.3%
Avonex8642.8%
Avandia5261.7%
Latisse4701.5%
Remicade4631.5%
Tiotropium bromide4401.4%
Humira4201.4%
Nexium3851.2%
Forteo3751.2%
Revlimid3611.2%
Dianeal3271.1%
Soliris3241.1%
Toprol-Xl3121%
Seroquel3071%
Enbrel3041%

FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Largest rises against their own average

DrugReports this monthTimes its 12-month average
Toprol-Xl31212.1×
Latisse4708.1×
Solostar1746.7×
Tysabri2,2456.3×
Metoprolol succinate1086.1×
Tocilizumab555.4×
Tenormin585.4×
Sensipar715.3×

Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.

Reactions recorded most often

MedDRA termReportsShare of the month
Nauseafeeling sick1,2284%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1,1843.8%
Fatiguetiredness1,1503.7%
Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1,1333.7%
Dyspnoeashortness of breath1,1133.6%
Headachehead pain1,0193.3%
Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools9373%
Vomitingbeing sick9293%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness8532.8%
Astheniaweakness or lack of energy8302.7%
Pyrexiafever8112.6%
Painpain, site not specified7402.4%
Falla fall7142.3%
Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell6942.2%
Pneumonialung infection6482.1%

Devices named most often

BrandReportsShare of device reports
One Touch Ultralink Meter3711.8%
One Touch Ping Meter3661.8%
Constellation With Laser1920.9%
Precision?1780.9%
M Series1700.8%
Accu-Chek Spirit1580.8%
Totalcare1550.7%
Centra 850 Bed Centra Bed 3 Motor1480.7%
Accu-Chek Aviva Test Strips1400.7%
Perclose Proglide 6f Suture Mediated Closure Smc System1360.7%

Questions about April 2010

How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in April 2010?

30,845 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 20,867 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 25,716 drug reports.

Which drugs were listed most often?

Tysabri (2,245), Avonex (864), Avandia (526), Latisse (470) and Remicade (463).

Which reactions were recorded most often?

nausea (1,228), death (1,184), fatigue (1,150), drug ineffective (1,133) and dyspnoea (1,113).

Can the count for a month still change?

Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.

Does a busy month mean something happened that month?

Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.