Reported Reactions

Drugs › Sphingosine 1-phosphate receptor modulator

Brand name · Ozanimod hydrochloride

Zeposia: adverse event reports filed with FDA

8,134 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2020–2026. Class: Sphingosine 1-phosphate receptor modulator.

8,134
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 1,376 a year
751
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,294 in the 12 months before
26.5%
marked serious by the reporter
49.1% across the class
1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
84 reports · not verified by FDA

8,134 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Zeposia (ozanimod hydrochloride) as a suspect or interacting product, from August 2020 to June 2026. A further 115 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 751 reports listed it, down 42% from 1,294 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,376 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 7.8% of the reports for the sphingosine 1-phosphate receptor modulator class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are fatigue (9.2%), multiple sclerosis relapse (7.1%) and drug ineffective (6.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 640 different terms appear across these reports. Fatigue is recorded in 9.2% of these reports, about the same share as in the median sphingosine 1-phosphate receptor modulator drug (8%).

26.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (49.1% across the class); 1% record death among the outcomes and 7.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 48.2% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (38.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0204408Jul 2021: 162Aug 2021: 185Sep 2021: 200Oct 2021: 266Nov 2021: 136Dec 2021: 1292022Jan 2022: 76Feb 2022: 99Mar 2022: 82Apr 2022: 77May 2022: 408Jun 2022: 171Jul 2022: 127Aug 2022: 170Sep 2022: 152Oct 2022: 101Nov 2022: 116Dec 2022: 1142023Jan 2023: 102Feb 2023: 93Mar 2023: 105Apr 2023: 115May 2023: 129Jun 2023: 141Jul 2023: 138Aug 2023: 148Sep 2023: 140Oct 2023: 118Nov 2023: 143Dec 2023: 1382024Jan 2024: 128Feb 2024: 125Mar 2024: 130Apr 2024: 124May 2024: 132Jun 2024: 107Jul 2024: 126Aug 2024: 124Sep 2024: 128Oct 2024: 125Nov 2024: 100Dec 2024: 1032025Jan 2025: 112Feb 2025: 87Mar 2025: 103Apr 2025: 106May 2025: 89Jun 2025: 91Jul 2025: 69Aug 2025: 74Sep 2025: 67Oct 2025: 56Nov 2025: 54Dec 2025: 622026Jan 2026: 59Feb 2026: 57Mar 2026: 65Apr 2026: 55May 2026: 59Jun 2026: 74

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

09501,8992020: 24120202021: 1,89920212022: 1,69320222023: 1,51020232024: 1,45220242025: 97020252026: 3692026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Zeposia reports recording the termmedian drug in sphingosine 1-phosphate receptor modulator

  1. Fatiguetiredness9.2%751
  2. Multiple sclerosis relapsea flare of multiple sclerosis7.1%579
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected6.5%530
  4. Headachehead pain6.2%507
  5. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed4.5%363
  6. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness4.3%346
  7. Nauseafeeling sick3.4%278
  8. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.2%259
  9. Painpain, site not specified3%248
  10. Back painback pain2.6%215
  11. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified2.3%188
  12. Falla fall2.2%182
  13. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.9%153
  14. Hypoaesthesianumbness1.9%151
  15. Arthralgiajoint pain1.7%141
  16. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.7%140
  17. Depressionlow mood1.7%136
  18. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.7%135
  19. Covid-19COVID-19 infection1.6%129
  20. Gait disturbancedifficulty walking1.5%124
  21. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg1.5%123
  22. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection1.5%120
  23. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label1.5%118
  24. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading1.4%117
  25. Paraesthesiatingling or pins and needles1.4%117
  26. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs1.4%117
  27. Balance disorderproblems with balance1.4%116

Top 30 of 640 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the sphingosine 1-phosphate receptor modulator class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death1%84
Life-threatening0.8%66
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)7.2%586
Disability0.9%73
Congenital anomaly0%3
Other serious21.8%1,774
Not serious73.5%5,975

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 103,701 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%8
2 to 110%0
12 to 170.1%7
18 to 4430.4%2,473
45 to 6438.7%3,147
65 to 749.2%751
75 and over3%244
Age not given18.5%1,504

Patient sex

Female67.9%5,521
Male27.3%2,219
Not given4.8%394

Who reported

Physician11.2%911
Pharmacist2.1%169
Other health professional48.2%3,924
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional38.1%3,101
Not given0.3%28

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 94.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Multiple sclerosis4,30352.9%
Colitis ulcerative1,78321.9%
Relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis1171.4%
Colitis570.7%
Proctitis ulcerative570.7%
Multiple sclerosis relapse530.7%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 8,134 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Zeposia reports
Ergocalciferol1361.7%
Gabapentin1251.5%
Prednisone1241.5%
Baclofen1001.2%
Vitamin d951.2%
Vitamin B12640.8%
Aspirin550.7%
Mesalamine530.7%
Omeprazole520.6%
Atorvastatin490.6%

Other products listed in reports where Zeposia is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureZeposiaSphingosine 1-phosphate receptor modulatorAll reports
Reports as suspect product8,134103,70120,646,523
Share of that pool—7.8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months751—1,332,454
Marked serious26.5%49.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports101491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports72129213
Consumer-filed share38.1%59.2%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFatigue 9.2%median 8%3.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the sphingosine 1-phosphate receptor modulator class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Gilenyabrand81,23427649.7%
Mayzentbrand8,22225147.1%
Fingolimodgeneric4,04156984.7%
Velsipitybrand1,53948436.7%
Siponimodgeneric5315396.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Zeposia reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Zeposia?

8,134 reports list Zeposia as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 751 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 115 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Zeposia reports?

fatigue (9.2%), multiple sclerosis relapse (7.1%), drug ineffective (6.5%), headache (6.2%) and product dose omission issue (4.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Zeposia was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

26.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 1% of reports include death and 7.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (48.2%), consumer or non-health professional (38.1%) and physician (11.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Zeposia rising?

751 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 42% from 1,294 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Zeposia was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Zeposia?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Zeposia as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (115) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.