Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Crizotinib

Xalkori: adverse event reports filed with FDA

8,335 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor.

8,335
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 565 a year
129
reports, 12 months to June 2026
186 in the 12 months before
64.2%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
30.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,505 reports · not verified by FDA

Between October 2011 and June 2026, 8,335 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Xalkori (crizotinib) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (162) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 129 reports listed it, down 31% from 186 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 565 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 1% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded death (19.2%), disease progression (11.2%) and nausea (10.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 668 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 19.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (7.6%).

64.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 30.1% record death among the outcomes and 20.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 33.6% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (28.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02754Jul 2021: 28Aug 2021: 37Sep 2021: 18Oct 2021: 19Nov 2021: 21Dec 2021: 242022Jan 2022: 14Feb 2022: 16Mar 2022: 27Apr 2022: 54May 2022: 26Jun 2022: 19Jul 2022: 16Aug 2022: 20Sep 2022: 22Oct 2022: 33Nov 2022: 18Dec 2022: 152023Jan 2023: 19Feb 2023: 15Mar 2023: 28Apr 2023: 21May 2023: 33Jun 2023: 26Jul 2023: 23Aug 2023: 22Sep 2023: 16Oct 2023: 28Nov 2023: 27Dec 2023: 162024Jan 2024: 18Feb 2024: 25Mar 2024: 15Apr 2024: 10May 2024: 21Jun 2024: 15Jul 2024: 13Aug 2024: 31Sep 2024: 20Oct 2024: 14Nov 2024: 20Dec 2024: 152025Jan 2025: 16Feb 2025: 15Mar 2025: 8Apr 2025: 10May 2025: 11Jun 2025: 13Jul 2025: 16Aug 2025: 21Sep 2025: 8Oct 2025: 7Nov 2025: 7Dec 2025: 82026Jan 2026: 9Feb 2026: 16Mar 2026: 11Apr 2026: 12May 2026: 6Jun 2026: 8

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

05461,0922011: 5120112012: 5542013: 88620132014: 1,0922015: 88020152016: 8792017: 74520172018: 6902019: 75820192020: 5382021: 28920212022: 2802023: 27420232024: 2172025: 14020252026: 62

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Xalkori reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term19.2%1,599
  2. Disease progressionthe disease advanced11.2%931
  3. Nauseafeeling sick10.1%840
  4. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools7.5%621
  5. Vomitingbeing sick6.5%539
  6. Fatiguetiredness4.8%399
  7. Lung neoplasm malignantlung cancer4.6%381
  8. Visual impairmentreduced vision4%336
  9. Constipationconstipation3.9%321
  10. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands3.6%297
  11. Decreased appetitereduced appetite3.2%268
  12. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.2%268
  13. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3%254
  14. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.9%242
  15. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.9%239
  16. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs2.8%231
  17. Pneumonialung infection2.6%217
  18. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.5%212
  19. Dysgeusiaaltered taste2.1%175
  20. Non-small cell lung cancer2.1%172
  21. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung2%169
  22. Neoplasm malignanta cancer, type not specified2%168
  23. Coughcough1.7%145
  24. Dysphagiadifficulty swallowing1.7%144
  25. Pyrexiafever1.7%143
  26. Renal impairmentreduced kidney function1.7%142
  27. Oedemaswelling from fluid1.6%135
  28. Weight decreasedweight loss1.6%134
  29. Rashskin rash1.5%129

Top 30 of 668 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death30.1%2,505
Life-threatening2.1%178
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)20.1%1,675
Disability0.8%66
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious26.9%2,242
Not serious35.8%2,988

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%7
2 to 110.5%45
12 to 170.3%27
18 to 447.4%615
45 to 6428.1%2,344
65 to 7420.3%1,691
75 and over15.8%1,314
Age not given27.5%2,292

Patient sex

Female49.9%4,158
Male39.3%3,279
Not given10.8%898

Who reported

Physician33.6%2,801
Pharmacist13.8%1,152
Other health professional19%1,583
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional32.2%2,687
Not given1.3%112

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 63.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Lung neoplasm malignant2,38228.6%
Non-small cell lung cancer1,22714.7%
Neoplasm malignant2953.5%
Non-small cell lung cancer metastatic2703.2%
Lung adenocarcinoma2493%
Lung cancer metastatic1942.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 8,335 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Xalkori reports
Folic acid1211.5%
Zofran1191.4%
Lasix1061.3%
Omeprazole1021.2%
Dexamethasone1011.2%
Aspirin901.1%
Furosemide851%
Ondansetron831%
Pantoprazole821%
Prednisone720.9%

Other products listed in reports where Xalkori is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureXalkoriKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product8,335849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—1%0%
Reports, latest 12 months129—1,332,454
Marked serious64.2%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports30119091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports201264213
Consumer-filed share32.2%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 19.2%median 7.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Xalkori reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Xalkori?

8,335 reports list Xalkori as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 129 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 162 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Xalkori reports?

death (19.2%), disease progression (11.2%), nausea (10.1%), neoplasm progression (7.8%) and diarrhoea (7.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Xalkori was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

64.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 30.1% of reports include death and 20.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (33.6%), consumer or non-health professional (32.2%) and other health professional (19%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Xalkori rising?

129 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 31% from 186 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Xalkori was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Xalkori?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Xalkori as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (162) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.