Drugs › Calcitonin gene-related peptide receptor antagonist
Brand name · Ubrogepant
Ubrelvy: adverse event reports filed with FDA
2,833 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2020–2026. Class: Calcitonin gene-related peptide receptor antagonist.
- 2,833
- reports as suspect product
- 0% of all reports · about 436 a year
- 485
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 405 in the 12 months before
- 28.8%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 20.9% across the class
- 1.8%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 51 reports · not verified by FDA
2,833 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Ubrelvy (ubrogepant) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2020 to June 2026. A further 2,962 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 485 reports listed it, up 20% from 405 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 436 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 15.5% of the reports for the calcitonin gene-related peptide receptor antagonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
Reporters most often recorded drug ineffective (24.2%), migraine (17.2%) and headache (8.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 359 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 24.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median calcitonin gene-related peptide receptor antagonist drug (17.9%).
28.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (20.9% across the class); 1.8% record death among the outcomes and 6.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 80.7% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (12.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Ubrelvy reports recording the termmedian drug in calcitonin gene-related peptide receptor antagonist
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected24.2%686
- Migrainemigraine17.2%487
- Headachehead pain8.3%235
- Nauseafeeling sick7.7%219
- Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label5%142
- Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness4.1%117
- Fatiguetiredness3.7%105
- Somnolencedrowsiness3.4%95
- Painpain, site not specified2.6%73
- Vomitingbeing sick2.6%73
- Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right2.1%59
- Therapeutic response decreasedthe medicine worked less well2%57
- Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy1.8%51
- Wrong technique in product usage processthe product was used in the wrong way1.8%51
- Pruritusitching1.7%47
- Cerebrovascular accidentstroke1.6%45
- Constipationconstipation1.6%44
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1.4%41
- Falla fall1.4%39
- Chest painchest pain1.3%38
- Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.3%38
- Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.3%37
- Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain1.3%36
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.3%36
- Hypoaesthesianumbness1.2%35
- Seizurea fit or convulsion1.2%33
- Covid-19COVID-19 infection1.1%32
- Paraesthesiatingling or pins and needles1.1%32
Top 30 of 359 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 5 drugs in the calcitonin gene-related peptide receptor antagonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 18,311 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 98.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Migraine | 1,401 | 49.5% |
| Headache | 115 | 4.1% |
| Migraine with aura | 18 | 0.6% |
| Maternal exposure timing unspecified | 14 | 0.5% |
| Migraine without aura | 8 | 0.3% |
| Migraine prophylaxis | 7 | 0.2% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,833 reports.
Drugs most often listed in the same reports
| Drug (any role in the report) | Reports | Share of Ubrelvy reports |
|---|---|---|
| Botox | 159 | 5.6% |
| Nurtec Odt | 154 | 5.4% |
| Aimovig | 66 | 2.3% |
| Emgality | 65 | 2.3% |
| Tylenol | 59 | 2.1% |
| Ajovy | 57 | 2% |
| Gabapentin | 48 | 1.7% |
| Metoprolol | 45 | 1.6% |
| Ibuprofen | 40 | 1.4% |
| Sumatriptan | 40 | 1.4% |
Other products listed in reports where Ubrelvy is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.
In context
| Measure | Ubrelvy | Calcitonin gene-related peptide receptor antagonist | All reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 2,833 | 18,311 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 15.5% | 0% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 485 | — | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 28.8% | 20.9% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 18 | 11 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 68 | 45 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 80.7% | 77.8% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Drug ineffective 24.2% | median 17.9% | 6.3% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Other drugs in the calcitonin gene-related peptide receptor antagonist class
| Drug | Name type | Reports | Latest 12 months | Marked serious |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nurtec Odt | brand | 9,415 | 712 | 11.6% |
| Qulipta | brand | 4,662 | 748 | 29.6% |
| Zavzpret | brand | 710 | 172 | 7.3% |
| Atogepant | generic | 691 | 290 | 71.2% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.
Questions about Ubrelvy reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Ubrelvy?
2,833 reports list Ubrelvy as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 485 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,962 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Ubrelvy reports?
drug ineffective (24.2%), migraine (17.2%), headache (8.3%), nausea (7.7%) and off label use (5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Ubrelvy was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
28.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 1.8% of reports include death and 6.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
consumer or non-health professional (80.7%), other health professional (9.6%) and physician (7.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Ubrelvy rising?
485 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 20% from 405 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Ubrelvy was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Ubrelvy?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Ubrelvy as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,962) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.