Drugs › beta-Adrenergic blocker
Generic name
Metoprolol: adverse event reports filed with FDA
27,410 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: beta-Adrenergic blocker. Also reported as Metoprolol Sr, Metoprolol Tab, Metoprolol 50mg.
- 27,410
- reports as suspect product
- 0.1% of all reports · about 1,219 a year
- 1,520
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 1,884 in the 12 months before
- 88.2%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 78.7% across the class
- 21.6%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 5,910 reports · not verified by FDA
27,410 adverse event reports received by FDA list metoprolol, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 165,686 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,520 reports listed it, down 19% from 1,884 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,219 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 18.5% of the reports for the beta-Adrenergic blocker class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
Reporters most often recorded completed suicide (11.3%), hypotension (9.2%) and dizziness (8.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,607 different terms appear across these reports. Completed suicide is recorded in 11.3% of these reports, a larger share than in the median beta-Adrenergic blocker drug (0.7%).
88.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (78.7% across the class); 21.6% record death among the outcomes and 44.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 32.2% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (25.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Metoprolol reports recording the termmedian drug in beta-adrenergic blocker
- Completed suicidedeath by suicide11.3%3,102
- Hypotensionlow blood pressure9.2%2,521
- Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness8.2%2,237
- Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances7.9%2,171
- Dyspnoeashortness of breath7.8%2,141
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected7.8%2,135
- Bradycardiaslow heart rate6.4%1,758
- Fatiguetiredness6.2%1,693
- Drug interactionan interaction between medicines5.5%1,496
- Falla fall4.7%1,280
- Nauseafeeling sick4.5%1,225
- Hypertensionhigh blood pressure4.2%1,150
- Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.1%1,137
- Headachehead pain3.9%1,067
- Syncopefainting3.8%1,053
- Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm3.7%1,003
- Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.2%871
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.2%866
- Coughcough3%811
- Painpain, site not specified2.9%789
- Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine2.8%757
- Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.7%750
- Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.6%704
- Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped2.4%669
- Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading2.4%666
- Arthralgiajoint pain2.4%648
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.3%639
- Intentional overdosea deliberate overdose2.3%639
- Overdosea dose above the recommended amount2.3%625
- Chest painchest pain2.2%599
Top 30 of 2,607 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 22 drugs in the beta-adrenergic blocker class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 148,208 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 52.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Hypertension | 3,198 | 11.7% |
| Atrial fibrillation | 844 | 3.1% |
| Suicide attempt | 249 | 0.9% |
| Blood pressure abnormal | 240 | 0.9% |
| Cardiac failure | 217 | 0.8% |
| Ventricular tachycardia | 182 | 0.7% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 27,410 reports.
Drugs most often listed in the same reports
| Drug (any role in the report) | Reports | Share of Metoprolol reports |
|---|---|---|
| Amlodipine | 3,467 | 12.6% |
| Aspirin | 2,508 | 9.1% |
| Furosemide | 2,480 | 9% |
| Atorvastatin | 2,301 | 8.4% |
| Ramipril | 2,228 | 8.1% |
| Lisinopril | 2,076 | 7.6% |
| Metformin | 2,074 | 7.6% |
| Pantoprazole | 1,534 | 5.6% |
| Spironolactone | 1,340 | 4.9% |
| Simvastatin | 1,239 | 4.5% |
Other products listed in reports where Metoprolol is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.
In context
| Measure | Metoprolol | beta-Adrenergic blocker | All reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 27,410 | 148,208 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 18.5% | 0.1% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 1,520 | — | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 88.2% | 78.7% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 216 | 131 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 444 | 387 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 22.9% | 26.8% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Completed suicide 11.3% | median 0.7% | 0.4% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Other drugs in the beta-adrenergic blocker class
| Drug | Name type | Reports | Latest 12 months | Marked serious |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bisoprolol | brand | 22,881 | 1,454 | 99.1% |
| Atenolol | generic | 17,022 | 444 | 84.9% |
| Propranolol | generic | 13,733 | 1,177 | 87.1% |
| Metoprolol succinate | generic | 10,416 | 664 | 65.4% |
| Metoprolol tartrate | generic | 9,103 | 557 | 72.4% |
| Bisoprolol fumarate | generic | 8,292 | 546 | 98.2% |
| Propranolol hydrochloride | generic | 6,102 | 484 | 71.9% |
| Timolol | generic | 4,818 | 97 | 20.7% |
| Hemangeol | brand | 4,383 | 441 | 5.4% |
| Nebivolol | generic | 4,211 | 386 | 93.9% |
| Toprol Xl | brand | 3,341 | 35 | 44.5% |
| Labetalol | generic | 2,960 | 192 | 88.7% |
| Bystolic | brand | 2,841 | 21 | 31.1% |
| Timolol maleate | generic | 2,743 | 120 | 29.9% |
| Tenormin | brand | 1,786 | 14 | 80.2% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.
Questions about Metoprolol reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Metoprolol?
27,410 reports list Metoprolol as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,520 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 165,686 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Metoprolol reports?
completed suicide (11.3%), hypotension (9.2%), dizziness (8.2%), toxicity to various agents (7.9%) and dyspnoea (7.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Metoprolol was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
88.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21.6% of reports include death and 44.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
other health professional (32.2%), physician (31%) and consumer or non-health professional (22.9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Metoprolol rising?
1,520 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 19% from 1,884 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Metoprolol was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Metoprolol?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Metoprolol as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (165,686) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.