Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Regorafenib

Stivarga: adverse event reports filed with FDA

9,221 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2012–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor.

9,221
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 671 a year
267
reports, 12 months to June 2026
530 in the 12 months before
89.3%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
19.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,822 reports · not verified by FDA

9,221 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Stivarga (regorafenib) as a suspect or interacting product, from October 2012 to June 2026. A further 281 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 267 reports listed it, down 50% from 530 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 671 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 1.1% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded off label use (20.4%), fatigue (17%) and palmar-plantar erythrodysaesthesia syndrome (13.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 993 different terms appear across these reports. Off label use is recorded in 20.4% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (4.1%).

89.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 19.8% record death among the outcomes and 33.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 31.6% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (35.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04895Jul 2021: 61Aug 2021: 54Sep 2021: 60Oct 2021: 89Nov 2021: 95Dec 2021: 632022Jan 2022: 47Feb 2022: 56Mar 2022: 45Apr 2022: 42May 2022: 54Jun 2022: 50Jul 2022: 44Aug 2022: 65Sep 2022: 39Oct 2022: 47Nov 2022: 49Dec 2022: 702023Jan 2023: 29Feb 2023: 56Mar 2023: 64Apr 2023: 58May 2023: 62Jun 2023: 46Jul 2023: 39Aug 2023: 31Sep 2023: 36Oct 2023: 38Nov 2023: 42Dec 2023: 722024Jan 2024: 36Feb 2024: 30Mar 2024: 27Apr 2024: 36May 2024: 49Jun 2024: 38Jul 2024: 37Aug 2024: 45Sep 2024: 44Oct 2024: 54Nov 2024: 53Dec 2024: 482025Jan 2025: 41Feb 2025: 59Mar 2025: 44Apr 2025: 49May 2025: 28Jun 2025: 28Jul 2025: 30Aug 2025: 28Sep 2025: 41Oct 2025: 27Nov 2025: 22Dec 2025: 162026Jan 2026: 17Feb 2026: 18Mar 2026: 12Apr 2026: 18May 2026: 20Jun 2026: 18

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

05211,0412012: 8420122013: 6702014: 63120142015: 7652016: 55220162017: 9042018: 1,04120182019: 8232020: 76120202021: 7962022: 60820222023: 5732024: 49720242025: 4132026: 1032026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Stivarga reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label20.4%1,880
  2. Fatiguetiredness17%1,571
  3. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools12.9%1,192
  4. Decreased appetitereduced appetite10.4%961
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9%827
  6. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy8.7%804
  7. Dysphoniaa hoarse voice8.4%775
  8. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg8.1%748
  9. Nauseafeeling sick7.5%688
  10. Pyrexiafever6.9%633
  11. Weight decreasedweight loss6.3%582
  12. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure6.2%569
  13. Painpain, site not specified5.3%491
  14. Vomitingbeing sick5.3%488
  15. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet5%462
  16. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading4.8%447
  17. Rashskin rash4.8%446
  18. Blistera blister4.7%436
  19. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain4.4%405
  20. Headachehead pain4.3%401
  21. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.3%393
  22. Dehydrationdehydration4.2%388
  23. Constipationconstipation4.1%377
  24. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell4.1%376
  25. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain3.8%350
  26. Skin exfoliationpeeling skin3.8%346
  27. Gait disturbancedifficulty walking3.7%338

Top 30 of 993 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death19.8%1,822
Life-threatening2.3%212
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)33.7%3,103
Disability1.1%106
Congenital anomaly0%3
Other serious57.9%5,338
Not serious10.7%984

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%3
2 to 110.1%9
12 to 170.4%38
18 to 445.1%466
45 to 6435.4%3,263
65 to 7424.5%2,259
75 and over12%1,109
Age not given22.5%2,074

Patient sex

Female36.9%3,407
Male55.3%5,096
Not given7.8%718

Who reported

Physician29.6%2,728
Pharmacist11.3%1,039
Other health professional27.2%2,508
Lawyer0%3
Consumer or non-health professional31.6%2,912
Not given0.3%31

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 50.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Colon cancer1,84920.1%
Colorectal cancer1,34114.5%
Colorectal cancer metastatic96910.5%
Hepatocellular carcinoma92610%
Rectal cancer4955.4%
Gastrointestinal stromal tumour3724%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 9,221 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Stivarga reports
Nexavar3964.3%
Lonsurf2833.1%
Gabapentin1671.8%
Amlodipine1381.5%
Lisinopril1321.4%
Oxycodone1151.2%
Omeprazole1121.2%
Furosemide1071.2%
Zofran921%
Ondansetron911%

Other products listed in reports where Stivarga is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureStivargaKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product9,221849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—1.1%0%
Reports, latest 12 months267—1,332,454
Marked serious89.3%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports19819091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports337264213
Consumer-filed share31.6%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsOff label use 20.4%median 4.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Stivarga reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Stivarga?

9,221 reports list Stivarga as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 267 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 281 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Stivarga reports?

off label use (20.4%), fatigue (17%), palmar-plantar erythrodysaesthesia syndrome (13.2%), diarrhoea (12.9%) and decreased appetite (10.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Stivarga was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

89.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 19.8% of reports include death and 33.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (31.6%), physician (29.6%) and other health professional (27.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Stivarga rising?

267 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 50% from 530 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Stivarga was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Stivarga?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Stivarga as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (281) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.