Reported Reactions

Drugs › Erythropoiesis-stimulating agent

Brand name · Erythropoietin

Procrit: adverse event reports filed with FDA

8,224 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Erythropoiesis-stimulating agent. Also reported as Procrit /00909301/, Procrit /00928302/.

8,224
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 366 a year
66
reports, 12 months to June 2026
91 in the 12 months before
57%
marked serious by the reporter
78.3% across the class
23.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,961 reports · not verified by FDA

8,224 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Procrit (erythropoietin) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 7,696 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 66 reports listed it, down 27% from 91 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 366 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 12.4% of the reports for the erythropoiesis-stimulating agent class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded death (20%), haemoglobin decreased (7.7%) and fatigue (5.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 746 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 20% of these reports, a larger share than in the median erythropoiesis-stimulating agent drug (8.5%).

57% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (78.3% across the class); 23.8% record death among the outcomes and 20% record hospitalisation, as reported. 34.9% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (18.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02040Jul 2021: 9Aug 2021: 13Sep 2021: 11Oct 2021: 8Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 102022Jan 2022: 6Feb 2022: 15Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 12Jun 2022: 9Jul 2022: 10Aug 2022: 10Sep 2022: 12Oct 2022: 11Nov 2022: 9Dec 2022: 222023Jan 2023: 11Feb 2023: 9Mar 2023: 9Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 16Jun 2023: 19Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 21Dec 2023: 222024Jan 2024: 21Feb 2024: 40Mar 2024: 28Apr 2024: 17May 2024: 19Jun 2024: 8Jul 2024: 9Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 11Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 82025Jan 2025: 5Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 7Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 9Jun 2025: 8Jul 2025: 6Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 4Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 7Dec 2025: 62026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 10Apr 2026: 3May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 5

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

05071,0132004: 12020042005: 2362006: 7142007: 55820072008: 4492009: 3882010: 42720102011: 2032012: 3662013: 1,01320132014: 3372015: 4392016: 55720162017: 6072018: 5832019: 31420192020: 2042021: 1372022: 13320222023: 1492024: 1842025: 8020252026: 26

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Procrit reports recording the termmedian drug in erythropoiesis-stimulating agent

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20%1,641
  2. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin7.7%634
  3. Fatiguetiredness5.4%443
  4. Anaemialow red blood cells4.6%378
  5. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.2%345
  6. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.9%321
  7. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital3.5%285
  8. Therapeutic response decreasedthe medicine worked less well3.3%273
  9. Aplasia pure red cell3.2%261
  10. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.9%240
  11. Drug dose omissiona dose was missed2.9%238
  12. Nauseafeeling sick2.7%219
  13. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.5%204
  14. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.3%193
  15. Headachehead pain2.2%178
  16. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.1%176
  17. Injection site painpain where the injection was given2.1%176
  18. Product storage errorthe product was stored wrongly2.1%170
  19. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands1.9%153
  20. Rashskin rash1.9%153
  21. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.8%150
  22. Incorrect product storagethe product was stored wrongly1.7%140
  23. Painpain, site not specified1.7%137
  24. Pneumonialung infection1.7%137
  25. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg1.7%136
  26. Arthralgiajoint pain1.6%132
  27. Weight decreasedweight loss1.6%130
  28. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.5%126
  29. Pruritusitching1.5%125

Top 30 of 746 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 9 drugs in the erythropoiesis-stimulating agent class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death23.8%1,961
Life-threatening1.1%87
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)20%1,644
Disability0.5%42
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious26.1%2,143
Not serious43%3,533

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 66,386 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%14
2 to 110.3%26
12 to 170.3%25
18 to 442.6%212
45 to 6412.9%1,057
65 to 749.3%764
75 and over18.6%1,527
Age not given55.9%4,599

Patient sex

Female45.4%3,736
Male35.5%2,917
Not given19.1%1,571

Who reported

Physician24.2%1,989
Pharmacist12.9%1,057
Other health professional24.3%2,000
Lawyer0.2%13
Consumer or non-health professional34.9%2,867
Not given3.6%298

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 96.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Anaemia1,68020.4%
Renal failure chronic82710.1%
Anaemia of malignant disease4966%
Myelodysplastic syndrome3314%
Nephrogenic anaemia2893.5%
Chronic kidney disease1882.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 8,224 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Procrit reports
Aspirin3764.6%
Aranesp3183.9%
Lasix2773.4%
Ribavirin2723.3%
Iron2603.2%
Furosemide2513.1%
Prednisone2222.7%
Folic acid2092.5%
Lisinopril1982.4%
Allopurinol1892.3%

Other products listed in reports where Procrit is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureProcritErythropoiesis-stimulating agentAll reports
Reports as suspect product8,22466,38620,646,523
Share of that pool—12.4%0%
Reports, latest 12 months66—1,332,454
Marked serious57%78.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports23834091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports200342213
Consumer-filed share34.9%22.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 20%median 8.5%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the erythropoiesis-stimulating agent class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Aranespbrand37,27782688.2%
Mircerabrand8,86528165.8%
Epogenbrand4,3172741.8%
Darbepoetin alfageneric3,77029993.6%
Retacritbrand1,42910661%
Epoetin alfageneric9454391.5%
Methoxy polyethylene glycol-epoetin betageneric911199.7%
Erythropoietingeneric6486497.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Procrit reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Procrit?

8,224 reports list Procrit as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 66 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 7,696 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Procrit reports?

death (20%), haemoglobin decreased (7.7%), fatigue (5.4%), anaemia (4.6%) and drug ineffective (4.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Procrit was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

57% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 23.8% of reports include death and 20% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (34.9%), other health professional (24.3%) and physician (24.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Procrit rising?

66 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 27% from 91 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Procrit was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Procrit?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Procrit as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (7,696) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.