Reported Reactions

Drugs › Azole antifungal

Generic name

Posaconazole: adverse event reports filed with FDA

4,234 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Azole antifungal. Also reported as Posaconazole Delayed Release.

4,234
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 192 a year
589
reports, 12 months to June 2026
589 in the 12 months before
91.7%
marked serious by the reporter
79% across the class
23.9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,011 reports · not verified by FDA

Between June 2004 and June 2026, 4,234 adverse event reports received by FDA list posaconazole, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (6,711) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 589 reports listed it, close to the 589 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 192 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 6.1% of the reports for the azole antifungal class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug ineffective (18.4%), drug interaction (17.4%) and product use in unapproved indication (8.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 917 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 18.4% of these reports, about the same share as in the median azole antifungal drug (15%).

91.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (79% across the class); 23.9% record death among the outcomes and 38.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 50.4% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (30%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04590Jul 2021: 50Aug 2021: 26Sep 2021: 25Oct 2021: 40Nov 2021: 40Dec 2021: 462022Jan 2022: 22Feb 2022: 21Mar 2022: 27Apr 2022: 36May 2022: 46Jun 2022: 46Jul 2022: 22Aug 2022: 40Sep 2022: 18Oct 2022: 21Nov 2022: 27Dec 2022: 282023Jan 2023: 27Feb 2023: 57Mar 2023: 58Apr 2023: 41May 2023: 53Jun 2023: 32Jul 2023: 90Aug 2023: 65Sep 2023: 53Oct 2023: 32Nov 2023: 28Dec 2023: 442024Jan 2024: 67Feb 2024: 46Mar 2024: 50Apr 2024: 44May 2024: 57Jun 2024: 40Jul 2024: 48Aug 2024: 62Sep 2024: 75Oct 2024: 56Nov 2024: 29Dec 2024: 272025Jan 2025: 16Feb 2025: 47Mar 2025: 45Apr 2025: 83May 2025: 35Jun 2025: 66Jul 2025: 58Aug 2025: 58Sep 2025: 33Oct 2025: 34Nov 2025: 28Dec 2025: 712026Jan 2026: 50Feb 2026: 37Mar 2026: 61Apr 2026: 53May 2026: 51Jun 2026: 55

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03016012004: 320042005: 182006: 282007: 3120072008: 152009: 402010: 2720102011: 472012: 732013: 3720132014: 672015: 592016: 10320162017: 1812018: 2412019: 19620192020: 2792021: 3732022: 35420222023: 5802024: 6012025: 57420252026: 307

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Posaconazole reports recording the termmedian drug in azole antifungal

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected18.4%779
  2. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines17.4%735
  3. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label8.2%348
  4. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label8.1%344
  5. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell4.7%200
  6. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse4.7%198
  7. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.4%188
  8. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells3.9%166
  9. Septic shockshock arising from infection3.7%156
  10. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function3.6%154
  11. Pyrexiafever3.3%138
  12. Electrocardiogram QT prolongeda QT prolongation on the ECG2.9%123
  13. Hypokalaemialow blood potassium2.9%121
  14. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2.5%105
  15. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances2.4%100
  16. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.3%99
  17. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.3%98
  18. Mucormycosis2.3%98
  19. Fungal infectiona fungal infection2.2%94
  20. Pneumonialung infection2.1%91
  21. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.1%90
  22. Thrombocytopenialow platelets2.1%87
  23. Nauseafeeling sick2%86
  24. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used1.9%82
  25. Infectionan infection, type not specified1.9%80

Top 30 of 917 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 16 drugs in the azole antifungal class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death23.9%1,011
Life-threatening9%381
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)38.5%1,631
Disability1.6%68
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious65.4%2,767
Not serious8.3%353

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 69,035 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.9%36
2 to 116.1%260
12 to 173.4%143
18 to 4420.6%874
45 to 6430%1,269
65 to 7415.5%658
75 and over7.5%317
Age not given16%677

Patient sex

Female35%1,480
Male52%2,203
Not given13%551

Who reported

Physician33.3%1,408
Pharmacist8%337
Other health professional50.4%2,133
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional6.9%291
Not given1.5%65

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 33.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Antifungal prophylaxis74717.6%
Prophylaxis3618.5%
Fungal infection2175.1%
Mucormycosis1944.6%
Aspergillus infection1623.8%
Bronchopulmonary aspergillosis1493.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 4,234 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Posaconazole reports
Amphotericin b81919.3%
Voriconazole80319%
Tacrolimus57813.7%
Cytarabine44910.6%
Prednisone4109.7%
Acyclovir4039.5%
Venetoclax3187.5%
Mycophenolate mofetil3157.4%
Meropenem2776.5%
Cyclosporine2556%

Other products listed in reports where Posaconazole is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasurePosaconazoleAzole antifungalAll reports
Reports as suspect product4,23469,03520,646,523
Share of that pool—6.1%0%
Reports, latest 12 months589—1,332,454
Marked serious91.7%79%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports23917791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports385317213
Consumer-filed share6.9%23.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 18.4%median 15%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the azole antifungal class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Fluconazolegeneric17,1751,45890.7%
Voriconazolegeneric13,49595694.7%
Vfendbrand6,7527686.5%
Itraconazolegeneric4,55236490.4%
Ketoconazolegeneric4,04723441.7%
Noxafilbrand3,2303966.7%
Diflucanbrand3,1476569.8%
Clotrimazolegeneric2,75729880.4%
Cresembabrand2,05025457.5%
Sporanoxbrand1,7284387.6%
Tioconazolegeneric1,4691973.1%
Jubliabrand1,2717918%
Miconazole nitrategeneric1,26016622.5%
Nizoralbrand1,21834829.5%
Miconazolegeneric6503072.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Posaconazole reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Posaconazole?

4,234 reports list Posaconazole as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 589 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 6,711 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Posaconazole reports?

drug ineffective (18.4%), drug interaction (17.4%), product use in unapproved indication (8.2%), off label use (8.1%) and neutropenia (4.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Posaconazole was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

91.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 23.9% of reports include death and 38.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (50.4%), physician (33.3%) and pharmacist (8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Posaconazole rising?

589 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 589 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Posaconazole was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Posaconazole?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Posaconazole as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (6,711) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.