Reported Reactions

Drug classes

Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 16 drug pages

Azole antifungal: adverse event reports filed with FDA

69,035 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

69,035
reports across the class
0.3% of all reports
5,196
reports, 12 months to June 2026
5,249 in the 12 months before
79%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
16
drugs with a page
brand and generic names counted separately

Azole antifungal is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 16 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 69,035 adverse event reports received by FDA, 0.3% of the database, from January 2004 to June 2026.

5,196 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 5,249 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 79% of the class's reports are marked serious, 17.7% record death among the outcomes and 31.7% record hospitalisation, as reported.

Across the class the reactions recorded most often are drug ineffective (16%), drug interaction (11.1%) and off label use (8.5%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.

The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Drugs in the class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked seriousTop term recorded
Fluconazolegeneric17,1751,45890.7%Drug ineffective
Voriconazolegeneric13,49595694.7%Drug ineffective
VfendVoriconazolebrand6,7527686.5%Death
Itraconazolegeneric4,55236490.4%Drug interaction
Posaconazolegeneric4,23458991.7%Drug ineffective
Ketoconazolegeneric4,04723441.7%Drug ineffective
NoxafilPosaconazolebrand3,2303966.7%Product use in unapproved indication
DiflucanFluconazolebrand3,1476569.8%Drug hypersensitivity
Clotrimazolegeneric2,75729880.4%Drug ineffective
CresembaIsavuconazonium sulfate (kyo)brand2,05025457.5%Off label use
SporanoxItraconazolebrand1,7284387.6%Drug interaction
Tioconazolegeneric1,4691973.1%Vulvovaginal burning sensation
JubliaEfinaconazolebrand1,2717918%Drug ineffective
Miconazole nitrategeneric1,26016622.5%Vulvovaginal burning sensation
NizoralKetoconazolebrand1,21834829.5%Drug ineffective
Miconazolegeneric6503072.3%Drug interaction

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Reports by month, five years

0345689Jul 2021: 407Aug 2021: 402Sep 2021: 389Oct 2021: 429Nov 2021: 395Dec 2021: 5882022Jan 2022: 375Feb 2022: 394Mar 2022: 495Apr 2022: 425May 2022: 476Jun 2022: 443Jul 2022: 303Aug 2022: 339Sep 2022: 384Oct 2022: 322Nov 2022: 354Dec 2022: 5552023Jan 2023: 378Feb 2023: 429Mar 2023: 458Apr 2023: 376May 2023: 557Jun 2023: 521Jul 2023: 507Aug 2023: 537Sep 2023: 462Oct 2023: 448Nov 2023: 431Dec 2023: 5192024Jan 2024: 397Feb 2024: 378Mar 2024: 498Apr 2024: 459May 2024: 530Jun 2024: 511Jul 2024: 493Aug 2024: 441Sep 2024: 388Oct 2024: 582Nov 2024: 335Dec 2024: 5322025Jan 2025: 387Feb 2025: 373Mar 2025: 373Apr 2025: 426May 2025: 417Jun 2025: 502Jul 2025: 479Aug 2025: 391Sep 2025: 370Oct 2025: 392Nov 2025: 316Dec 2025: 6892026Jan 2026: 514Feb 2026: 346Mar 2026: 416Apr 2026: 379May 2026: 414Jun 2026: 490

FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

Reactions recorded across the class

share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected16%11,076
  2. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines11.1%7,642
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label8.5%5,863
  4. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse4.2%2,904
  5. Pyrexiafever3.8%2,647
  6. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label3.4%2,374
  7. Nauseafeeling sick3.2%2,179
  8. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.1%2,109
  9. Headachehead pain3%2,048
  10. Rashskin rash2.6%1,825
  11. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.5%1,705
  12. Painpain, site not specified2.2%1,543
  13. Erythemaskin redness2.1%1,455
  14. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2%1,395
  15. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used2%1,352
  16. Fatiguetiredness1.9%1,329
  17. Pneumonialung infection1.9%1,307
  18. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.9%1,281
  19. Anaemialow red blood cells1.8%1,275
  20. Pruritusitching1.8%1,264
  21. Drug level increaseda raised blood level of the medicine1.8%1,263
  22. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine1.8%1,259
  23. Vomitingbeing sick1.7%1,188
  24. Electrocardiogram QT prolongeda QT prolongation on the ECG1.7%1,147

Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 16 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.

Outcomes, patients and reporters

Outcomes recorded

Death17.7%12,206
Life-threatening7.7%5,297
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31.7%21,885
Disability1.9%1,301
Congenital anomaly0.6%412
Other serious54.4%37,578
Not serious21%14,498

Patient age

Under 21.1%761
2 to 113.2%2,191
12 to 172.5%1,708
18 to 4416.4%11,334
45 to 6422.6%15,571
65 to 7414.5%10,010
75 and over9.4%6,490
Age not given30.4%20,970

Who reported

Physician27.9%19,289
Pharmacist7.3%5,034
Other health professional38%26,250
Lawyer0.1%53
Consumer or non-health professional23.9%16,484
Not given2.8%1,925

Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.

Questions about Azole antifungal reports

Which drugs are in the Azole antifungal class on this site?

Fluconazole, Voriconazole, Vfend, Itraconazole, Posaconazole and Ketoconazole and 10 more. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.

How many reports does the class have?

69,035 reports through June 2026, 5,196 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.

What reactions are recorded most often?

drug ineffective (16%), drug interaction (11.1%), off label use (8.5%), condition aggravated (4.2%) and pyrexia (3.8%).

Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?

No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.

How do I report an adverse event?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.