Reported Reactions

Drugs › Thalidomide analog

Generic name

Pomalidomide: adverse event reports filed with FDA

12,185 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2009–2026. Class: Thalidomide analog.

12,185
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 735 a year
1,678
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,111 in the 12 months before
93.5%
marked serious by the reporter
63.4% across the class
22.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,749 reports · not verified by FDA

Between December 2009 and June 2026, 12,185 adverse event reports received by FDA list pomalidomide, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,586) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,678 reports listed it, up 51% from 1,111 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 735 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 2.4% of the reports for the thalidomide analog class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded plasma cell myeloma (16.6%), neutropenia (11.7%) and pneumonia (8.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,171 different terms appear across these reports. Plasma cell myeloma is recorded in 16.6% of these reports, a larger share than in the median thalidomide analog drug (5.6%).

93.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (63.4% across the class); 22.6% record death among the outcomes and 41.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 43.1% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 65 to 74 (27%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0135269Jul 2021: 85Aug 2021: 95Sep 2021: 148Oct 2021: 122Nov 2021: 110Dec 2021: 1192022Jan 2022: 124Feb 2022: 104Mar 2022: 114Apr 2022: 121May 2022: 166Jun 2022: 136Jul 2022: 107Aug 2022: 132Sep 2022: 191Oct 2022: 121Nov 2022: 158Dec 2022: 1872023Jan 2023: 128Feb 2023: 159Mar 2023: 121Apr 2023: 89May 2023: 105Jun 2023: 126Jul 2023: 158Aug 2023: 174Sep 2023: 107Oct 2023: 106Nov 2023: 117Dec 2023: 1042024Jan 2024: 107Feb 2024: 78Mar 2024: 87Apr 2024: 80May 2024: 57Jun 2024: 75Jul 2024: 169Aug 2024: 104Sep 2024: 68Oct 2024: 99Nov 2024: 121Dec 2024: 1072025Jan 2025: 86Feb 2025: 57Mar 2025: 49Apr 2025: 84May 2025: 97Jun 2025: 70Jul 2025: 108Aug 2025: 88Sep 2025: 121Oct 2025: 120Nov 2025: 111Dec 2025: 1232026Jan 2026: 85Feb 2026: 89Mar 2026: 139Apr 2026: 209May 2026: 216Jun 2026: 269

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

08311,6612009: 620092012: 32013: 4420132014: 1162015: 40120152016: 5802017: 73120172018: 1,0122019: 86320192020: 8582021: 1,14320212022: 1,6612023: 1,49420232024: 1,1522025: 1,11420252026: 1,007

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Pomalidomide reports recording the termmedian drug in thalidomide analog

  1. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell11.7%1,422
  2. Pneumonialung infection8.5%1,032
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label7.1%871
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6.2%756
  5. Thrombocytopenialow platelets6.2%754
  6. Anaemialow red blood cells5.7%698
  7. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected4.4%539
  8. Disease progressionthe disease advanced3.6%436
  9. Fatiguetiredness3.5%424
  10. Pyrexiafever3.4%420
  11. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.2%394
  12. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells3.1%382
  13. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.6%321
  14. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.6%317
  15. Leukopenialow white blood cells2.6%312
  16. Plasma cell myeloma refractory2.4%297
  17. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection2.4%287
  18. Infectionan infection, type not specified2.3%275
  19. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.2%273
  20. Nauseafeeling sick2%247
  21. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet2%244
  22. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended1.8%216
  23. Lower respiratory tract infectiona chest infection1.7%212
  24. Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm1.6%197
  25. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health1.6%195
  26. Rashskin rash1.6%190
  27. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.5%186
  28. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells1.5%183

Top 30 of 1,171 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 4 drugs in the thalidomide analog class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death22.6%2,749
Life-threatening7.9%963
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)41.2%5,017
Disability1%126
Congenital anomaly0%4
Other serious61.4%7,485
Not serious6.5%790

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 516,063 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%4
18 to 441.5%178
45 to 6425.5%3,109
65 to 7427%3,294
75 and over21%2,554
Age not given25%3,045

Patient sex

Female36.2%4,408
Male48.1%5,867
Not given15.7%1,910

Who reported

Physician43.1%5,254
Pharmacist5.4%654
Other health professional42.6%5,193
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional8.5%1,034
Not given0.4%49

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 22.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Plasma cell myeloma8,31768.3%
Plasma cell myeloma refractory1,1489.4%
Plasma cell myeloma recurrent950.8%
Primary amyloidosis500.4%
Chemotherapy430.4%
Amyloidosis260.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 12,185 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Pomalidomide reports
Dexamethasone8,77072%
Carfilzomib1,89615.6%
Daratumumab1,88615.5%
Lenalidomide1,77714.6%
Bortezomib1,76014.4%
Cyclophosphamide1,68613.8%
Isatuximab1,37911.3%
Darzalex1,1589.5%
Acyclovir9347.7%
Velcade9197.5%

Other products listed in reports where Pomalidomide is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasurePomalidomideThalidomide analogAll reports
Reports as suspect product12,185516,06320,646,523
Share of that pool—2.4%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1,678—1,332,454
Marked serious93.5%63.4%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports22612791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports412261213
Consumer-filed share8.5%18.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPlasma cell myeloma 16.6%median 5.6%0.2%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the thalidomide analog class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Revlimidbrand354,6498,11262.3%
Pomalystbrand87,4565,83856.5%
Lenalidomidegeneric61,77313,05274.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Pomalidomide reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Pomalidomide?

12,185 reports list Pomalidomide as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,678 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,586 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Pomalidomide reports?

plasma cell myeloma (16.6%), neutropenia (11.7%), pneumonia (8.5%), off label use (7.1%) and death (6.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Pomalidomide was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

93.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 22.6% of reports include death and 41.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (43.1%), other health professional (42.6%) and consumer or non-health professional (8.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Pomalidomide rising?

1,678 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 51% from 1,111 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Pomalidomide was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Pomalidomide?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Pomalidomide as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,586) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.