Reported Reactions

Drugs › Proteasome inhibitor

Generic name

Carfilzomib: adverse event reports filed with FDA

11,693 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2026. Class: Proteasome inhibitor.

11,693
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 755 a year
934
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,454 in the 12 months before
96.8%
marked serious by the reporter
86% across the class
18.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,186 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2011 and June 2026, 11,693 adverse event reports received by FDA list carfilzomib, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,765) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 934 reports listed it, down 36% from 1,454 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 755 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 10.6% of the reports for the proteasome inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are plasma cell myeloma (13.8%), thrombocytopenia (8.8%) and off label use (7.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,168 different terms appear across these reports. Plasma cell myeloma is recorded in 13.8% of these reports, about the same share as in the median proteasome inhibitor drug (12.1%).

96.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (86% across the class); 18.7% record death among the outcomes and 46.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 49.6% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (34.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0117233Jul 2021: 73Aug 2021: 100Sep 2021: 118Oct 2021: 113Nov 2021: 106Dec 2021: 1332022Jan 2022: 134Feb 2022: 109Mar 2022: 131Apr 2022: 100May 2022: 120Jun 2022: 90Jul 2022: 101Aug 2022: 95Sep 2022: 125Oct 2022: 97Nov 2022: 102Dec 2022: 1682023Jan 2023: 139Feb 2023: 163Mar 2023: 114Apr 2023: 116May 2023: 143Jun 2023: 130Jul 2023: 135Aug 2023: 191Sep 2023: 123Oct 2023: 144Nov 2023: 123Dec 2023: 1082024Jan 2024: 110Feb 2024: 67Mar 2024: 132Apr 2024: 70May 2024: 67Jun 2024: 73Jul 2024: 171Aug 2024: 123Sep 2024: 113Oct 2024: 100Nov 2024: 95Dec 2024: 1562025Jan 2025: 126Feb 2025: 77Mar 2025: 88Apr 2025: 233May 2025: 92Jun 2025: 80Jul 2025: 123Aug 2025: 101Sep 2025: 116Oct 2025: 74Nov 2025: 45Dec 2025: 752026Jan 2026: 56Feb 2026: 85Mar 2026: 55Apr 2026: 72May 2026: 53Jun 2026: 79

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

08151,6292011: 1520112012: 672013: 15720132014: 3232015: 54220152016: 5942017: 70720172018: 7672019: 67120192020: 7902021: 1,15220212022: 1,3722023: 1,62920232024: 1,2772025: 1,23020252026: 400

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Carfilzomib reports recording the termmedian drug in proteasome inhibitor

  1. Thrombocytopenialow platelets8.8%1,024
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label7.8%907
  3. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6.2%724
  4. Pneumonialung infection6.2%722
  5. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell6.1%709
  6. Anaemialow red blood cells6%701
  7. Pyrexiafever4.9%575
  8. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function4.9%568
  9. Infectionan infection, type not specified3.9%457
  10. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.9%454
  11. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.8%446
  12. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.4%395
  13. Plasma cell myeloma refractory3.3%388
  14. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection3.3%387
  15. Nauseafeeling sick3.2%377
  16. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure3.1%364
  17. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.9%344
  18. Fatiguetiredness2.9%339
  19. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.8%329
  20. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells2.6%301
  21. Cardiac failureheart failure2.5%293
  22. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet2.3%269
  23. Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung2.1%247
  24. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2.1%241
  25. Therapy non-responderthe treatment did not work2%236
  26. Vomitingbeing sick2%230
  27. Leukopenialow white blood cells1.9%223

Top 30 of 1,168 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the proteasome inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death18.7%2,186
Life-threatening10.8%1,261
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)46.6%5,452
Disability1.4%165
Congenital anomaly0.1%7
Other serious66.2%7,735
Not serious3.2%379

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 109,894 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110.4%52
12 to 170.3%34
18 to 443%350
45 to 6434.1%3,990
65 to 7425.3%2,964
75 and over9.7%1,136
Age not given27.1%3,167

Patient sex

Female34.3%4,005
Male43.8%5,125
Not given21.9%2,563

Who reported

Physician49.6%5,794
Pharmacist2.4%278
Other health professional45.5%5,316
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional2.2%258
Not given0.4%47

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 30.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Plasma cell myeloma8,05368.9%
Plasma cell myeloma refractory1,1369.7%
Plasma cell leukaemia1341.1%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia740.6%
Minimal residual disease370.3%
Multiple myeloma330.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 11,693 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Carfilzomib reports
Dexamethasone8,71474.5%
Lenalidomide4,43037.9%
Cyclophosphamide2,23019.1%
Pomalidomide2,06217.6%
Daratumumab1,90816.3%
Isatuximab1,76615.1%
Bortezomib1,60013.7%
Revlimid1,36011.6%
Melphalan1,0388.9%
Acyclovir9398%

Other products listed in reports where Carfilzomib is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureCarfilzomibProteasome inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product11,693109,89420,646,523
Share of that pool—10.6%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months934—1,332,454
Marked serious96.8%86%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports18718191
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports466336213
Consumer-filed share2.2%15.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPlasma cell myeloma 13.8%median 12.1%0.2%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the proteasome inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Velcadebrand37,3641,23985.6%
Bortezomibgeneric26,9083,00197.9%
Kyprolisbrand11,56539361.2%
Ixazomibgeneric11,36544997.1%
Ninlarobrand10,99916161.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Carfilzomib reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Carfilzomib?

11,693 reports list Carfilzomib as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 934 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,765 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Carfilzomib reports?

plasma cell myeloma (13.8%), thrombocytopenia (8.8%), off label use (7.8%), death (6.2%) and pneumonia (6.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Carfilzomib was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

96.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 18.7% of reports include death and 46.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (49.6%), other health professional (45.5%) and pharmacist (2.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Carfilzomib rising?

934 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 36% from 1,454 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Carfilzomib was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Carfilzomib?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Carfilzomib as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,765) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.