Reported Reactions

Drugs › CD38-directed cytolytic antibody

Generic name

Daratumumab: adverse event reports filed with FDA

13,511 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2014–2026. Class: CD38-directed cytolytic antibody.

13,511
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 1,167 a year
1,475
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,903 in the 12 months before
97%
marked serious by the reporter
89.1% across the class
15.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,078 reports · not verified by FDA

13,511 adverse event reports received by FDA list daratumumab, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from December 2014 to June 2026. A further 3,352 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,475 reports listed it, down 22% from 1,903 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,167 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 36.3% of the reports for the CD38-directed cytolytic antibody class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are plasma cell myeloma (9.9%), off label use (9.3%) and pneumonia (7.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,389 different terms appear across these reports. Plasma cell myeloma is recorded in 9.9% of these reports, a larger share than in the median CD38-directed cytolytic antibody drug (6.6%).

97% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (89.1% across the class); 15.4% record death among the outcomes and 47.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 56.9% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 65 to 74 (28.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0127254Jul 2021: 98Aug 2021: 103Sep 2021: 103Oct 2021: 81Nov 2021: 150Dec 2021: 1722022Jan 2022: 137Feb 2022: 127Mar 2022: 226Apr 2022: 115May 2022: 186Jun 2022: 156Jul 2022: 141Aug 2022: 143Sep 2022: 169Oct 2022: 122Nov 2022: 146Dec 2022: 2392023Jan 2023: 207Feb 2023: 193Mar 2023: 222Apr 2023: 142May 2023: 193Jun 2023: 181Jul 2023: 146Aug 2023: 201Sep 2023: 200Oct 2023: 227Nov 2023: 243Dec 2023: 1782024Jan 2024: 176Feb 2024: 172Mar 2024: 180Apr 2024: 139May 2024: 154Jun 2024: 181Jul 2024: 254Aug 2024: 197Sep 2024: 156Oct 2024: 195Nov 2024: 158Dec 2024: 1392025Jan 2025: 110Feb 2025: 120Mar 2025: 144Apr 2025: 155May 2025: 145Jun 2025: 130Jul 2025: 40Aug 2025: 32Sep 2025: 30Oct 2025: 79Nov 2025: 163Dec 2025: 2342026Jan 2026: 124Feb 2026: 154Mar 2026: 181Apr 2026: 143May 2026: 119Jun 2026: 176

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,1672,3332014: 220142015: 582016: 46920162017: 5002018: 76120182019: 9142020: 95320202021: 1,2342022: 1,90720222023: 2,3332024: 2,10120242025: 1,3822026: 8972026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Daratumumab reports recording the termmedian drug in cd38-directed cytolytic antibody

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label9.3%1,256
  2. Pneumonialung infection7.1%955
  3. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell6.9%927
  4. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.4%725
  5. Thrombocytopenialow platelets4.7%635
  6. Pyrexiafever4%542
  7. Anaemialow red blood cells3.9%521
  8. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.8%507
  9. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion3.7%495
  10. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells3.5%479
  11. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet3.5%475
  12. Fatiguetiredness3.3%443
  13. Infectionan infection, type not specified3.1%419
  14. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.9%396
  15. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.9%395
  16. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.7%370
  17. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.6%352
  18. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection2.6%352
  19. Plasma cell myeloma refractory2.6%351
  20. Nauseafeeling sick2.6%349
  21. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.2%301
  22. Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm1.9%254
  23. Cardiac failureheart failure1.7%233
  24. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells1.7%224
  25. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label1.6%221
  26. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.6%217
  27. Rashskin rash1.6%215

Top 30 of 1,389 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 5 drugs in the cd38-directed cytolytic antibody class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death15.4%2,078
Life-threatening9.2%1,244
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)47.5%6,416
Disability1.2%164
Congenital anomaly0%4
Other serious61.6%8,323
Not serious3%410

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 37,241 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%14
2 to 110.8%106
12 to 170.5%65
18 to 443.9%526
45 to 6425%3,376
65 to 7428.2%3,812
75 and over20.1%2,715
Age not given21.4%2,897

Patient sex

Female35.5%4,794
Male48.9%6,602
Not given15.7%2,115

Who reported

Physician56.9%7,689
Pharmacist4.2%562
Other health professional31.6%4,265
Lawyer0%6
Consumer or non-health professional6.1%823
Not given1.2%166

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 24.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Plasma cell myeloma9,46370%
Plasma cell myeloma refractory5333.9%
Primary amyloidosis3532.6%
Amyloidosis1501.1%
Plasma cell leukaemia750.6%
Nephrotic syndrome560.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 13,511 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Daratumumab reports
Dexamethasone9,00466.6%
Lenalidomide4,53233.5%
Bortezomib4,02729.8%
Cyclophosphamide2,25416.7%
Velcade1,90814.1%
Pomalidomide1,83913.6%
Carfilzomib1,75013%
Revlimid1,58311.7%
Acyclovir1,2048.9%
Melphalan1,0597.8%

Other products listed in reports where Daratumumab is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureDaratumumabCD38-directed cytolytic antibodyAll reports
Reports as suspect product13,51137,24120,646,523
Share of that pool—36.3%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1,475—1,332,454
Marked serious97%89.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports15413291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports475378213
Consumer-filed share6.1%9.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPlasma cell myeloma 9.9%median 6.6%0.2%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the cd38-directed cytolytic antibody class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Darzalexbrand16,6061,62387.1%
Isatuximabgeneric4,31154597.8%
Darzalex Fasprobrand2,07636542.8%
Sarclisabrand73714469.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Daratumumab reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Daratumumab?

13,511 reports list Daratumumab as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,475 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 3,352 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Daratumumab reports?

plasma cell myeloma (9.9%), off label use (9.3%), pneumonia (7.1%), neutropenia (6.9%) and drug ineffective (5.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Daratumumab was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

97% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 15.4% of reports include death and 47.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (56.9%), other health professional (31.6%) and consumer or non-health professional (6.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Daratumumab rising?

1,475 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 22% from 1,903 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Daratumumab was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Daratumumab?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Daratumumab as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (3,352) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.