Reported Reactions

Drugs › Benzodiazepine

Generic name

Oxazepam: adverse event reports filed with FDA

10,709 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Benzodiazepine. Also reported as Oxazepam Capsule, Oxazepam Capsules Usp, Oxazepam Tablet 10mg.

10,709
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 476 a year
1,200
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,279 in the 12 months before
99.1%
marked serious by the reporter
88.1% across the class
30.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
3,246 reports · not verified by FDA

10,709 adverse event reports received by FDA list oxazepam, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 10,731 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,200 reports listed it, close to the 1,279 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 476 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 4.4% of the reports for the benzodiazepine class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are toxicity to various agents (24.1%), drug abuse (13.4%) and fall (10.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,159 different terms appear across these reports. Toxicity to various agents is recorded in 24.1% of these reports, a larger share than in the median benzodiazepine drug (6.2%).

99.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (88.1% across the class); 30.3% record death among the outcomes and 43.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 37% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (32.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

072143Jul 2021: 86Aug 2021: 71Sep 2021: 64Oct 2021: 111Nov 2021: 114Dec 2021: 1052022Jan 2022: 119Feb 2022: 96Mar 2022: 143Apr 2022: 104May 2022: 94Jun 2022: 100Jul 2022: 108Aug 2022: 81Sep 2022: 91Oct 2022: 109Nov 2022: 81Dec 2022: 1312023Jan 2023: 97Feb 2023: 86Mar 2023: 116Apr 2023: 98May 2023: 135Jun 2023: 103Jul 2023: 110Aug 2023: 127Sep 2023: 105Oct 2023: 112Nov 2023: 81Dec 2023: 1262024Jan 2024: 107Feb 2024: 90Mar 2024: 120Apr 2024: 97May 2024: 110Jun 2024: 103Jul 2024: 123Aug 2024: 122Sep 2024: 111Oct 2024: 108Nov 2024: 117Dec 2024: 1362025Jan 2025: 91Feb 2025: 99Mar 2025: 80Apr 2025: 122May 2025: 90Jun 2025: 80Jul 2025: 107Aug 2025: 100Sep 2025: 63Oct 2025: 96Nov 2025: 75Dec 2025: 1242026Jan 2026: 95Feb 2026: 102Mar 2026: 110Apr 2026: 124May 2026: 92Jun 2026: 112

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

06721,3442004: 8620042005: 712006: 492007: 5220072008: 862009: 732010: 7120102011: 1662012: 1682013: 9920132014: 1412015: 1392016: 28520162017: 2302018: 5912019: 75020192020: 9322021: 1,0612022: 1,25720222023: 1,2962024: 1,3442025: 1,12720252026: 635

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Oxazepam reports recording the termmedian drug in benzodiazepine

  1. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances24.1%2,584
  2. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine13.4%1,440
  3. Falla fall10.6%1,136
  4. Hypotensionlow blood pressure10.4%1,109
  5. Coma9.3%993
  6. Cognitive disorderproblems with thinking or memory7.1%765
  7. Somnolencedrowsiness6.9%742
  8. Sedationdrowsiness from a medicine6.7%720
  9. Balance disorderproblems with balance6.1%657
  10. Constipationconstipation6.1%654
  11. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines6%641
  12. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount5.8%618
  13. Painpain, site not specified5.4%583
  14. Intentional overdosea deliberate overdose5.3%571
  15. Mobility decreasedreduced ability to move about5.3%563
  16. Sedation complication5%538
  17. Creatinine renal clearance decreased4.9%530
  18. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.8%519
  19. Confusional stateconfusion4%425
  20. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine3.9%422
  21. Suicide attempta suicide attempt3.8%412
  22. Aggressionaggressive behaviour3.3%349
  23. Poisoning3.2%345
  24. Completed suicidedeath by suicide2.9%311
  25. Asphyxia2.8%302

Top 30 of 1,159 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 19 drugs in the benzodiazepine class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death30.3%3,246
Life-threatening12.7%1,364
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)43.2%4,624
Disability0.8%90
Congenital anomaly1.6%174
Other serious54.3%5,811
Not serious0.9%98

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 244,289 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.1%113
2 to 110.1%13
12 to 171.5%163
18 to 4432.5%3,485
45 to 6422.5%2,414
65 to 747%745
75 and over18.2%1,954
Age not given17%1,822

Patient sex

Female43.8%4,688
Male44.6%4,777
Not given11.6%1,244

Who reported

Physician32.2%3,448
Pharmacist19.7%2,113
Other health professional37%3,963
Lawyer0.3%28
Consumer or non-health professional8.7%936
Not given2.1%221

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 3.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Anxiety8588%
Insomnia3883.6%
Depression1751.6%
Mixed anxiety and depressive disorder1421.3%
Poisoning deliberate1231.1%
Intentional overdose1131.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 10,709 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Oxazepam reports
Diazepam2,42622.7%
Acetaminophen1,73216.2%
Temazepam1,40113.1%
Furosemide1,17911%
Zopiclone1,16510.9%
Pregabalin1,09210.2%
Morphine sulfate1,0189.5%
Nordazepam9308.7%
Cocaine9018.4%
Quetiapine8968.4%

Other products listed in reports where Oxazepam is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureOxazepamBenzodiazepineAll reports
Reports as suspect product10,709244,28920,646,523
Share of that pool—4.4%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months1,200—1,332,454
Marked serious99.1%88.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports30329791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports432346213
Consumer-filed share8.7%21.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsToxicity to various agents 24.1%median 6.2%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the benzodiazepine class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Alprazolamgeneric48,2632,27190.4%
Diazepamgeneric40,0602,76294.8%
Clonazepamgeneric37,4322,53086.7%
Lorazepamgeneric33,3072,01090%
Xanaxbrand17,44452078.2%
Midazolamgeneric11,29987292.6%
Valiumbrand9,65047784%
Clobazamgeneric8,00571289.1%
Temazepamgeneric7,42230890.7%
Klonopinbrand5,8325656.5%
Ativanbrand5,31825577.8%
Onfibrand3,5434157.5%
Midazolam hydrochloridegeneric1,73112588.6%
Triazolamgeneric1,4796684.3%
Restorilbrand1,0186679.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Oxazepam reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Oxazepam?

10,709 reports list Oxazepam as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,200 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 10,731 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Oxazepam reports?

toxicity to various agents (24.1%), drug abuse (13.4%), fall (10.6%), hypotension (10.4%) and coma (9.3%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Oxazepam was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

99.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 30.3% of reports include death and 43.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (37%), physician (32.2%) and pharmacist (19.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Oxazepam rising?

1,200 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 1,279 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Oxazepam was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Oxazepam?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Oxazepam as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (10,731) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.