Reported Reactions

Drug classes

Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 19 drug pages

Benzodiazepine: adverse event reports filed with FDA

244,289 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

244,289
reports across the class
1.2% of all reports
14,536
reports, 12 months to June 2026
16,412 in the 12 months before
88.1%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
19
drugs with a page
brand and generic names counted separately

Benzodiazepine is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 19 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 244,289 adverse event reports received by FDA, 1.2% of the database, from January 2004 to June 2026.

14,536 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, down 11% from 16,412 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 88.1% of the class's reports are marked serious, 29.7% record death among the outcomes and 34.6% record hospitalisation, as reported.

Across the class the reactions recorded most often are toxicity to various agents (12.7%), drug abuse (11.2%) and drug ineffective (9.4%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.

The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Drugs in the class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked seriousTop term recorded
Alprazolamgeneric48,2632,27190.4%Drug abuse
Diazepamgeneric40,0602,76294.8%Toxicity to various agents
Clonazepamgeneric37,4322,53086.7%Completed suicide
Lorazepamgeneric33,3072,01090%Drug ineffective
XanaxAlprazolambrand17,44452078.2%Drug abuse
Midazolamgeneric11,29987292.6%Drug ineffective
Oxazepamgeneric10,7091,20099.1%Toxicity to various agents
ValiumDiazepambrand9,65047784%Drug abuse
Clobazamgeneric8,00571289.1%Drug ineffective
Temazepamgeneric7,42230890.7%Toxicity to various agents
KlonopinClonazepambrand5,8325656.5%Drug ineffective
AtivanLorazepambrand5,31825577.8%Anxiety
OnfiClobazambrand3,5434157.5%Seizure
Midazolam hydrochloridegeneric1,73112588.6%Drug ineffective
Triazolamgeneric1,4796684.3%Drug abuse
RestorilTemazepambrand1,0186679.8%Headache
Clorazepate dipotassiumgeneric75310887.6%Intentional overdose
NayzilamMidazolambrand5179572.9%Seizure
Estazolamgeneric5076293.3%Toxicity to various agents

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Reports by month, five years

09431,886Jul 2021: 1,690Aug 2021: 1,449Sep 2021: 1,422Oct 2021: 1,300Nov 2021: 1,295Dec 2021: 1,7942022Jan 2022: 1,615Feb 2022: 1,585Mar 2022: 1,853Apr 2022: 1,351May 2022: 1,283Jun 2022: 1,434Jul 2022: 1,306Aug 2022: 1,184Sep 2022: 1,328Oct 2022: 1,288Nov 2022: 1,300Dec 2022: 1,4652023Jan 2023: 1,728Feb 2023: 1,886Mar 2023: 1,102Apr 2023: 1,432May 2023: 1,274Jun 2023: 1,570Jul 2023: 1,417Aug 2023: 1,278Sep 2023: 1,182Oct 2023: 1,303Nov 2023: 1,203Dec 2023: 1,3672024Jan 2024: 1,714Feb 2024: 1,379Mar 2024: 1,495Apr 2024: 1,527May 2024: 1,384Jun 2024: 1,150Jul 2024: 1,502Aug 2024: 1,304Sep 2024: 1,353Oct 2024: 1,494Nov 2024: 1,289Dec 2024: 1,5172025Jan 2025: 1,621Feb 2025: 1,510Mar 2025: 1,260Apr 2025: 1,251May 2025: 1,061Jun 2025: 1,250Jul 2025: 1,434Aug 2025: 1,178Sep 2025: 1,123Oct 2025: 1,100Nov 2025: 1,091Dec 2025: 1,2952026Jan 2026: 1,336Feb 2026: 1,229Mar 2026: 1,030Apr 2026: 1,380May 2026: 1,117Jun 2026: 1,223

FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

Reactions recorded across the class

share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class

  1. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances12.7%31,141
  2. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine11.2%27,280
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected9.4%22,876
  4. Completed suicidedeath by suicide8.8%21,481
  5. Somnolencedrowsiness5.6%13,704
  6. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount5.3%12,886
  7. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines5.2%12,652
  8. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.9%12,026
  9. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4%9,714
  10. Intentional overdosea deliberate overdose3.8%9,227
  11. Anxietyanxiety3.7%9,129
  12. Coma3.7%9,081
  13. Suicide attempta suicide attempt3.7%8,966
  14. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine3.5%8,521
  15. Hypotensionlow blood pressure3.2%7,796
  16. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped3.1%7,648
  17. Fatiguetiredness3%7,438
  18. Falla fall3%7,340
  19. Headachehead pain2.9%7,073
  20. Nauseafeeling sick2.8%6,912
  21. Painpain, site not specified2.8%6,910
  22. Vomitingbeing sick2.8%6,791
  23. Insomniadifficulty sleeping2.8%6,741
  24. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped2.7%6,713
  25. Depressionlow mood2.7%6,575

Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 19 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.

Outcomes, patients and reporters

Outcomes recorded

Death29.7%72,474
Life-threatening8.3%20,282
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)34.6%84,634
Disability2.1%5,034
Congenital anomaly1%2,527
Other serious48.5%118,470
Not serious11.9%29,028

Patient age

Under 21.1%2,769
2 to 112%4,825
12 to 172.6%6,255
18 to 4430.8%75,359
45 to 6424.4%59,532
65 to 747.5%18,259
75 and over6.6%16,116
Age not given25%61,174

Who reported

Physician32.4%79,216
Pharmacist11.1%27,226
Other health professional31.3%76,533
Lawyer0.5%1,155
Consumer or non-health professional21.3%52,010
Not given3.3%8,149

Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.

Questions about Benzodiazepine reports

Which drugs are in the Benzodiazepine class on this site?

Alprazolam, Diazepam, Clonazepam, Lorazepam, Xanax and Midazolam and 13 more. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.

How many reports does the class have?

244,289 reports through June 2026, 14,536 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.

What reactions are recorded most often?

toxicity to various agents (12.7%), drug abuse (11.2%), drug ineffective (9.4%), completed suicide (8.8%) and somnolence (5.6%).

Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?

No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.

How do I report an adverse event?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.