Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Lutetium lu 177 dotatate

Lutathera: adverse event reports filed with FDA

5,624 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2018–2026.

5,624
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 662 a year
671
reports, 12 months to June 2026
960 in the 12 months before
40.7%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
12.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
697 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2018 and June 2026, 5,624 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Lutathera (lutetium lu 177 dotatate) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (57) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 671 reports listed it, down 30% from 960 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 662 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded ill-defined disorder (27.4%), general physical health deterioration (21.3%) and death (7.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 534 different terms appear across these reports. Ill-defined disorder is recorded in 27.4% of these reports, against 0.3% of all reports in the database.

40.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 12.4% record death among the outcomes and 11.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 53.5% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

075149Jul 2021: 76Aug 2021: 84Sep 2021: 89Oct 2021: 98Nov 2021: 149Dec 2021: 1282022Jan 2022: 97Feb 2022: 79Mar 2022: 70Apr 2022: 77May 2022: 27Jun 2022: 61Jul 2022: 74Aug 2022: 63Sep 2022: 71Oct 2022: 55Nov 2022: 57Dec 2022: 932023Jan 2023: 75Feb 2023: 54Mar 2023: 70Apr 2023: 68May 2023: 91Jun 2023: 96Jul 2023: 81Aug 2023: 102Sep 2023: 110Oct 2023: 77Nov 2023: 84Dec 2023: 992024Jan 2024: 92Feb 2024: 81Mar 2024: 69Apr 2024: 110May 2024: 96Jun 2024: 80Jul 2024: 111Aug 2024: 92Sep 2024: 62Oct 2024: 80Nov 2024: 83Dec 2024: 752025Jan 2025: 95Feb 2025: 72Mar 2025: 67Apr 2025: 66May 2025: 71Jun 2025: 86Jul 2025: 73Aug 2025: 47Sep 2025: 55Oct 2025: 69Nov 2025: 66Dec 2025: 622026Jan 2026: 58Feb 2026: 69Mar 2026: 47Apr 2026: 45May 2026: 45Jun 2026: 35

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

06741,3482018: 3720182019: 9920192020: 15020202021: 1,34820212022: 82420222023: 1,00720232024: 1,03120242025: 82920252026: 2992026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Lutathera reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Ill-defined disordera condition that was not clearly described27.4%1,539
  2. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health21.3%1,199
  3. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term7.8%439
  4. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count4.1%229
  5. Nauseafeeling sick3.9%221
  6. Covid-19COVID-19 infection3.5%195
  7. Fatiguetiredness3.2%179
  8. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3%171
  9. Disease progressionthe disease advanced3%166
  10. Illness2.9%163
  11. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.5%139
  12. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.3%130
  13. Vomitingbeing sick2.3%128
  14. Thrombocytopenialow platelets2.2%125
  15. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.1%120
  16. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2%113
  17. Neuroendocrine tumour1.7%98
  18. Anaemialow red blood cells1.7%97
  19. Weight decreasedweight loss1.4%79
  20. Pancreatic neuroendocrine tumour1.4%76
  21. Painpain, site not specified1.3%72
  22. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.2%68
  23. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.2%66
  24. Pyrexiafever1.2%66
  25. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count1.1%60
  26. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times1%58

Top 30 of 534 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death12.4%697
Life-threatening1.4%78
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)11.9%672
Disability0.9%49
Congenital anomaly0%1
Other serious23.8%1,339
Not serious59.3%3,335

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110.1%5
12 to 170.1%3
18 to 441.2%68
45 to 647%392
65 to 745.7%318
75 and over3.5%196
Age not given82.5%4,641

Patient sex

Female15.5%873
Male16.4%923
Not given68.1%3,828

Who reported

Physician34.1%1,915
Pharmacist2.3%130
Other health professional53.5%3,007
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional10.1%570
Not given0%2

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 78.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Neuroendocrine tumour4708.4%
Gastroenteropancreatic neuroendocrine tumour disease2043.6%
Pancreatic neuroendocrine tumour1642.9%
Small intestine neuroendocrine tumour641.1%
Pancreatic neuroendocrine tumour metastatic390.7%
Neuroendocrine carcinoma320.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 5,624 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Lutathera reports
Octreotide1322.3%
Sandostatin LAR Depot891.6%
Everolimus751.3%
Lanreotide acetate741.3%
Ondansetron671.2%
Sandostatin641.1%
Dexamethasone551%
Capecitabine541%
Creon420.7%
Afinitor410.7%

Other products listed in reports where Lutathera is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureLutatheraAll reports
Reports as suspect product5,62420,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months6711,332,454
Marked serious40.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports12491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports119213
Consumer-filed share10.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsIll-defined disorder 27.4%0.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Lutathera reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Lutathera?

5,624 reports list Lutathera as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 671 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 57 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Lutathera reports?

ill-defined disorder (27.4%), general physical health deterioration (21.3%), death (7.8%), malignant neoplasm progression (6.2%) and platelet count decreased (4.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Lutathera was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

40.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 12.4% of reports include death and 11.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (53.5%), physician (34.1%) and consumer or non-health professional (10.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Lutathera rising?

671 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 30% from 960 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Lutathera was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Lutathera?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Lutathera as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (57) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.