Reported Reactions

Drugs › Somatostatin analog

Generic name

Octreotide: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,372 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Somatostatin analog. Also reported as Octreotide Injection, Octreotide 50mcg, Octreotide Inj 1000mcg.

3,372
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 155 a year
366
reports, 12 months to June 2026
413 in the 12 months before
92.1%
marked serious by the reporter
77.3% across the class
15.9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
537 reports · not verified by FDA

Between October 2004 and June 2026, 3,372 adverse event reports received by FDA list octreotide, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (2,002) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 366 reports listed it, down 11% from 413 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 155 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 18.7% of the reports for the somatostatin analog class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded drug ineffective (15.2%), off label use (11.7%) and diarrhoea (9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 842 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 15.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median somatostatin analog drug (4.8%).

92.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (77.3% across the class); 15.9% record death among the outcomes and 39.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 45% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (24.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02958Jul 2021: 18Aug 2021: 16Sep 2021: 32Oct 2021: 33Nov 2021: 58Dec 2021: 492022Jan 2022: 29Feb 2022: 21Mar 2022: 35Apr 2022: 22May 2022: 42Jun 2022: 38Jul 2022: 34Aug 2022: 33Sep 2022: 54Oct 2022: 35Nov 2022: 30Dec 2022: 472023Jan 2023: 38Feb 2023: 49Mar 2023: 51Apr 2023: 28May 2023: 29Jun 2023: 49Jul 2023: 17Aug 2023: 27Sep 2023: 37Oct 2023: 30Nov 2023: 33Dec 2023: 282024Jan 2024: 32Feb 2024: 35Mar 2024: 32Apr 2024: 39May 2024: 29Jun 2024: 22Jul 2024: 15Aug 2024: 31Sep 2024: 21Oct 2024: 45Nov 2024: 24Dec 2024: 332025Jan 2025: 54Feb 2025: 50Mar 2025: 31Apr 2025: 44May 2025: 30Jun 2025: 35Jul 2025: 32Aug 2025: 26Sep 2025: 29Oct 2025: 40Nov 2025: 27Dec 2025: 522026Jan 2026: 41Feb 2026: 28Mar 2026: 37Apr 2026: 23May 2026: 15Jun 2026: 16

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02254502004: 620042005: 102009: 120092010: 62011: 220112012: 342013: 5520132014: 762015: 11520152016: 1442017: 18620172018: 1912019: 18620192020: 2072021: 34920212022: 4202023: 41620232024: 3582025: 45020252026: 160

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Octreotide reports recording the termmedian drug in somatostatin analog

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected15.2%513
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label11.7%393
  3. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools9%304
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term8.1%272
  5. Nauseafeeling sick5.8%194
  6. Fatiguetiredness5.1%173
  7. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain3.7%124
  8. Hypoglycaemialow blood sugar3.7%124
  9. Weight decreasedweight loss3.3%112
  10. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label3.2%108
  11. Disease progressionthe disease advanced3.1%104
  12. Painpain, site not specified3.1%104
  13. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse3%101
  14. Vomitingbeing sick2.9%98
  15. Headachehead pain2.7%92
  16. Therapy non-responderthe treatment did not work2.7%92
  17. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.7%90
  18. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.6%88
  19. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.6%87
  20. Flushingsudden reddening or warmth of the skin2.4%80
  21. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure2.3%79
  22. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2.3%78
  23. Injection site painpain where the injection was given2.3%78
  24. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.3%77
  25. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used2.3%77
  26. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading2.2%75
  27. Falla fall2%66

Top 30 of 842 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the somatostatin analog class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death15.9%537
Life-threatening6.8%230
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)39.1%1,319
Disability0.9%30
Congenital anomaly0.2%6
Other serious58.9%1,987
Not serious7.9%267

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 18,073 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 24.4%148
2 to 111.5%50
12 to 170.8%26
18 to 4412.5%423
45 to 6424.4%823
65 to 7415.2%514
75 and over12.6%424
Age not given28.6%964

Patient sex

Female48%1,619
Male43.6%1,470
Not given8.4%283

Who reported

Physician23.4%789
Pharmacist4.7%160
Other health professional45%1,517
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional24.6%831
Not given2.2%75

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 42.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Carcinoid tumour2136.3%
Acromegaly1664.9%
Neuroendocrine tumour1203.6%
Hypoglycaemia1003%
Diarrhoea742.2%
Hyperinsulinism712.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,372 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Octreotide reports
Sandostatin LAR Depot1825.4%
Pantoprazole1664.9%
Everolimus1644.9%
Dextrose1143.4%
Dexamethasone1113.3%
Capecitabine962.8%
Lutathera922.7%
Furosemide862.6%
Prednisone812.4%
Loperamide792.3%

Other products listed in reports where Octreotide is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureOctreotideSomatostatin analogAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,37218,07320,646,523
Share of that pool—18.7%0%
Reports, latest 12 months366—1,332,454
Marked serious92.1%77.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports15919091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports391318213
Consumer-filed share24.6%41.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 15.2%median 4.8%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the somatostatin analog class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Sandostatinbrand5,4137190.3%
Somatuline Depotbrand4,29512735.3%
Lanreotide acetategeneric3,00569093.9%
Octreotide acetategeneric1,22712088.9%
Signiforbrand7614273.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Octreotide reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Octreotide?

3,372 reports list Octreotide as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 366 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,002 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Octreotide reports?

drug ineffective (15.2%), off label use (11.7%), diarrhoea (9%), death (8.1%) and nausea (5.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Octreotide was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

92.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 15.9% of reports include death and 39.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (45%), consumer or non-health professional (24.6%) and physician (23.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Octreotide rising?

366 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 11% from 413 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Octreotide was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Octreotide?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Octreotide as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,002) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.