Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Generic name

Lorlatinib: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,558 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2017–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor.

3,558
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 392 a year
810
reports, 12 months to June 2026
778 in the 12 months before
91%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
29.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,040 reports · not verified by FDA

Between June 2017 and June 2026, 3,558 adverse event reports received by FDA list lorlatinib, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (316) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 810 reports listed it, close to the 778 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 392 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.4% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are death (20.9%), neoplasm progression (8.1%) and weight increased (7.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 715 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 20.9% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (7.6%).

91% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 29.2% record death among the outcomes and 25.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 47.5% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (32.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

05099Jul 2021: 10Aug 2021: 30Sep 2021: 20Oct 2021: 32Nov 2021: 35Dec 2021: 352022Jan 2022: 21Feb 2022: 22Mar 2022: 19Apr 2022: 52May 2022: 31Jun 2022: 16Jul 2022: 21Aug 2022: 28Sep 2022: 39Oct 2022: 39Nov 2022: 51Dec 2022: 352023Jan 2023: 37Feb 2023: 28Mar 2023: 51Apr 2023: 32May 2023: 50Jun 2023: 49Jul 2023: 44Aug 2023: 44Sep 2023: 36Oct 2023: 48Nov 2023: 48Dec 2023: 362024Jan 2024: 46Feb 2024: 55Mar 2024: 37Apr 2024: 39May 2024: 69Jun 2024: 68Jul 2024: 54Aug 2024: 55Sep 2024: 51Oct 2024: 46Nov 2024: 64Dec 2024: 522025Jan 2025: 61Feb 2025: 89Mar 2025: 63Apr 2025: 61May 2025: 85Jun 2025: 97Jul 2025: 99Aug 2025: 45Sep 2025: 69Oct 2025: 72Nov 2025: 57Dec 2025: 602026Jan 2026: 58Feb 2026: 78Mar 2026: 64Apr 2026: 61May 2026: 51Jun 2026: 96

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04298582017: 520172018: 4220182019: 23920192020: 20820202021: 28520212022: 37420222023: 50320232024: 63620242025: 85820252026: 4082026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Lorlatinib reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.9%744
  2. Weight increasedweight gain7.1%251
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6.7%239
  4. Hallucinationseeing or hearing things that are not there5.8%205
  5. Blood cholesterol increasedraised cholesterol5.7%204
  6. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.6%162
  7. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands4.2%148
  8. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.7%133
  9. Fatiguetiredness3.7%133
  10. Oedemaswelling from fluid3.7%130
  11. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin3.3%116
  12. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung3.2%114
  13. Pyrexiafever3.1%110
  14. Hyperlipidaemiaraised blood fats2.9%102
  15. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs2.6%93
  16. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.5%88
  17. Headachehead pain2.5%88
  18. Coughcough2.4%86
  19. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading2.2%80
  20. Painpain, site not specified2.2%79
  21. Anxietyanxiety2.2%78
  22. Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung2.2%78
  23. Cognitive disorderproblems with thinking or memory2.2%77
  24. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg2.1%76

Top 30 of 715 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death29.2%1,040
Life-threatening2.9%103
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)25.5%906
Disability1.9%67
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious54.9%1,952
Not serious9%319

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%10
2 to 112%72
12 to 170.6%23
18 to 4413.1%467
45 to 6432.8%1,166
65 to 7413.4%476
75 and over6.2%220
Age not given31.6%1,124

Patient sex

Female42.7%1,520
Male39.4%1,401
Not given17.9%637

Who reported

Physician47.5%1,690
Pharmacist5.7%202
Other health professional15.6%556
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional31.1%1,108
Not given0.1%2

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 16.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Non-small cell lung cancer65618.4%
Lung neoplasm malignant3399.5%
Non-small cell lung cancer metastatic2547.1%
Lung adenocarcinoma2376.7%
Lung cancer metastatic1223.4%
Neuroblastoma752.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,558 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Lorlatinib reports
Alectinib1353.8%
Carboplatin962.7%
Pemetrexed942.6%
Rosuvastatin932.6%
Brigatinib792.2%
Crizotinib712%
Atorvastatin671.9%
Levetiracetam671.9%
Bevacizumab611.7%
Rosuvastatin calcium611.7%

Other products listed in reports where Lorlatinib is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureLorlatinibKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,558849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—0.4%0%
Reports, latest 12 months810—1,332,454
Marked serious91%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports29219091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports255264213
Consumer-filed share31.1%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 20.9%median 7.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Lorlatinib reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Lorlatinib?

3,558 reports list Lorlatinib as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 810 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 316 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Lorlatinib reports?

death (20.9%), neoplasm progression (8.1%), weight increased (7.1%), off label use (6.7%) and hallucination (5.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Lorlatinib was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

91% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 29.2% of reports include death and 25.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (47.5%), consumer or non-health professional (31.1%) and other health professional (15.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Lorlatinib rising?

810 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 778 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Lorlatinib was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Lorlatinib?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Lorlatinib as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (316) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.