Reported Reactions

Drugs › Programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody

Brand name · Atezolizumab

Tecentriq: adverse event reports filed with FDA

16,957 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2016–2026. Class: Programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody.

16,957
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 1,683 a year
2,349
reports, 12 months to June 2026
2,568 in the 12 months before
93.5%
marked serious by the reporter
89.9% across the class
32.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
5,472 reports · not verified by FDA

16,957 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Tecentriq (atezolizumab) as a suspect or interacting product, from June 2016 to June 2026. A further 236 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 2,349 reports listed it, close to the 2,568 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,683 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 7.5% of the reports for the programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are death (16.6%), off label use (8.1%) and disease progression (6.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,193 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 16.6% of these reports, a larger share than in the median programmed death Receptor-1 blocking antibody drug (6.1%).

93.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (89.9% across the class); 32.3% record death among the outcomes and 28.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 60.3% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 65 to 74 (26.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0178356Jul 2021: 305Aug 2021: 157Sep 2021: 166Oct 2021: 157Nov 2021: 171Dec 2021: 2272022Jan 2022: 170Feb 2022: 198Mar 2022: 212Apr 2022: 202May 2022: 170Jun 2022: 255Jul 2022: 167Aug 2022: 184Sep 2022: 246Oct 2022: 190Nov 2022: 255Dec 2022: 2022023Jan 2023: 145Feb 2023: 226Mar 2023: 293Apr 2023: 223May 2023: 191Jun 2023: 356Jul 2023: 225Aug 2023: 207Sep 2023: 184Oct 2023: 188Nov 2023: 220Dec 2023: 1952024Jan 2024: 189Feb 2024: 218Mar 2024: 235Apr 2024: 277May 2024: 268Jun 2024: 262Jul 2024: 301Aug 2024: 219Sep 2024: 205Oct 2024: 242Nov 2024: 231Dec 2024: 2382025Jan 2025: 192Feb 2025: 209Mar 2025: 230Apr 2025: 182May 2025: 172Jun 2025: 147Jul 2025: 174Aug 2025: 167Sep 2025: 247Oct 2025: 167Nov 2025: 222Dec 2025: 2662026Jan 2026: 177Feb 2026: 175Mar 2026: 208Apr 2026: 198May 2026: 171Jun 2026: 177

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,4432,8852016: 13520162017: 3112018: 49320182019: 1,0162020: 1,33120202021: 2,2012022: 2,45120222023: 2,6532024: 2,88520242025: 2,3752026: 1,1062026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Tecentriq reports recording the termmedian drug in programmed death receptor-1 blocking antibody

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term16.6%2,817
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label8.1%1,379
  3. Disease progressionthe disease advanced6.7%1,143
  4. Pyrexiafever3.6%618
  5. Interstitial lung diseasescarring or inflammation of lung tissue3.2%540
  6. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.5%429
  7. Fatiguetiredness2.4%413
  8. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.2%376
  9. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported2.1%349
  10. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2%333
  11. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2%331
  12. Pneumonialung infection2%331
  13. Rashskin rash2%331
  14. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended1.9%324
  15. Ascitesfluid in the abdomen1.7%281
  16. Hypothyroidismunderactive thyroid1.7%280
  17. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.6%270
  18. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells1.6%269
  19. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count1.5%261
  20. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.5%247
  21. Nauseafeeling sick1.4%243
  22. Anaemialow red blood cells1.4%234
  23. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.4%231
  24. Proteinuriaprotein in the urine1.3%225
  25. Adrenal insufficiencythe adrenal glands produce too little hormone1.3%224
  26. Hepatic failureliver failure1.3%218
  27. Neoplasm malignanta cancer, type not specified1.2%206

Top 30 of 1,193 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 8 drugs in the programmed death receptor-1 blocking antibody class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death32.3%5,472
Life-threatening3%510
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)28.9%4,909
Disability0.9%146
Congenital anomaly0%1
Other serious45.3%7,682
Not serious6.5%1,105

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 225,959 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%2
2 to 110%2
12 to 170%6
18 to 443%504
45 to 6421.3%3,608
65 to 7426.4%4,483
75 and over23.2%3,933
Age not given26.1%4,419

Patient sex

Female26.1%4,429
Male60%10,168
Not given13.9%2,360

Who reported

Physician60.3%10,229
Pharmacist7.7%1,314
Other health professional7.9%1,336
Lawyer0%3
Consumer or non-health professional23.8%4,040
Not given0.2%35

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 12.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hepatocellular carcinoma6,18236.5%
Non-small cell lung cancer2,60315.4%
Small cell lung cancer1,3988.2%
Lung neoplasm malignant9125.4%
Triple negative breast cancer6223.7%
Lung adenocarcinoma4532.7%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 16,957 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Tecentriq reports
Avastin6,38137.6%
Carboplatin3,05518%
Paclitaxel1,6059.5%
Etoposide1,3487.9%
Bevacizumab8364.9%
Abraxane4282.5%
Furosemide1701%
Amlodipine besylate1480.9%
Amlodipine1390.8%
Spironolactone1370.8%

Other products listed in reports where Tecentriq is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureTecentriqProgrammed death Receptor-1 blocking antibodyAll reports
Reports as suspect product16,957225,95920,646,523
Share of that pool—7.5%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months2,349—1,332,454
Marked serious93.5%89.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports32322591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports289418213
Consumer-filed share23.8%19.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 16.6%median 6.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the programmed death receptor-1 blocking antibody class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Keytrudabrand63,6388,46584%
Opdivobrand46,6103,75383.6%
Nivolumabgeneric45,8232,58196%
Pembrolizumabgeneric30,9906,21295.7%
Atezolizumabgeneric19,7681,88797.7%
Dostarlimabgeneric1,28047597.5%
Jemperlibrand89342270.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Tecentriq reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Tecentriq?

16,957 reports list Tecentriq as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 2,349 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 236 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Tecentriq reports?

death (16.6%), off label use (8.1%), disease progression (6.7%), pyrexia (3.6%) and interstitial lung disease (3.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Tecentriq was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

93.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 32.3% of reports include death and 28.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (60.3%), consumer or non-health professional (23.8%) and other health professional (7.9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Tecentriq rising?

2,349 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 2,568 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Tecentriq was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Tecentriq?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Tecentriq as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (236) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.