Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Isavuconazole: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,621 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2014–2026.

1,621
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 132 a year
203
reports, 12 months to June 2026
194 in the 12 months before
97.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
31.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
515 reports · not verified by FDA

1,621 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Isavuconazole" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from April 2014 to June 2026. A further 802 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 203 reports listed it, close to the 194 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 132 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are off label use (25.8%), drug ineffective (16.3%) and drug interaction (9.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 354 different terms appear across these reports. Off label use is recorded in 25.8% of these reports, against 4.1% of all reports in the database.

97.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 31.8% record death among the outcomes and 41.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 37% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (32.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01631Jul 2021: 11Aug 2021: 16Sep 2021: 22Oct 2021: 16Nov 2021: 17Dec 2021: 172022Jan 2022: 15Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 22Apr 2022: 12May 2022: 19Jun 2022: 14Jul 2022: 8Aug 2022: 13Sep 2022: 14Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 12Dec 2022: 192023Jan 2023: 9Feb 2023: 9Mar 2023: 13Apr 2023: 15May 2023: 15Jun 2023: 26Jul 2023: 19Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 12Oct 2023: 12Nov 2023: 10Dec 2023: 242024Jan 2024: 29Feb 2024: 12Mar 2024: 16Apr 2024: 8May 2024: 22Jun 2024: 18Jul 2024: 27Aug 2024: 13Sep 2024: 16Oct 2024: 19Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 192025Jan 2025: 15Feb 2025: 21Mar 2025: 15Apr 2025: 15May 2025: 14Jun 2025: 16Jul 2025: 31Aug 2025: 26Sep 2025: 23Oct 2025: 16Nov 2025: 11Dec 2025: 172026Jan 2026: 8Feb 2026: 13Mar 2026: 15Apr 2026: 9May 2026: 22Jun 2026: 12

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01102202014: 220142015: 102016: 920162017: 562018: 21820182019: 1802020: 13420202021: 1762022: 15920222023: 1752024: 20320242025: 2202026: 792026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Isavuconazole reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label25.8%419
  2. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected16.3%264
  3. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines9.8%159
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9.7%158
  5. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label8.7%141
  6. Nauseafeeling sick3.9%64
  7. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse3.8%61
  8. Infectionan infection, type not specified3.3%53
  9. Septic shockshock arising from infection3.3%53
  10. Mucormycosis3.1%51
  11. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.8%46
  12. Drug level increaseda raised blood level of the medicine2.8%45
  13. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.8%45
  14. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.6%42
  15. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.6%42
  16. Vomitingbeing sick2.3%38
  17. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.3%37
  18. Multiple organ dysfunction syndromeseveral organs failing2.3%37
  19. Pyrexiafever2.3%37
  20. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell2.2%36
  21. Pneumonialung infection2.2%36
  22. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.1%34
  23. Hepatotoxicityliver injury2%33
  24. Fungal infectiona fungal infection1.9%31
  25. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work1.9%31
  26. Renal impairmentreduced kidney function1.9%30
  27. Thrombocytopenialow platelets1.7%27

Top 30 of 354 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death31.8%515
Life-threatening8.6%140
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)41.6%675
Disability0.6%10
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious69.2%1,121
Not serious2.8%45

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%1
2 to 111.9%30
12 to 172.3%38
18 to 4416.5%268
45 to 6432.8%532
65 to 7420.1%326
75 and over7.6%124
Age not given18.6%302

Patient sex

Female32%519
Male60.3%977
Not given7.7%125

Who reported

Physician27.4%444
Pharmacist3.1%51
Other health professional37%599
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional32.1%521
Not given0.4%6

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 38% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Aspergillus infection25815.9%
Bronchopulmonary aspergillosis19412%
Mucormycosis1257.7%
Fungal infection1197.3%
Antifungal prophylaxis925.7%
Prophylaxis694.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,621 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Isavuconazole reports
Amphotericin b30618.9%
Voriconazole28517.6%
Tacrolimus23814.7%
Prednisone1348.3%
Posaconazole1328.1%
Mycophenolate mofetil1308%
Meropenem1217.5%
Vancomycin1076.6%
Caspofungin1046.4%
Methylprednisolone915.6%

Other products listed in reports where Isavuconazole is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureIsavuconazoleAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,62120,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months2031,332,454
Marked serious97.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports31891
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports416213
Consumer-filed share32.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsOff label use 25.8%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Isavuconazole reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Isavuconazole?

1,621 reports list Isavuconazole as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 203 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 802 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Isavuconazole reports?

off label use (25.8%), drug ineffective (16.3%), drug interaction (9.8%), death (9.7%) and product use in unapproved indication (8.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Isavuconazole was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

97.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 31.8% of reports include death and 41.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (37%), consumer or non-health professional (32.1%) and physician (27.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Isavuconazole rising?

203 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 194 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Isavuconazole was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Isavuconazole?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Isavuconazole as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (802) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.