Drugs › Cytochrome P450 3A inhibitor
Brand name · Elvitegravir, cobicistat, emtricitabine, and tenofovir alafenamide
Genvoya: adverse event reports filed with FDA
2,994 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2016–2026. Class: Cytochrome P450 3A inhibitor.
- 2,994
- reports as suspect product
- 0% of all reports · about 285 a year
- 57
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 70 in the 12 months before
- 50.6%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 87.2% across the class
- 3.6%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 109 reports · not verified by FDA
2,994 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Genvoya (elvitegravir, cobicistat, emtricitabine, and tenofovir alafenamide) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2016 to June 2026. A further 7,009 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 57 reports listed it, down 19% from 70 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 285 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 6.4% of the reports for the cytochrome P450 3A inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
The reactions recorded most often are drug interaction (8.8%), weight increased (5.3%) and nausea (3.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 526 different terms appear across these reports. Drug interaction is recorded in 8.8% of these reports, about the same share as in the median cytochrome P450 3A inhibitor drug (7.1%).
50.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (87.2% across the class); 3.6% record death among the outcomes and 19.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 28.8% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (34.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Genvoya reports recording the termmedian drug in cytochrome p450 3a inhibitor
- Drug interactionan interaction between medicines8.8%262
- Weight increasedweight gain5.3%160
- Nauseafeeling sick3.5%104
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.1%93
- Fatiguetiredness3.1%93
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3%89
- Product storage errorthe product was stored wrongly2.5%75
- Rashskin rash2.4%73
- Headachehead pain2.3%70
- Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.2%66
- Vomitingbeing sick2.2%66
- Viral load increased2.2%65
- Cushing's syndrome2%60
- Product dose omissiona dose was missed1.9%57
- Treatment noncompliancethe treatment was not taken as directed1.8%53
- Blood HIV RNA increased1.7%52
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1.6%48
- Painpain, site not specified1.6%48
- Product use issuea problem in how the product was used1.5%46
- Renal impairmentreduced kidney function1.5%45
- Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.5%44
- Arthralgiajoint pain1.4%43
- Depressionlow mood1.4%41
- Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy1.4%41
- Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label1.4%41
- Product dose omission issuea dose was missed1.4%41
- Blood creatinine increasedraised creatinine, a kidney test1.3%40
- Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.3%38
- Drug resistance1.3%38
Top 30 of 526 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 8 drugs in the cytochrome p450 3a inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 46,425 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 70% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Hiv infection | 1,474 | 49.2% |
| Hiv test positive | 36 | 1.2% |
| Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome | 12 | 0.4% |
| Antiretroviral therapy | 7 | 0.2% |
| Hepatitis b | 7 | 0.2% |
| Suicide attempt | 5 | 0.2% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,994 reports.
Drugs most often listed in the same reports
| Drug (any role in the report) | Reports | Share of Genvoya reports |
|---|---|---|
| Stribild | 119 | 4% |
| Truvada | 117 | 3.9% |
| Biktarvy | 114 | 3.8% |
| Prezista | 78 | 2.6% |
| Atripla | 67 | 2.2% |
| Darunavir | 54 | 1.8% |
| Lamivudine | 47 | 1.6% |
| Isentress | 40 | 1.3% |
| Efavirenz | 38 | 1.3% |
| Abacavir | 35 | 1.2% |
Other products listed in reports where Genvoya is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.
In context
| Measure | Genvoya | Cytochrome P450 3A inhibitor | All reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 2,994 | 46,425 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 6.4% | 0% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 57 | — | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 50.6% | 87.2% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 36 | 90 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 197 | 260 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 22.9% | 15.9% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Drug interaction 8.8% | median 7.1% | 0.8% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Other drugs in the cytochrome p450 3a inhibitor class
| Drug | Name type | Reports | Latest 12 months | Marked serious |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ritonavir | generic | 11,399 | 164 | 92% |
| Kaletra | brand | 9,419 | 57 | 92.5% |
| Norvir | brand | 8,821 | 44 | 92.8% |
| Stribild | brand | 8,754 | 124 | 86.3% |
| Lopinavir and ritonavir | generic | 3,003 | 9 | 96.7% |
| Symtuza | brand | 1,067 | 64 | 56.8% |
| Prezcobix | brand | 968 | 27 | 54.4% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.
Questions about Genvoya reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Genvoya?
2,994 reports list Genvoya as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 57 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 7,009 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Genvoya reports?
drug interaction (8.8%), weight increased (5.3%), nausea (3.5%), diarrhoea (3.1%) and fatigue (3.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Genvoya was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
50.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 3.6% of reports include death and 19.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
physician (28.8%), pharmacist (27.3%) and consumer or non-health professional (22.9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Genvoya rising?
57 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 19% from 70 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Genvoya was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Genvoya?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Genvoya as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (7,009) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.