Reported Reactions

Drugs › Human immunodeficiency virus integrase strand transfer inhibitor

Brand name · Raltegravir

Isentress: adverse event reports filed with FDA

7,969 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2007–2026. Class: Human immunodeficiency virus integrase strand transfer inhibitor. Also reported as Tab Isentress, Isentress Tablets 400mg.

7,969
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 421 a year
67
reports, 12 months to June 2026
103 in the 12 months before
74.7%
marked serious by the reporter
78.6% across the class
10.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
853 reports · not verified by FDA

Between August 2007 and June 2026, 7,969 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Isentress (raltegravir) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (3,541) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 67 reports listed it, down 35% from 103 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 421 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 44.3% of the reports for the human immunodeficiency virus integrase strand transfer inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are foetal exposure during pregnancy (10%), maternal exposure during pregnancy (7.6%) and exposure during pregnancy (7.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,224 different terms appear across these reports. Foetal exposure during pregnancy is recorded in 10% of these reports, about the same share as in the median human immunodeficiency virus integrase strand transfer inhibitor drug (8.7%).

74.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (78.6% across the class); 10.7% record death among the outcomes and 30.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 31.6% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (27.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02244Jul 2021: 29Aug 2021: 42Sep 2021: 27Oct 2021: 27Nov 2021: 27Dec 2021: 202022Jan 2022: 31Feb 2022: 32Mar 2022: 28Apr 2022: 26May 2022: 24Jun 2022: 44Jul 2022: 31Aug 2022: 30Sep 2022: 33Oct 2022: 42Nov 2022: 32Dec 2022: 222023Jan 2023: 22Feb 2023: 32Mar 2023: 28Apr 2023: 26May 2023: 22Jun 2023: 30Jul 2023: 25Aug 2023: 13Sep 2023: 19Oct 2023: 18Nov 2023: 24Dec 2023: 242024Jan 2024: 14Feb 2024: 19Mar 2024: 12Apr 2024: 10May 2024: 8Jun 2024: 7Jul 2024: 14Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 6Oct 2024: 17Nov 2024: 13Dec 2024: 32025Jan 2025: 5Feb 2025: 7Mar 2025: 6Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 16Jun 2025: 11Jul 2025: 10Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 7Feb 2026: 7Mar 2026: 2Apr 2026: 4May 2026: 16Jun 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04358692007: 820072008: 3082009: 35320092010: 4362011: 31820112012: 5992013: 55220132014: 5472015: 48220152016: 5362017: 47220172018: 8692019: 74520192020: 3932021: 45320212022: 3752023: 28320232024: 1262025: 7620252026: 38

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Isentress reports recording the termmedian drug in human immunodeficiency virus integrase strand transfer inhibitor

  1. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine10%795
  2. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy7.6%608
  3. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy7.5%596
  4. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines5.6%450
  5. Depressionlow mood5.6%447
  6. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported4.2%334
  7. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.6%290
  8. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.7%219
  9. Nauseafeeling sick2.6%205
  10. Premature babya baby born early2.5%203
  11. Abortion spontaneousmiscarriage2.4%194
  12. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.2%172
  13. Anxietyanxiety2.1%170
  14. Fatiguetiredness2.1%170
  15. Alanine aminotransferase increasedraised liver enzyme (ALT)2.1%167
  16. Rashskin rash2.1%166
  17. Pyrexiafever2%160
  18. Suicidal ideationthoughts of suicide1.9%150
  19. Aspartate aminotransferase increasedraised liver enzyme (AST)1.9%149
  20. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified1.8%146
  21. Dysphagiadifficulty swallowing1.8%143
  22. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label1.7%139
  23. Anaemialow red blood cells1.7%132
  24. Headachehead pain1.6%130
  25. Vomitingbeing sick1.6%128
  26. Lipodystrophy acquiredchanges in body fat distribution1.6%125
  27. Renal failurekidney failure1.5%123
  28. Insomniadifficulty sleeping1.5%119
  29. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.5%117
  30. Paranoiaparanoia1.5%117

Top 30 of 1,224 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 4 drugs in the human immunodeficiency virus integrase strand transfer inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death10.7%853
Life-threatening4.8%384
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)30.2%2,409
Disability3.8%301
Congenital anomaly8.7%690
Other serious51.3%4,090
Not serious25.3%2,013

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 17,985 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 24.5%360
2 to 110.5%40
12 to 170.4%34
18 to 4423.4%1,863
45 to 6427.4%2,182
65 to 743.7%296
75 and over0.9%68
Age not given39.2%3,126

Patient sex

Female35.2%2,806
Male52.9%4,218
Not given11.9%945

Who reported

Physician31.6%2,521
Pharmacist7.7%610
Other health professional28.5%2,272
Lawyer0.2%13
Consumer or non-health professional29%2,309
Not given3.1%244

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 44.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hiv infection4,27453.6%
Antiretroviral therapy1772.2%
Prophylaxis against HIV infection1241.6%
Maternal exposure timing unspecified1171.5%
Hiv test positive801%
Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome761%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 7,969 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Isentress reports
Truvada1,88223.6%
Norvir1,35817%
Prezista1,21215.2%
Lamivudine93511.7%
Kaletra84810.6%
Ritonavir81710.3%
Intelence6538.2%
Zidovudine6107.7%
Viread4776%
Darunavir4645.8%

Other products listed in reports where Isentress is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureIsentressHuman immunodeficiency virus integrase strand transfer inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product7,96917,98520,646,523
Share of that pool—44.3%0%
Reports, latest 12 months67—1,332,454
Marked serious74.7%78.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports10710491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports302252213
Consumer-filed share29%26.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFoetal exposure during pregnancy 10%median 8.7%0.4%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the human immunodeficiency virus integrase strand transfer inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Tivicaybrand5,54923973.2%
Raltegravirgeneric3,1998297.1%
Vocabriabrand1,26825679.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Isentress reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Isentress?

7,969 reports list Isentress as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 67 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 3,541 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Isentress reports?

foetal exposure during pregnancy (10%), maternal exposure during pregnancy (7.6%), exposure during pregnancy (7.5%), drug interaction (5.6%) and depression (5.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Isentress was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

74.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 10.7% of reports include death and 30.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (31.6%), consumer or non-health professional (29%) and other health professional (28.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Isentress rising?

67 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 35% from 103 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Isentress was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Isentress?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Isentress as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (3,541) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.