Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Dimethyl fumarate: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,761 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2026. Also reported as Dimethyl Fumarate 240mg, Dimethyl Fumarate Delayed-Release Capsules, Dimethyl Fumarate Delayed Release Capsules 240mg.

2,761
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 185 a year
435
reports, 12 months to June 2026
360 in the 12 months before
62.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
3.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
88 reports · not verified by FDA

Between August 2011 and June 2026, 2,761 adverse event reports received by FDA list dimethyl fumarate, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (595) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 435 reports listed it, up 21% from 360 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 185 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are flushing (11.2%), drug ineffective (9.7%) and multiple sclerosis relapse (6.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 488 different terms appear across these reports. Flushing is recorded in 11.2% of these reports, against 0.5% of all reports in the database.

62.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 3.2% record death among the outcomes and 26.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 37.5% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (24.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04487Jul 2021: 45Aug 2021: 26Sep 2021: 26Oct 2021: 59Nov 2021: 62Dec 2021: 302022Jan 2022: 57Feb 2022: 46Mar 2022: 66Apr 2022: 66May 2022: 56Jun 2022: 60Jul 2022: 67Aug 2022: 54Sep 2022: 63Oct 2022: 53Nov 2022: 42Dec 2022: 532023Jan 2023: 35Feb 2023: 51Mar 2023: 42Apr 2023: 37May 2023: 49Jun 2023: 63Jul 2023: 48Aug 2023: 40Sep 2023: 87Oct 2023: 53Nov 2023: 22Dec 2023: 282024Jan 2024: 23Feb 2024: 11Mar 2024: 27Apr 2024: 22May 2024: 14Jun 2024: 9Jul 2024: 18Aug 2024: 23Sep 2024: 23Oct 2024: 20Nov 2024: 51Dec 2024: 352025Jan 2025: 18Feb 2025: 25Mar 2025: 32Apr 2025: 19May 2025: 48Jun 2025: 48Jul 2025: 43Aug 2025: 26Sep 2025: 25Oct 2025: 65Nov 2025: 24Dec 2025: 442026Jan 2026: 43Feb 2026: 40Mar 2026: 31Apr 2026: 46May 2026: 33Jun 2026: 15

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03426832011: 220112013: 72014: 4420142015: 582016: 2320162017: 112018: 1320182019: 242020: 6220202021: 3782022: 68320222023: 5552024: 27620242025: 4172026: 2082026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Dimethyl fumarate reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Flushingsudden reddening or warmth of the skin11.2%308
  2. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected9.7%268
  3. Multiple sclerosis relapsea flare of multiple sclerosis6.5%179
  4. Falla fall5.8%161
  5. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.9%135
  6. Nauseafeeling sick4.1%112
  7. Fatiguetiredness4%111
  8. Product substitution issuea problem after switching products3.3%90
  9. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain3.1%85
  10. Pruritusitching2.8%77
  11. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.7%75
  12. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.6%73
  13. Gait disturbancedifficulty walking2.6%71
  14. Rashskin rash2.5%68
  15. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection2.4%67
  16. Erythemaskin redness2.2%61
  17. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort2.1%59
  18. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.1%57
  19. Headachehead pain2%55
  20. Hypoaesthesianumbness2%55
  21. Paraesthesiatingling or pins and needles2%54
  22. Vomitingbeing sick1.9%52
  23. Painpain, site not specified1.8%50
  24. Balance disorderproblems with balance1.8%49
  25. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1.7%46
  26. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.6%45

Top 30 of 488 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death3.2%88
Life-threatening1.1%31
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)26.7%737
Disability1.3%36
Congenital anomaly0.1%3
Other serious36.4%1,006
Not serious37.8%1,043

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%1
12 to 170.1%3
18 to 4416.4%453
45 to 6424.2%667
65 to 748.2%226
75 and over1.6%44
Age not given49.5%1,367

Patient sex

Female62.6%1,729
Male20.3%561
Not given17.1%471

Who reported

Physician9.7%267
Pharmacist5.1%141
Other health professional37.5%1,035
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional28.8%794
Not given19%524

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 73.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Multiple sclerosis1,17542.6%
Relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis1595.8%
Relapsing multiple sclerosis391.4%
Psoriasis260.9%
Psoriatic arthropathy120.4%
Secondary progressive multiple sclerosis60.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,761 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Dimethyl fumarate reports
Fingolimod1194.3%
Ampyra1134.1%
Glatiramer acetate983.5%
Baclofen883.2%
Gabapentin812.9%
Ocrelizumab782.8%
Teriflunomide602.2%
Methylprednisolone511.8%
Ergocalciferol471.7%
Aspirin411.5%

Other products listed in reports where Dimethyl fumarate is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureDimethyl fumarateAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,76120,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months4351,332,454
Marked serious62.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports3291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports267213
Consumer-filed share28.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFlushing 11.2%0.5%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Dimethyl fumarate reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Dimethyl fumarate?

2,761 reports list Dimethyl fumarate as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 435 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 595 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Dimethyl fumarate reports?

flushing (11.2%), drug ineffective (9.7%), multiple sclerosis relapse (6.5%), fall (5.8%) and diarrhoea (4.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Dimethyl fumarate was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

62.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 3.2% of reports include death and 26.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (37.5%), consumer or non-health professional (28.8%) and not given (19%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Dimethyl fumarate rising?

435 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 21% from 360 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Dimethyl fumarate was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Dimethyl fumarate?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Dimethyl fumarate as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (595) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.