Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Cytoxan: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,769 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

3,769
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 168 a year
43
reports, 12 months to June 2026
119 in the 12 months before
87.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
14.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
554 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 3,769 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Cytoxan" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (9,185) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 43 reports listed it, down 64% from 119 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 168 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are alopecia (10.2%), febrile neutropenia (9%) and pyrexia (7.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 741 different terms appear across these reports. Alopecia is recorded in 10.2% of these reports, against 0.9% of all reports in the database.

87.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 14.7% record death among the outcomes and 39.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 39.6% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (34.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04794Jul 2021: 9Aug 2021: 94Sep 2021: 11Oct 2021: 12Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 142022Jan 2022: 5Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 12May 2022: 7Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 9Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 16Oct 2022: 11Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 82023Jan 2023: 17Feb 2023: 9Mar 2023: 9Apr 2023: 31May 2023: 16Jun 2023: 21Jul 2023: 8Aug 2023: 27Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 8Dec 2023: 72024Jan 2024: 19Feb 2024: 5Mar 2024: 12Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 7Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 16Sep 2024: 20Oct 2024: 12Nov 2024: 10Dec 2024: 102025Jan 2025: 8Feb 2025: 7Mar 2025: 14Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 6Jun 2025: 4Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 6Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 62026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 7Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 3Jun 2026: 9

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02084162004: 16420042005: 2332006: 1692007: 13620072008: 1362009: 1082010: 10820102011: 1062012: 1992013: 14720132014: 1032015: 4162016: 20920162017: 2132018: 3112019: 22320192020: 1182021: 1912022: 10220222023: 1612024: 1282025: 6220252026: 26

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Cytoxan reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Alopeciahair loss10.2%384
  2. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells9%340
  3. Pyrexiafever7.1%268
  4. Nauseafeeling sick6.8%255
  5. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools5.6%210
  6. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell4.9%183
  7. Fatiguetiredness4.8%180
  8. Vomitingbeing sick4.4%167
  9. Pneumonialung infection4.3%162
  10. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.9%146
  11. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.8%143
  12. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.7%141
  13. Dehydrationdehydration3.6%134
  14. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells3.3%123
  15. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.2%121
  16. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet3.1%116
  17. Anaemialow red blood cells2.9%111
  18. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection2.9%108
  19. Thrombocytopenialow platelets2.7%103
  20. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.7%102
  21. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.3%87
  22. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count2.3%86
  23. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.1%78
  24. Hypotensionlow blood pressure2%74
  25. Headachehead pain1.9%73
  26. Painpain, site not specified1.9%70
  27. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.5%57
  28. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count1.4%54
  29. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung1.4%53

Top 30 of 741 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death14.7%554
Life-threatening5.5%207
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)39.5%1,490
Disability2.8%106
Congenital anomaly0.1%4
Other serious52.3%1,973
Not serious12.8%483

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%13
2 to 111.4%52
12 to 171.2%44
18 to 4411.7%442
45 to 6434.6%1,305
65 to 7415%564
75 and over5.8%220
Age not given30%1,129

Patient sex

Female58.7%2,214
Male27%1,017
Not given14.3%538

Who reported

Physician26.5%999
Pharmacist2.9%110
Other health professional39.6%1,492
Lawyer8.8%330
Consumer or non-health professional17.7%668
Not given4.5%170

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 81.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Breast cancer76120.2%
Plasma cell myeloma51013.5%
Chronic lymphocytic leukaemia1564.1%
Breast cancer metastatic671.8%
Invasive ductal breast carcinoma651.7%
Multiple myeloma611.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,769 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Cytoxan reports
Dexamethasone57815.3%
Adriamycin49213.1%
Velcade44211.7%
Prednisone42411.2%
Decadron3238.6%
Taxotere3138.3%
Vincristine2847.5%
Rituxan2627%
Revlimid2596.9%
Docetaxel Accord2576.8%

Other products listed in reports where Cytoxan is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureCytoxanAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,76920,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months431,332,454
Marked serious87.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports14791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports395213
Consumer-filed share17.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsAlopecia 10.2%0.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Cytoxan reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Cytoxan?

3,769 reports list Cytoxan as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 43 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 9,185 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Cytoxan reports?

alopecia (10.2%), febrile neutropenia (9%), pyrexia (7.1%), nausea (6.8%) and diarrhoea (5.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Cytoxan was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

87.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 14.7% of reports include death and 39.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (39.6%), physician (26.5%) and consumer or non-health professional (17.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Cytoxan rising?

43 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 64% from 119 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Cytoxan was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Cytoxan?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Cytoxan as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (9,185) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.