Reported Reactions

Drugs › CD20-directed cytolytic antibody

Brand name · Rituximab

Rituxan: adverse event reports filed with FDA

41,515 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: CD20-directed cytolytic antibody.

41,515
reports as suspect product
0.2% of all reports · about 1,846 a year
792
reports, 12 months to June 2026
4,140 in the 12 months before
70.9%
marked serious by the reporter
77% across the class
10%
record death among outcomes, as reported
4,157 reports · not verified by FDA

41,515 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Rituxan (rituximab) as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 7,044 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 792 reports listed it, down 81% from 4,140 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,846 reports a year and 0.2% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 13.1% of the reports for the CD20-directed cytolytic antibody class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug ineffective (24.1%), off label use (20.2%) and rheumatoid arthritis (15.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,388 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 24.1% of these reports, a larger share than in the median CD20-directed cytolytic antibody drug (3.5%).

70.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (77% across the class); 10% record death among the outcomes and 19% record hospitalisation, as reported. 35% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (24.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01,6453,290Jul 2021: 96Aug 2021: 139Sep 2021: 105Oct 2021: 80Nov 2021: 127Dec 2021: 1862022Jan 2022: 596Feb 2022: 105Mar 2022: 122Apr 2022: 106May 2022: 78Jun 2022: 109Jul 2022: 73Aug 2022: 79Sep 2022: 79Oct 2022: 63Nov 2022: 73Dec 2022: 1282023Jan 2023: 55Feb 2023: 53Mar 2023: 84Apr 2023: 106May 2023: 68Jun 2023: 44Jul 2023: 56Aug 2023: 72Sep 2023: 54Oct 2023: 51Nov 2023: 55Dec 2023: 4802024Jan 2024: 63Feb 2024: 74Mar 2024: 65Apr 2024: 72May 2024: 87Jun 2024: 69Jul 2024: 97Aug 2024: 88Sep 2024: 82Oct 2024: 3,290Nov 2024: 78Dec 2024: 672025Jan 2025: 83Feb 2025: 64Mar 2025: 97Apr 2025: 60May 2025: 67Jun 2025: 67Jul 2025: 71Aug 2025: 48Sep 2025: 47Oct 2025: 65Nov 2025: 75Dec 2025: 662026Jan 2026: 57Feb 2026: 61Mar 2026: 82Apr 2026: 90May 2026: 73Jun 2026: 57

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,9425,8832004: 29520042005: 4912006: 4442007: 71320072008: 5052009: 5692010: 38020102011: 5332012: 1,5222013: 1,09620132014: 1,0982015: 1,4882016: 2,22020162017: 5,6402018: 4,0682019: 5,88320192020: 4,0592021: 2,3602022: 1,61120222023: 1,1782024: 4,1322025: 81020252026: 420

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Rituxan reports recording the termmedian drug in cd20-directed cytolytic antibody

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected24.1%10,007
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label20.2%8,372
  3. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease15.5%6,447
  4. Painpain, site not specified11.8%4,912
  5. Fatiguetiredness10.9%4,511
  6. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported9.7%4,012
  7. Arthralgiajoint pain8.9%3,710
  8. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated8.7%3,606
  9. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion8.3%3,459
  10. Joint swellinga swollen joint7.9%3,284
  11. Rashskin rash7.8%3,251
  12. Nauseafeeling sick7.2%3,004
  13. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine6.3%2,611
  14. Alopeciahair loss6.2%2,588
  15. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort6%2,471
  16. Headachehead pain5.9%2,456
  17. Dyspnoeashortness of breath5.7%2,375
  18. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work5.4%2,262
  19. Swellingswelling5%2,082
  20. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction5%2,062
  21. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.9%2,023
  22. Pyrexiafever4.8%1,999
  23. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended4.8%1,996
  24. Systemic lupus erythematosuslupus, an autoimmune disease4.6%1,919
  25. Pemphigus4.6%1,901
  26. Synovitis4.6%1,899
  27. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse4.5%1,881
  28. Arthropathy4.5%1,865
  29. Infectionan infection, type not specified4.5%1,861

Top 30 of 2,388 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 12 drugs in the cd20-directed cytolytic antibody class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death10%4,157
Life-threatening3.9%1,601
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)19%7,875
Disability4.3%1,765
Congenital anomaly0.4%165
Other serious51.7%21,473
Not serious29.1%12,092

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 316,120 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%38
2 to 110.5%217
12 to 170.6%254
18 to 449.9%4,107
45 to 6424.6%10,212
65 to 7411.9%4,937
75 and over6.4%2,657
Age not given46%19,093

Patient sex

Female59.2%24,570
Male27.5%11,421
Not given13.3%5,524

Who reported

Physician35%14,551
Pharmacist6%2,482
Other health professional28.6%11,862
Lawyer0%12
Consumer or non-health professional29.2%12,112
Not given1.2%496

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 52.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis11,71728.2%
Chronic lymphocytic leukaemia1,5443.7%
Diffuse large b-cell lymphoma1,5193.7%
B-cell lymphoma1,1282.7%
Multiple sclerosis1,0012.4%
Non-hodgkin's lymphoma9012.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 41,515 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Rituxan reports
Methotrexate10,77926%
Prednisone10,30224.8%
Enbrel9,37722.6%
Humira8,35520.1%
Actemra7,84018.9%
Orencia7,70318.6%
Remicade6,16414.8%
Arava5,81114%
Sulfasalazine5,73813.8%
Hydroxychloroquine4,88211.8%

Other products listed in reports where Rituxan is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureRituxanCD20-directed cytolytic antibodyAll reports
Reports as suspect product41,515316,12020,646,523
Share of that pool—13.1%0.2%
Reports, latest 12 months792—1,332,454
Marked serious70.9%77%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports10012591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports190274213
Consumer-filed share29.2%28%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 24.1%median 3.5%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the cd20-directed cytolytic antibody class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Rituximabgeneric155,57815,06895.8%
Ocrevusbrand52,2583,25349.1%
Kesimptabrand29,2572,65838.3%
Obinutuzumabgeneric9,2681,03794.4%
Ocrelizumabgeneric6,93260063.9%
Gazyvabrand5,29451265.9%
Ruxiencebrand4,72380791.1%
Truximabrand4,63040072.3%
Ofatumumabgeneric2,9429797.9%
Ublituximabgeneric2,5101,29022.1%
Briumvibrand1,21341820.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Rituxan reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Rituxan?

41,515 reports list Rituxan as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 792 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 7,044 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Rituxan reports?

drug ineffective (24.1%), off label use (20.2%), rheumatoid arthritis (15.5%), pain (11.8%) and fatigue (10.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Rituxan was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

70.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 10% of reports include death and 19% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (35%), consumer or non-health professional (29.2%) and other health professional (28.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Rituxan rising?

792 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 81% from 4,140 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Rituxan was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Rituxan?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Rituxan as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (7,044) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.