Reported Reactions

Drugs › Kinase inhibitor

Brand name · Cobimetinib

Cotellic: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,029 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2013–2026. Class: Kinase inhibitor.

2,029
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 155 a year
96
reports, 12 months to June 2026
276 in the 12 months before
70.6%
marked serious by the reporter
70.8% across the class
15.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
310 reports · not verified by FDA

2,029 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Cotellic (cobimetinib) as a suspect or interacting product, from June 2013 to June 2026. A further 80 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 96 reports listed it, down 65% from 276 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 155 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.2% of the reports for the kinase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded off label use (18.3%), rash (11.8%) and diarrhoea (10.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 327 different terms appear across these reports. Off label use is recorded in 18.3% of these reports, a larger share than in the median kinase inhibitor drug (4.1%).

70.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (70.8% across the class); 15.3% record death among the outcomes and 32.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 45% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (25.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

081161Jul 2021: 9Aug 2021: 9Sep 2021: 4Oct 2021: 67Nov 2021: 9Dec 2021: 72022Jan 2022: 9Feb 2022: 7Mar 2022: 7Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 14Jun 2022: 16Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 4Sep 2022: 7Oct 2022: 42Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 62023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 9Sep 2023: 9Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 44Dec 2023: 52024Jan 2024: 7Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 3Apr 2024: 4May 2024: 3Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 14Aug 2024: 8Sep 2024: 12Oct 2024: 161Nov 2024: 13Dec 2024: 102025Jan 2025: 9Feb 2025: 14Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 10Jun 2025: 12Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 9Oct 2025: 12Nov 2025: 10Dec 2025: 92026Jan 2026: 7Feb 2026: 6Mar 2026: 7Apr 2026: 9May 2026: 8Jun 2026: 6

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01573142013: 220132015: 12016: 26520162017: 3142018: 28220182019: 2002020: 17320202021: 1612022: 12920222023: 1062024: 24220242025: 1112026: 432026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Cotellic reports recording the termmedian drug in kinase inhibitor

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label18.3%372
  2. Rashskin rash11.8%240
  3. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools10.6%215
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9.9%200
  5. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported8.5%173
  6. Pyrexiafever6.7%136
  7. Nauseafeeling sick4.8%97
  8. Fatiguetiredness4.7%96
  9. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended4.4%89
  10. Vomitingbeing sick3.9%79
  11. Photosensitivity reactionskin reaction to sunlight3%61
  12. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.8%57
  13. Drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptomsDRESS, a severe reaction with rash, fever and organ involvement2.5%50
  14. Pruritusitching2.4%48
  15. Rash maculo-papulara rash of flat and raised spots2.2%45
  16. Decreased appetitereduced appetite2.1%43
  17. Renal failurekidney failure1.9%38
  18. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.7%35
  19. Arthralgiajoint pain1.7%35
  20. Painpain, site not specified1.7%35
  21. Disease progressionthe disease advanced1.7%34
  22. Visual impairmentreduced vision1.6%32
  23. Erythemaskin redness1.4%29
  24. Vision blurredblurred vision1.4%28
  25. Myalgiamuscle pain1.3%27
  26. Headachehead pain1.3%26
  27. Uveitis1.3%26

Top 30 of 327 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 100 drugs in the kinase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death15.3%310
Life-threatening2.3%47
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)32.8%666
Disability1.1%23
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious29.1%590
Not serious29.4%596

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 849,161 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%3
2 to 110.4%8
12 to 170.3%6
18 to 4410.9%222
45 to 6425.9%525
65 to 7417.3%351
75 and over7.6%155
Age not given37.4%759

Patient sex

Female43.7%886
Male49.7%1,009
Not given6.6%134

Who reported

Physician45%913
Pharmacist9.7%197
Other health professional10%203
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional34.4%697
Not given0.9%19

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 52.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Malignant melanoma58028.6%
Metastatic malignant melanoma42721%
Histiocytosis864.2%
Langerhans' cell histiocytosis442.2%
Erdheim-chester disease361.8%
Malignant melanoma stage iv271.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,029 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Cotellic reports
Zelboraf1,38768.4%
Tecentriq472.3%
Amlodipine361.8%
Aspirin341.7%
Dexamethasone341.7%
Furosemide341.7%
Pantoprazole331.6%
Atorvastatin311.5%
Tylenol261.3%
Vemurafenib261.3%

Other products listed in reports where Cotellic is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureCotellicKinase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,029849,16120,646,523
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Reports, latest 12 months96—1,332,454
Marked serious70.6%70.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports15319091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports328264213
Consumer-filed share34.4%42.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsOff label use 18.3%median 4.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the kinase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ibrancebrand81,9122,38047.1%
Imbruvicabrand67,0392,28374.4%
Cabometyxbrand41,8184,90440.4%
Sutentbrand33,21517574.5%
Afinitorbrand30,70616171.3%
Sprycelbrand27,25555749.7%
Tasignabrand24,91132870.9%
Kisqalibrand24,6033,41379.2%
Ofevbrand23,9072,43466.9%
Gleevecbrand23,1328174.7%
Tagrissobrand23,0851,41092.3%
Lenvimabrand22,3502,64387.3%
Votrientbrand22,08411960.9%
Mekinistbrand17,07091664%
Inlytabrand15,69638860.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Cotellic reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Cotellic?

2,029 reports list Cotellic as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 96 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 80 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Cotellic reports?

off label use (18.3%), rash (11.8%), diarrhoea (10.6%), death (9.9%) and no adverse event (8.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Cotellic was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

70.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 15.3% of reports include death and 32.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (45%), consumer or non-health professional (34.4%) and other health professional (10%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Cotellic rising?

96 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 65% from 276 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Cotellic was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Cotellic?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Cotellic as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (80) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.