Generic name
Ciltacabtagene autoleucel: adverse event reports filed with FDA
907 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2021–2026.
- 907
- reports as suspect product
- 0% of all reports · about 170 a year
- 407
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 211 in the 12 months before
- 96.7%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 57.4% across all reports
- 34.5%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 313 reports · not verified by FDA
907 adverse event reports received by FDA list ciltacabtagene autoleucel, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from March 2021 to June 2026. A further 29 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 407 reports listed it, up 93% from 211 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 170 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
The reactions recorded most often are cytokine release syndrome (19.8%), immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome (11.8%) and parkinsonism (6.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 210 different terms appear across these reports. Cytokine release syndrome is recorded in 19.8% of these reports, against 0.1% of all reports in the database.
96.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 34.5% record death among the outcomes and 33.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 62% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 65 to 74 (35%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Ciltacabtagene autoleucel reports recording the termall reports in the database
- Cytokine release syndrome19.8%180
- Parkinsonism6.8%62
- Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection6.3%57
- Immune-mediated enterocolitis5.4%49
- Plasma cell myeloma4.9%44
- Infectionan infection, type not specified4.4%40
- Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen4.4%40
- Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell4.2%38
- Pneumonialung infection4.2%38
- Pyrexiafever4.2%38
- Thrombocytopenialow platelets4.2%38
- Neurotoxicity4.1%37
- Facial paralysis3.4%31
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.3%30
- Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection3.3%30
- Basal cell carcinoma3.1%28
- Anaemialow red blood cells2.8%25
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.6%24
- Immune effector cell-associated HLH-like syndrome2.6%24
- Neoplasm malignanta cancer, type not specified2.6%24
- Immune effector cell-associated haematotoxicity2.5%23
- Acute myeloid leukaemia2.4%22
- Fatiguetiredness2.3%21
- Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.2%20
- Multiple organ dysfunction syndromeseveral organs failing2.2%20
- Cranial nerve paralysis2.1%19
Top 30 of 210 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 71.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Plasma cell myeloma | 742 | 81.8% |
| Plasma cell myeloma refractory | 73 | 8% |
| Plasmablastic lymphoma | 3 | 0.3% |
| Primary amyloidosis | 2 | 0.2% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 907 reports.
In context
| Measure | Ciltacabtagene autoleucel | All reports |
|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 907 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 0% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 407 | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 96.7% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 345 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 332 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 1.5% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Cytokine release syndrome 19.8% | 0.1% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Questions about Ciltacabtagene autoleucel reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Ciltacabtagene autoleucel?
907 reports list Ciltacabtagene autoleucel as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 407 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 29 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Ciltacabtagene autoleucel reports?
cytokine release syndrome (19.8%), immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome (11.8%), parkinsonism (6.8%), bacterial infection (6.3%) and squamous cell carcinoma of skin (5.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Ciltacabtagene autoleucel was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
96.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 34.5% of reports include death and 33.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
physician (62%), other health professional (34%) and pharmacist (2.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Ciltacabtagene autoleucel rising?
407 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 93% from 211 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Ciltacabtagene autoleucel was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Ciltacabtagene autoleucel?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Ciltacabtagene autoleucel as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (29) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.