Reported Reactions

Drugs › Calcium-sensing receptor agonist

Generic name

Cinacalcet: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,093 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2005–2026. Class: Calcium-sensing receptor agonist. Also reported as Cinacalcet 30mg.

1,093
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 52 a year
94
reports, 12 months to June 2026
185 in the 12 months before
84.8%
marked serious by the reporter
35.7% across the class
17.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
194 reports · not verified by FDA

1,093 adverse event reports received by FDA list cinacalcet, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from June 2005 to June 2026. A further 1,454 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 94 reports listed it, down 49% from 185 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 52 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 2.3% of the reports for the calcium-sensing receptor agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug ineffective (14.9%), death (13.7%) and hypocalcaemia (9.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 208 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 14.9% of these reports, a larger share than in the median calcium-sensing receptor agonist drug (2.6%).

84.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (35.7% across the class); 17.7% record death among the outcomes and 34.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 58.7% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (26.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02040Jul 2021: 15Aug 2021: 3Sep 2021: 21Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 222022Jan 2022: 7Feb 2022: 12Mar 2022: 25Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 6Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 12Oct 2022: 8Nov 2022: 9Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 9Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 12Jun 2023: 19Jul 2023: 24Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 13Dec 2023: 182024Jan 2024: 24Feb 2024: 10Mar 2024: 21Apr 2024: 12May 2024: 16Jun 2024: 25Jul 2024: 19Aug 2024: 15Sep 2024: 35Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 202025Jan 2025: 16Feb 2025: 11Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 10Jun 2025: 40Jul 2025: 10Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 8Oct 2025: 7Nov 2025: 6Dec 2025: 72026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 2Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 19Jun 2026: 25

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01022032005: 1120052006: 112007: 122008: 1120082009: 82010: 112011: 320112013: 12014: 62015: 220152016: 42017: 72018: 1920182019: 542020: 1382021: 17020212022: 1072023: 1312024: 20320242025: 1352026: 49

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Cinacalcet reports recording the termmedian drug in calcium-sensing receptor agonist

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected14.9%163
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term13.7%150
  3. Hypocalcaemialow blood calcium9.7%106
  4. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label9%98
  5. Nauseafeeling sick5.8%63
  6. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy5.3%58
  7. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy3.6%39
  8. Calciphylaxis3.5%38
  9. Vomitingbeing sick3.5%38
  10. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine3.4%37
  11. Hypercalcaemiahigh blood calcium3.4%37
  12. Therapy non-responderthe treatment did not work2.8%31
  13. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.6%28
  14. Premature babya baby born early2.5%27
  15. Hypomagnesaemialow blood magnesium2%22
  16. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work1.7%19
  17. Blood parathyroid hormone increased1.6%18
  18. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.6%18
  19. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated1.5%16
  20. Parathyroid tumour benign1.3%14
  21. Disease progressionthe disease advanced1.2%13
  22. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital1.2%13
  23. Decreased appetitereduced appetite1.1%12
  24. Hyperparathyroidism1.1%12
  25. Painpain, site not specified1.1%12
  26. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines1%11
  27. Falla fall1%11

Top 30 of 208 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 5 drugs in the calcium-sensing receptor agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death17.7%194
Life-threatening9.9%108
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)34.1%373
Disability0.7%8
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious53.2%582
Not serious15.2%166

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 47,026 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.1%12
2 to 111.8%20
12 to 170.5%5
18 to 4417.4%190
45 to 6426.8%293
65 to 7413.9%152
75 and over13.7%150
Age not given24.8%271

Patient sex

Female53%579
Male36.7%401
Not given10.3%113

Who reported

Physician24.1%263
Pharmacist5.9%65
Other health professional58.7%642
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional9.1%100
Not given2.1%23

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 35.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hypercalcaemia18516.9%
Hyperparathyroidism secondary12011%
Hyperparathyroidism11410.4%
Hyperparathyroidism primary878%
Calciphylaxis171.6%
Renal transplant90.8%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,093 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Cinacalcet reports
Furosemide787.1%
Calcitriol746.8%
Tacrolimus676.1%
Zoledronic acid615.6%
Cholecalciferol534.8%
Calcium carbonate524.8%
Prednisolone474.3%
Omeprazole383.5%
Amlodipine373.4%
Aspirin363.3%

Other products listed in reports where Cinacalcet is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureCinacalcetCalcium-sensing receptor agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,09347,02620,646,523
Share of that pool—2.3%0%
Reports, latest 12 months94—1,332,454
Marked serious84.8%35.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports1775391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports341232213
Consumer-filed share9.1%28.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 14.9%median 2.6%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the calcium-sensing receptor agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Sensiparbrand40,9491430.5%
Cinacalcet hydrochloridegeneric2,22610292.9%
Parsabivbrand2,1901433.9%
Etelcalcetidegeneric5681698.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Cinacalcet reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Cinacalcet?

1,093 reports list Cinacalcet as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 94 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,454 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Cinacalcet reports?

drug ineffective (14.9%), death (13.7%), hypocalcaemia (9.7%), off label use (9%) and nausea (5.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Cinacalcet was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

84.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 17.7% of reports include death and 34.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (58.7%), physician (24.1%) and consumer or non-health professional (9.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Cinacalcet rising?

94 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 49% from 185 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Cinacalcet was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Cinacalcet?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Cinacalcet as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,454) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.